We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monarch Plaza Hotel

No.300, Section 1, Chuang Ching Road, Taoyuan City, Taoyuan 330, Taiwan
Hotel amenities
Monarch Plaza Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Taoyuan
A recent review
Add Photo

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    22
    28
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
7
3
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (71)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Muar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Passengers arriving late into, or departing early from, Taoyuan International Airport (Taipei) will find this hotel an excellent choice for an overnight stay. The hotel is well appointed, clean and comfortable, and all the staff are pleasant, welcoming and helpful, most being fluent in English. It's a 15 minute taxi ride (NTD400) from the airport, and a little less (NTD350)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanHuang, Assistant Manager at Monarch Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel. We appreciate your comments. I will share your comments with our team who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. We are looking forward to serving you again. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. More 

Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

everything was great on the first night. I enjoyed the jacuzzi in the room. However the second night when i turn on the jacuzzi, there is some terrible dirt came out from the blowing point, its a disaster when you have already in the pool. Its very disgusting! Overall the facilities still ok if we dont look at the jacuzzi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IanHuang, Assistant Manager at Monarch Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking your precious time to write a review after your stay. It was my pleasure to learn that you had the good experience during your first stay. But please kindly accept my apology for using the Jacuzzi on second stay. I will share your comments with our team. And we will also discuss with... More 

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015 via mobile

I do not recommend Monarch Plaza because it shows its age very badly. It ia a 5 stars hotel only on paper. The roon smells moldy, dinner buffet propose a kind of lunch left over and allo around you see old staff. I booked this hotel because it has gym and swimming pool but it's open only Friday to Sunday.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carmel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Overall I've enjoyed my stays at the Monarch Plaza. The staff here is very friendly and helpful, and the rooms are large and comfortable. This hotel gets a lot of Chinese tour business, so elevator availability in the evenings and mornings can be slow. While I do see the hotel doing periodic maintenance, some rooms are due for renovation. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Our tour company arranged for this hotel for a 12 hour layover, my family didn't know exactly which hotel until we checked in at the departing airport. My father had a room to himself, and mother stayed with me. The room has included: hairdryer, shower head, bathtub, twin beds, two chairs, desk, nightstand, flat screen TV, cabinet with down comforter,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Houston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for one night. Staff is very friendly. But this is not a five star hotel. 2 at best. The decor feels so old and traditional. The room is small and outdated. Stains in the bathroom and tile. Not that clean. But for one night it's okay. It's cheap. You get what you pay for. Across the street... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Stayed there because of an early flight from Taoyuan airport. Got upgraded upon arrival. Nice large bedroom with good bathroom. Missed breakfast as left very early but reception offered a breakfast bag with fruits and pastries.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Decided to stay at this hotel for airport proximity. Although advertised to have airport transfer, THERE IS a charge. The breakfast is average, but dinner buffet was a value. Most important was the room cleanliness.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lake Orion, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was here for 2 nights on a business trip and enjoyed it very much. My colleague and I arrived late from the airport so the only rooms they had left were upgrades. Excellent! There was a tray of fresh fruit and crackers waiting for me in the sitting room, and the bedroom had a king sized bed. The bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Murcia, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

i went 10 days to work in taipei, the location of the hotel is quite good, although its a bit far from taipei, it has plenty of parks restaurants and shops around. the staff was very friendly, and they spoke good english but the cleaning ladies, the room was quite big, i found the bed extremely hard at the beginning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay