We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mount Meru Hotel

Nairobi - Moshi Road Sekei Area, Arusha 2673, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Meru Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mount Meru Hotel
Add Photo

317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    110
    145
    52
    6
    4
See reviews for
52
73
17
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (317)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (99)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Pros: For the region, quite comfortable rooms and clean bathrooms. Appears to be recently renovated. Decent food. Decent staff but not the most attentive. Safe location and gorgeous pool and nicely manicured grounds. Rooms are on smaller side but minimalist and modern. Cons: Horrible wi-fi, I couldn't take calls or use Internet without interruption.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Me & my family had to spend one night at Mount Meru in our way to Serenoera, Employees service are quite good there were looking after us to make sure we are satisfied. Room condition is very Good, Hotel landscaping is wonderful and the view of Mount Meru mountain from the Hotel is Awesome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is located in a quiet, park like setting close to the Arusha city center. Staff is well trained, helpful and friendly. We were very satisfied with both the breakfast buffet and the restaurant. Our room was spotless and well appointed. The wireless internet worked well. Meal prices were reasonable, about $10 for an entree. The room rates are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mount H, Manager at Mount Meru Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NV_Engineer, The whole Mount Meru Hotel family would like to thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We also thank you for choosing our hotel to start off your safari adventure in Tanzania. We wish you a wonderful safari and hope that you will be an ambassador of our hotel. More 

Gettysburg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After an 8 day safari we checked in at Mount Meru to relax, take warm endless showers and pretend we discovered civilization. This hotel was perfect for all that! A great end to a perfect safari by Thompson Safaris ( the best in the business)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mount H, Manager at Mount Meru Hotel, responded to this review

Dear EagleFalk, The Mount Mary Hotel Family thanks you for posting a review of our hotel and also for opting to stay with us on your trip to Tanzania. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future. More 

Dar es Salaam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Hello, I came for our staff development workshop. We stayed there last year same time. This time, the food was a disappointment. The breakfast buffet was not attractive and appetizing. It should be an international buffet. for example, I dont eat chicken soup in the morning, but most of my colleagues did, of course eggs were good, but cant eat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mount H, Manager at Mount Meru Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nainavira, We wish to thank you for writing a review on your experience on your stay with us. We would like to thank you for returning to stay with us again. At the Mount meru hotel we take extra care to ensure that all our guest needs are met. I would also like to inform you that whenever you... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

I stayed at the Mount Meru Hotel on business and found it to be very comfortable with friendly staff and superb grounds. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed with a mini bar, satellite TV and great view of the superb landscaped grounds and views into the distance which are beautiful. The restaurants serve up good food though the lunch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

Dear the management of Mount Meru Hotel, I'm living in Arusha , I'm not for a review but I'm for job application since i have experienced and skilled for two years in food production(chef), I would like to work with you within the same department with good goals .So my feelings will be successful if you will accept my request... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

My wife and I stayed at Mount Meru Hotel for one night, with two other couples, at the end of our 8 day Safari. The food was very good and the hotel staff were excellent, very pleasant and professional (an exception was at breakfast where service was below average). My wife made use of the spa facilities and was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Italy
Level Contributor
270 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

Stayed for two nights at the tail end of a business trip. Rooms are modern, clean and temperature is easily controlled. Shower has no door, so water goes everywhere in bathroom (I don't understand this design). Breakfast is decent, with omelettes made to order. Gym is not great - low ceiling, crummy old treadmill, some Nautilus type machines that were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

Just stopped by for dinner one evening. Unfortunate only one restaurant was open as we came a bit late. The setting is good. Food was pretty good even though a bit overpriced and service was surprisingly fast and friendly . for a non Swahili experience is highly rec commended

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

143 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (140)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (47)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay