We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sachal Mir's Bed & Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
2,C Dungalpitiya Thalahena, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Sachal Mir's Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #22 of 108 Negombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015
Helen S Glasgow, United Kingdom
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    21
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
31
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

I have just spent a month in Sri Lanka and ended up spending five of those days here. I only planned to spend about two but the owners are quite simply the best people I met in Sri Lanka. They looked after me, they allowed me to leave some of my clothes whilst I was travelling, they cooked the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We thought to spend our last two day close to the airport and in a nice environment, doing some watersports, ordering some drinks in the restaurant/bar and spend some time in the garden or on the terras. Much of the facilites mentioned on the website weren't there (no watersports, no drinks in the bar, wifi not working, etc). But it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sachal m, Guest Relations Manager at Sachal Mir's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Sir We would like extend our words that during your visit you did not like the place, it is your discretion but we would like clear that we never wanted to charge you by doing it no show and neither wil do it as you mentioned the ponds with still water they are fish ponds with live thousands of... More 

Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

The Sachal Mir's is a lovely and peaceful place to rest at after or before a long flight. The charming family will greet you as a member of their family and you really don't want to leave. The place is right by the lagoon far from the noice in Negombo town. Rooms are very clean and have got what you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The place it's self was ok, the room had it's own shower and air conditioning (though it leaked water my bed through out the night) and breakfast was nice, you eat it sat outside in the garden. What put us off as two young girls traveling alone was the pushiness of the staff, we had arranged a transfer with them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WWW
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed a night in a clean, spacious room. However, the one overhead fan did not cool us very much, and we sweated throughout the hot May night, unable to sleep much. It is a pity, as the place was away from the city centre, and set in lovely rural surroundings, facing a bay, which made taking breakfast made by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Great price for a guesthouse on the lagoon , very helpful and friendly staff , rooms are clean and very comfortable , mozzie nets are big enough to cover beds comfortably and towels are provided. The breakfast which was included in the price was excellent and the view over the lagoon from the dining area is suburb. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a very nice place, close to the airport and a great view of the Negombo Lagoon. We stayed one night after our flight into Sri Lanka, due to it's close location to the airport. The rooms are very clean and roomy. A bit far from the beach, but only just a tuktuk ride away. Breakfast and dinner are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mangalore, India
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
38 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The B&B is located on the Negombo lagoon which beautiful views. Booked this one as I was arriving in Colombo by a late night flight. I regret I did not book it for more than a day as I had to leave for Kandy. The staff was helpful even though we landed up at 3.30am The double rooms are clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I was a little disappointed in this B&B after the excellent references that other reviewers had given it. Room was tidy and clean but no air conditioning despite that I paid extra for this. Difficult to sleep after a long flight in the heat. Wireless internet also not working while I was guest. My ipad connected but service so slow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed here the last 3 days of our vacation,We can only agree with all the previous reviews, this homestay is a joy,you are treated as one of the family, if you are looking for excellent Sri Lankan food this is the place is hard to beat, for a very reasonable cost you must try Kumari cooking. (BEST FOOD WE... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
1:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question