We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Bentota hotels

The Surf Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Road, Bentota, Bentota, Sri Lanka (Formerly Lihiniya Surf Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Surf Hotel to your Saves list
The Surf Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
73%
Ranked #10 of 20 hotels in Bentota
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Yoshan P Dehiwala, Sri Lanka
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    60
    28
    17
    13
See reviews for
44
86
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dehiwala, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

the rooms were cozy and the ppl were very nice and helpful specially the mr Asela the reception ppl and all the guys at the buffet,. the food was tasty and the view from the balcony was amazing. i am definitely going there again soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My family and I spent two nights in this hotel and had a wonderful stay.The staff were very friendly and polite and not overbearing.They certainly made us feel at home.I must say the service was excellent from top to bottom. It was the Sinhala and Tamil New year and the staff had gone to great lengths to organise so many... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had a wonderful time at The Surf. The food was good and the service excellent. The rooms were quite nice and comfortable as well. I Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to take trip to Bentota...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor and sharing your experience with everyone. I hope our staff and the facilities did meet your expectations and that you received a very good value for the money spent. Thank you again and please feel free to contact us if you need any assistance with your... More

Qatar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I spent 3 nights in this hotel and used it to wrap our vacation to Sri lanka and Maldives. I was excited to go and chill out on the beach, pay the amount of money that will guarantee a suitable enviroment for a beach hotel. Everything was simply amazing, room location was perfectly good next to the pool. Bed was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 2 nights here as part of a trip around Sri Lanka and had a wonderful time. Staff were very polite and friendly though not overbearing. Room was lovely and as you would expect for a 4 star hotel. Buffets were lovely and good value for the amount of food on offer; breakfast was especially tasty. Pools were well maintained... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephn, Thank you very much for sharing your experience about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are happy to see that you were able to enjoy your stay (even if it was a short one) and our services and facilities met your expectation. I do apologize about the problem you had with the temperature of the shower (even if it... More

Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here in early Jan 2014. This is a great place - clean, large and private beach, every room faces the ocean and the food was good. The only complaint is that I purchased this via Bookings.Com. When I arrived to the hotel, there was an additional government tax which increased the rate by 15% or so (I think... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Thank you very much for recommending us on TripAdvisor. We are happy to see that you were able to enjoy the facilities provided by us at the Surf. As you mentioned, booking.com and other online sites does not publish the nett rate including the taxes and other service fees but mentions that on the confirmation once the reservation... More

wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed here in January as part of a six day extension following a tour of Northern Sri Lanka with Archers Direct.The quality of accommodation,cleanliness and food was excellent.The hotel has a wonderful location on the beach looking on to the Indian ocean and with a train station nearby and taxies and tuk tuks outside the hotel gates,it is very easy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is great to see the comments you have made about our property. While it's great to see that many of the hotel facilities were up to your liking, we appreciate you bringing up about the areas we should look into. We will make sure to attend to staff related matters to avoid such problems for future guests.... More

DoBuy
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stayed there Oct 13 for 7 days. They try hard, and the G.M personally does rounds to check on your satisfaction. I found the quality of acommodation and cleanliness to be good, and on par with any comparible hotel in the West in this regard. I took my wife and children, and we are quite discerning when it comes to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It's great to hear from you even after such a long time. We are happy to see that many aspects of the hotel was to your liking and will take in to consideration the suggestions you made. We have added few items to our daily programs and offer activities such as beach volleyball, darts, mini golf, movie night... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We had a reservation for three nights but the hotel made a mistake and double-booked so we couldn't stay the first night. They admitted their error and put us in another hotel for that night. As compensation they agreed to include dinner for the remaining 2 days. They had on computers for customers to use so I asked reception if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you very much for sharing your experience about our property. Even though initially there was an issue with your room, I'm happy to see that we were able to take care of the transfer and the compensation to minimize the inconvenience. Unfortunately, as a resort type of hotel we do not offer the business center facilities. But... More

Hong Kong
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I arrived very early morning of the 27th of Jan at the hotel and was welcomed and quickly ushered to the room.  The porter/proudly told me that i get a seaview room which isn't so surprising as all rooms offered are so. The first and second impression  was that the room was worn and that the last renovation happend years... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you very much for sharing the issues you faced during your recent visit to The Surf. First of all, I apologize for any inconvenience you had to go through as a result. Once the problems were brought up to our attention, our staff have attended to them at your earliest convenience. Our front office found that those... More

Been to The Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Also Known As:
The Surf Bentota Hotel
The Surf Bentota Hotel Bentota
Lihiniya Surf Bentota
Lihiniya Surf
Hotel Lihiniya Surf
Lihiniya Surf Hotel
Address: Beach Road, Bentota, Bentota, Sri Lanka (Formerly Lihiniya Surf Hotel)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bentota
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surf Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your The Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Surf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.