We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

4.0 of 5 Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Serendib)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    137
    48
    11
    13
See reviews for
89
154
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (356)
  • Mar-May only
    (81)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (89)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (107)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The bedrooms in the hotel are gorgeous - they are large and comfortable. There is a large tv in the room and a lovely shower. My room was very clean and pleasant. The staff are friendly and the buffet breakfast was good. The sunsets across the Indian Ocean from the top bar are beautiful and were the best part of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel Service / Food / Rooms & Accommodation / Staff / all are in perfect condition. Friendly staff. beautiful beach area Thank you my friend Shamindra for giving awesome package. Cheers AVANI Bentota !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent a weekend with my family @ Avani recently.......and we had a wonderful time........from the time we reached the hotel the staff was very friendly, and gave us a very warm welcome........we had a ground floor room just in front of the pool next to the restaurant.....and the room was very spacious with very well planned furniture............and the bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SLML_2, Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to know you had a wonderful stay with us at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa. We are pleased you felt warmly welcomed by our associates and they were very friendly. We are glad you found the room to be very spacious and that you appreciated the layout... More

Sohar, Oman
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed with my family recently at this resort. Beach resort..... An Ocean out there......The Indian Ocean !! The superior rooms were marvelous!! Very spacious and well designed. Buffet dinner and breakfast was good too. Spa was not bad. The weather that day was fantastic.......beautiful Sun Set, drizzle and vibgyor colors on the sky- The Rainbow !! It was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was looking forward to my first time in Sri Lanka and hope to return after my stay at Avani Bentota. Based on some of the reviews and recommendations of others, this resort seemed like a sure bet, However, the stay has been very mixed. The grounds of the property are beautiful. The room, 101, is quite large and spacious.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SLML_2, Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review you left us about your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to know it was your first time in Sri Lanka and that you hope to return after your stay at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa. We are pleased about the many positive aspects you saw in our hotel. It is... More

Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a Deluxe Room that was pretty fantastic with superior convenience to one of the pools and the beach. Traveled with a friend and we were both looking for a relaxing time where we could enjoy the sea, walk on the beach, read by a pool and the experience did not disappoint. These pluses may lead me back there one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A nice hotel adjoining the beach, located next to a railway line, close to the city center. The staff's capable and curteous, the property is huge with lots of open spaces around the two swimming pools. The food's great, and there's a lot of choice. The breakfast buffet was a great spread on all days, the coffee's fresh and nice.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent two night on for our wedding anniversary, we were upgraded to a huge suite, the kids really loved it, huge bathroom area. We enjoyed the food as well as everything they did to make our stay a memorable one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very average experience. Hot water more off than on. A la carte restaurant very poor. Breakfast OK but orange juice was not juice! Place needs a make over. Very nice beach though. Internet was free but intermittent. Very popular with Middle eastern guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SLML_2, Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review you left us about your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry you’ve had an average experience during your stay with us. It strikes us as a disappointment to know we were unable to make your stay one that is truly an AVANI experience. We apologize for the inconvenience caused with the... More

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in a deluxe room which is very large and clean.large garden with green grass area surrounded by coconut trees for kids to play. Two big pools. Excellent beach. Staff was very helpful and friendly.tasty buffet with a wide range items.I will definitely come back to stay at least a couple of nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Address: Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Serendib)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avani Bentota Hotel Bentota
Avani Bentota Resort And Spa
Serendib Hotel Bentota

277 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (252)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (54)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay