We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Goldi Sands

| Ethukala, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Goldi Sands
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Let me clear that this is a very good hotel indeed. It is easily a 4 star hotel based on its facilities,food,friendliness and competence of staff as well as the spaciousness of the rooms all of which overlook a massive beach.The criticisms of the staff made on this site are bemusing as they were without exception courteous,helpful and unfailingly charming.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pablocar_11
goldiNegombo, General Manager at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment and it's real worthwhile for us to pass a message to the staff so that they could be motivated to do better. With regard to the Indian wedding functions of the nearby hotels as you correctly said, it is beyond our control. However, we shall take this matter up with the neighboring hotels... More 

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location, facilities and great rooms but totally spoiled by the attitude of the staff and management. The food is very over-priced and not at at all what you expect when it arrives. The 'chicken sandwich' resembled nothing like actual chicken- no sign of any chicken whatsoever and it looked like purreed mush with mostly onion. The staff seem perplexed... More 

Helpful?
Thank sarahtB8290TV
goldiNegombo, General Manager at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review

We have noted your comments, which are not constructive. The A'la carte food prices are generally 5% to 10% less than neighboring hotels or outside Restaurant. Our chicken sandwiches are prepared with fresh roasted minced and marinated chicken made in to a paste (the only mistake was that we have not given the description on the menu card). As you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Negombo hotels

Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A very airy hotel with spacious modern rooms. We spent the last 2 nights of our stay in Sri Lanka there: It was a deffinate highlight after many of the other accommodation we used during our trip. The staff is exceptionaly kind and professional and did everything to accommodate our small group's many wishes. The restaurant is very very good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Agnes R
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice breakfast room overlooking clean beach. Better value than other hotels on the same strip. Friendly and efficient staff. Good breakfast in relaxing atmosphere. Good internet and ideal hotel for business or tourist travellers.

Helpful?
Thank johnM4115XZ
Bury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just returned from Goldi Sands Hotel. Accommodation was very good, nice rooms overlooking beach. Food was excellent. We chose the all include package which included buffet type meals and drinks. Drinks comprised local spirits and beer, wine was extra. The all inclusive package finished at 11.30pm but didn't find that to be a problem. Staff were attentive and helpful although... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jonesy98
goldiNegombo, General Manager at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review

It's a pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Goldi Sands Hotel. We will definitely let the staff aware of the difference between the Sri Lankan time (As you mentioned) and real service time. We value these types of constructive comments where we could pass the message for our staff to do better in their services.... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We arrived late at night, so it was great to be welcomed and then shown to our rooms which had balconys over looking the beach. The rooms were spacious, with large comfortable beds and well designed bathrooms. Both breakfast and dinner were buffets with heaps of choice, with both Sri Lankan and European style food. Excellent pastries at breakfast and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GinieMary
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed one night in a beach bungalow, it was a great spot, we loved being on the beach. My husband needed a dentist and the hotel arranged it and got him there within about 10 minutes (not his favourite holiday experience). Hotel food was really good and there's a great pool. Only downside is getting a sunbed! You probably... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JaimieeandSam
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The location and facility is great, and we went there to have two nights and three days vacation to rest and to receive decent accommodations. However, few things ruined it for us, and we would most likely not go back. The most upsetting thing was the broken electric water kettle that burned my wife's hand. She had to endure couple... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Bo K
goldiNegombo, General Manager at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the comment you have put on the Trip Advisor. We have made a lot of issues you have taken out and​ definitely we will take remedial action. We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused. When we made our inquiry in regard to the swimming pool issue it could have been a language problem. Otherwise... More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I visited the new Goldi Sands Hotel at the beginning of December 2015 for two weeks. We have visited the Hotel before and on every trip to this Hotel we have found all the Management and staff to be excellent. The food served in the restaurant is of a very high standard and the housekeeping service in... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank NitaKeith2015
goldiNegombo, General Manager at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment. We will pass this to our staff. More 

Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed two times at Goldi Sand Hotel. We stay there the first day we arrived and our last day. The reason we stayed the last day it closed to airport. Service at the front desk is very good. The first stay had a view of the Indian Ocean and second time the street. The beach is beautiful at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank texantraveler42
goldiNegombo, General Manager at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate​ your constructive comments. We had a sewerage link block and we have attended to it. We welcome you back. Please visit us again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

346 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (326)
Viewed
Room/suite (49)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (82)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (47)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
1.0 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 stars 833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#8 of 32 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 stars 986 reviews
0.8 mi away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Negombo
3.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#5 of 32 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,376 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
Pledge 3 Hotel
Pledge 3 Hotel
#4 of 32 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay