We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 93 Negombo B&Bs / inns

New York Beach Club

28 Porothota Road | aka Beach Side Road, Negombo 01100, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
New York Beach Club
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added New York Beach Club to your Saves list
77%
Ranked #32 of 93 Negombo B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
mpsmart Brisbane, Australia
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    25
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
4
36
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (70)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Only stayed one night. Hotel is close to but not on the beach. Nice, friendly staff. Adequate, simple breakfast. A/C which was good. Close to bus station (rs200 tuk tuk). Hot water only in shower, out of both taps! I'd still stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This guest house is run by a friendly family. The rooms are spacious, the ac works well, and breakfast was lovely. The bathrooms are a bit dated but it's good value for money, and you're not paying for a five star resort.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kragero Municipality, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The place to stay in Negombo :-) Amazing staff, they really take good care of you, and fix everything you need. Value for money. And the breakfast was excellent :-)I will deffenetly go back and visit them, and not Sri Lanka ;-)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Doha, Qatar
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed here last November 2012,,, The owner, Mary was really accommodating, plus there is a Dj in the house what more could you ask for hehehe,,, its very near to the beach and the room was well maintained, clean and cheap. I would Love to go back here if ever. Two Thumbs Up NYBC! See u soon! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We loved this place, we booked for 11 nights and enjoyed every single one of them. As others have said if you are looking for luxury then you might be disappointed but if you are looking for clean and comfy then look no further. What really makes the NYBC a winner is the outstanding hospitality of the staff and nothing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chennai, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The place is more a home stay than a hotel. They had some four rooms in all. Madhu is extremely friendly and spent a whole lot of time chatting up. The others are good too. The place is clean. The rooms have air con but they did not work well. Plus there wasn't a fan. So, with the poor Ac... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

NYBC is a typical Sri Lankan guesthouse. Owners are very nice and helpful. Deluxe room I stayed at had everything that is necessary - shower (though not always hot), AC (worked well), comfortable bed, nice balcony where breakfast was served. There is parking space and wifi also. Guesthouse is located 2 min walk to the beach and many shops, cafes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

After staying one night in a sub standard place nearby, we switched to N.Y. Beach Club Guest House and were very pleased with the change. We actually payed less and got significantly more! The owners are lovely people and they made sure we were comfortable. Their food is good and reasonably priced, Our room was quiet, very comfortable. Having A.C.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I selected this place as my flight came in very late and I was leaving early the next morning. I just needed a quick, easy and cheap place to stay for one night. Unfortunately, they forgot to send someone to pick me up at the airport (which I had pre-scheduled and even re-confirmed the day before I left). So I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The proprietors are lovely and rooms and cheap. The grounds and common areas are clean and well kept but the room we stayed in was not. Bathroom was filthy and no hot water with a thermal blanket on the bed as our cover. Bugs were all over the place as well but we think this may be a negombo thing

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mary S, Owner at New York Beach Club, responded to this review

Hello Sir/Mam I thank you for your review. I will like to politely respond to your review.I do wish that you had inform us beforehand of the situations that displeased you and the amenities you did not like. These things could have been corrected on the spot. The blanket we could have easily remove and provide you with another cover.... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to New York Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Beach Club

Address: 28 Porothota Road | aka Beach Side Road, Negombo 01100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your New York Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay