We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tamarind Hill

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
No: 288 Galle Road | Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Special Rate
$110 (USD)
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tamarind Hill
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tamarind Hill
Add Your Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    46
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
67
159
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (311)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (109)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a beautiful 2 night stay at Tamarind Hill, the hotel was absolutely gorgeous and it made us feel like we had stepped back in time to the colonial past.The staff were exceptionally wonderful and professional and one of them even looked like Tiger Woods. Our room was massive!! We had an extra large size King bed and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great 2 nights here on the outskirts of Galle. The service is the best we had in Sri Lanka, with a real personal touch, and with only 10 rooms it feels more like a luxury home than a hotel. Food was also first class, with breakfast especially good, and nice touches, such as the chef coming out to explain the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
swanage united kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Really enjoyed our stay in this beautifully designed and furnished hotel; An excellent break from the hustle and bustle of travelling independently around Sri Lanka. A few small glitches - badly torn mattress left by the pool, salad with evening dinner needed a dressing - but staff delightful and anxious to please at all times. Maybe the menu should reflect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were there last week. Calm and quiet luxurious hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. We reached here before the check-in time. The kind assistant manager provided us a room until they prepare our triple room. Mr. Manjula Attanayake, Samira, Udari and Chef Lakmal and the assistant manager made us feel home.. Food was delicious. The chef personally used to come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great place to stay if you want calm and quiet. Wonderful building, great rooms, polite staff and relaxing pool area. Animals and vegetation give a nice feel to the place. A little bit outside of Galle.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager S, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill, responded to this review

Dear Majojaan Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. Glad you enjoyed your stay despite us being a bit away from Galle More 

Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a beautiful old plantation house, aesthetically very impressive. The room was great , simple decoration with all the amenities. High ceilings, AC large bathroom , ( shower only on the ground floor rooms no bath) Food & service were disappointing, very slow and lackluster. Nice pool ,but too much furniture crowding the entrance & could do with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager S, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth Thank you very much for your review. We are extremely concerned that we were not able to meet your requirements in terms and food and service. We pride ourselves on our service and this comes to us as a surprise. We however thank you for your review and an inquiry as to any issues during your stay will... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved everything about the hotel. The ambiance, the room, the bathroom, the interiors, The one thing that stands out is that being a heritage property this hotel has a lot of character and you feel transported some place else. The service requires a special mention, service at almost all places in sri lanka was great but here its even better,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager S, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill, responded to this review

Dear Sharad Thank you very much for your great comments. Glad you enjoyed the character and facilities on offer. Your review will be shared with our staff for a job well done. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely old dutch planation house converted to hotel. Lovely pool. Service and food quality excellent. Wish we had had more time there. Easy ride in a tuk tuk to the old town of Galle. good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager S, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill, responded to this review

Dear Stuart Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. Glad you had a great time and enjoyed our facilities and food on offer. Hope you had time to enjoy our newly opened spa as well? More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a beautifully restored property, with rooms mainly on the ground floor around a very large grassed courtyard. There are only 12 rooms and the place is quiet and intimate. We were in room 7 which was huge, and had a small secluded private garden. There were quite a lot of mosquitoes around, but there was a plug-in repellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager S, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill, responded to this review

Dear Nigel Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay despite the mosquitoes. The mosquitoes are really hard to control as we are in the tropics and due to our location with lots of greenery around. As we are located a bit away from the hustle and bustle of the Galle Fort it is an amazing... More 

Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a wonderful place to spend a night or two when visiting Galle. The main building is a couple of hundred years old and apparently home to senior British naval officers. The building has been extended with accommodation built in three wings around a grassy courtyard. But you really would not know that everything, including the furnishings are not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager S, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill, responded to this review

Dear Christopher Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Tamarind Hill and enjoyed the food on offer as well. We don't have provision for a reception area as we would like the guest to have the opportunity to have the bill brought to him to any part of the hotel. Thank you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

247 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (194)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (59)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (23)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question