We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Next to Kilamanjaro Airport | P. O. Box 11297, Arusha, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
Kia Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kia Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #42 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014
Tom O Brookline, Massachusetts
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    66
    68
    41
    15
See reviews for
44
74
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (209)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
There are newer reviews for Kia Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Brookline, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Got in late on two separate occasions to and from the airport. Didn't get to experience much and were actually a bit bummed about it since it was the pool and grounds seems. Staff was very helpful both times. Rooms were clean. Shower pressure was pretty bad. Definitely a good option if you're flying in and need that first night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

It was most likely the worst Hotel experience EVER - and please, bear in mind I do travel a lot. On paper, it sounds good : close to the airport, free transfer. We had a very early flight ( 600 am ) so we stayed here. Room was terrible - no clean properly, hair on the sink on the toilet,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed at the Kia Lodge upon arrival from the US for 1 night. This place is OK, adequate; its only asset is to be near the Kia Airport upon arrival where many flights arrive late at night. Cottages were basic, a little dark and dreary, but it met our needs. Breakfast was Ok, not much of a selection, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at the Kia lodge both upon arrival from Rwanda and a day room when departing back to the United States. The rooms are comfortable and the service average. The lodge is next to the airport and they are the only option for dining. We had dinner during both stays but the menu is very limited with a two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Piacenza
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The only asset of this lodge is to be near KIA airport where many flights arrive late at night. As many, I suppose, who arrive for the first time at KIA I was discouraged and afraid that I couldn't find a transport for town at 1 am, therefore I reserved at the fool price of 170 plus dollars and 60... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I didn't have great expectations for this place - we only chose it because of our late flight in and early morning flight out. BUT we were pleasantly surprised. It's not 5-star but it's quite comfortable, very close to the airport, and has a real African feel. We stayed here twice (one night each time) and our rooms were identical... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harare
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The only possible reason to stay here is that it is very near to Kilimanjaro Airport (3 minutes). It would also be an excellent budget base camp for someone flying in and going straight on to climb the mountain. It has a nice pool with a great view of the mountain - the beer is cold. The rooms are clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kampala, Uganda
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel is superbly located by Kilimanjaro airport and it has a nice pool area but that's all the good things I can say. The bed was not comfortable and the room was only OK. The meal in the restaurant was terrible and expensive at $25. It was really poor. In the morning they couldn't find anyone to cook me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were advised to spend several hours at KIA Lodge after arriving from safari and before our night flight. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the front desk manager who gave us the keys from our room - a small round villa located next to the bar. Other staff helped us with bags. We found ourselves in small premises... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Kia Lodge, responded to this review

Dear From_Moscow, Thank you for taking the time to post this review of the Kia Lodge online. It is a pleasure to read that you had a nice time at the Kia Lodge and enjoyed your short stay there. Unfortunately when its cloudy - Mt Kilimanjaro is hidden by the clouds and hence not visible, however other guests who have... More 

Dubai
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Visited this hotel after climbing Kili. Had mixed experience at this hotel. -ve(s) - multiple power & water outages during a single stay. - checking in was a hassle, names not checked at check in. - No TV in the room, however hotel manager invited us to watch the world cup game at this house!! that was nice - although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kia Lodge

Address: Next to Kilamanjaro Airport | P. O. Box 11297, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kia Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kia Hotel Moshi

139 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (138)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (23)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay