We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 80 Negombo B&Bs / inns

New York Beach Club

28 Porothota Road | aka Beach Side Road, Negombo 01100, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added New York Beach Club to your Saves list
New York Beach Club
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
75%
Ranked #25 of 80 Negombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014
CruzImmanuel2014 Doha, Qatar
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
4
34
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed here last November 2012,,, The owner, Mary was really accommodating, plus there is a Dj in the house what more could you ask for hehehe,,, its very near to the beach and the room was well maintained, clean and cheap. I would Love to go back here if ever. Two Thumbs Up NYBC! See u soon! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We loved this place, we booked for 11 nights and enjoyed every single one of them. As others have said if you are looking for luxury then you might be disappointed but if you are looking for clean and comfy then look no further. What really makes the NYBC a winner is the outstanding hospitality of the staff and nothing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chennai, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The place is more a home stay than a hotel. They had some four rooms in all. Madhu is extremely friendly and spent a whole lot of time chatting up. The others are good too. The place is clean. The rooms have air con but they did not work well. Plus there wasn't a fan. So, with the poor Ac... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

NYBC is a typical Sri Lankan guesthouse. Owners are very nice and helpful. Deluxe room I stayed at had everything that is necessary - shower (though not always hot), AC (worked well), comfortable bed, nice balcony where breakfast was served. There is parking space and wifi also. Guesthouse is located 2 min walk to the beach and many shops, cafes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

After staying one night in a sub standard place nearby, we switched to N.Y. Beach Club Guest House and were very pleased with the change. We actually payed less and got significantly more! The owners are lovely people and they made sure we were comfortable. Their food is good and reasonably priced, Our room was quiet, very comfortable. Having A.C.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I selected this place as my flight came in very late and I was leaving early the next morning. I just needed a quick, easy and cheap place to stay for one night. Unfortunately, they forgot to send someone to pick me up at the airport (which I had pre-scheduled and even re-confirmed the day before I left). So I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The proprietors are lovely and rooms and cheap. The grounds and common areas are clean and well kept but the room we stayed in was not. Bathroom was filthy and no hot water with a thermal blanket on the bed as our cover. Bugs were all over the place as well but we think this may be a negombo thing

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mary S, Owner at New York Beach Club, responded to this review

Hello Sir/Mam I thank you for your review. I will like to politely respond to your review.I do wish that you had inform us beforehand of the situations that displeased you and the amenities you did not like. These things could have been corrected on the spot. The blanket we could have easily remove and provide you with another cover.... More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We came to this Guest House based on reviews in Tripadvisor and Booking.com. And were quite surprised because room was really old and in shower is the only cold water. Although have to admit that service is awsome! Staff working there is soo nice and friendly! One of the guys was working many years in Hilton so you can have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed one night after arriving at Colombo airport, clean, basic tidy room which was good value. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, and was lovely sitting out under shade on the front lawn, would highly recommend if need a stop over after arriving or before leaving from Colombo, close to airport and clean and tidy. Didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there at the beginning and end of a tour round sri Lanka and it was perfect. Easy location to airport, but with shops and restaurants close by. The house is beautiful and rooms were really nicely done, with comfy beds and good shower. The owners made it though, they could no it have been more helpful and welcoming.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to New York Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Beach Club

Address: 28 Porothota Road | aka Beach Side Road, Negombo 01100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NYBC is a small family owned guest house and restaurant conveniently located in Negombo within close distance to the Katunayake International Airport. Our guest house offer both a/c and non a/c room which are equipped with it's own bathroom. We are delightful to offer you our warm and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your New York Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.