We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bentota Beach Hotel

Bentota, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bentota Beach Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bentota Beach Hotel
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    328
    141
    60
    31
See reviews for
256
337
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (875)
  • Mar-May only
    (220)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (203)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (207)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (245)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The first impression when walking up the stairs and seeing the reception area (with that gorgeous ceiling) is just wow! This hotel is stunning and the staff were all so kind and quick to help. Especially want to say a big thank you to the restaurant staff, as while away I suffered an allergic reaction to what I believe was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to write a descriptive review about Bentota Beach Hotel after spending your honeymoon. We are glad to hear that your first impression about the hotel was good and that it remained as such throughout your stay. We are sorry that you did not feel well due to your allergy and also that... More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My mother and I just got back from BBH after a 2-nights stay on half-board basis . The room was very comfortable. So much so that we harldy left it. The food was amazing as usual. Kudos to the Indian chef in particular (Chef Khan from Mumbai, if I am not mistaken) who was very friendly and cooked us some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing a review about our hotel soon after your visit. It’s a pleasure to hear that the room was comfortable, that you enjoyed the food and we will definitely share your comment with Chef Khan. We are sorry to hear that the housekeeping was not up to your expectations and we will certainly communicate with... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For the exorbitant price paid of USD$500++ for 2 nights, I would not have expected a room that looks run down and old. Bed mattress spring are obviously defective since it make creaking sound all the time. Of the many hotel i had stayed, I am terribly surprise this hotel is still using non-LCD/LED TV. The bathroom need serious cleaning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to write a constructive comment about Bentota Beach Hotel, following your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that the facilities we provided were not up to your expectations, and we are taking steps to improve this situation. We are replacing our televisions already and we have informed housekeeping regarding the cleanliness... More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a pleasant stay at Benthota beach.. friendly staff.. always ready to help. Awesome manager... the only place i saw the manager personally greet the customer, looks after if the customer is taken cared by the staff. Only thing is hotel is bit old. All interior need to be renavated asap... i also believe till the renavation lines up,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for taking your time to share your experience. We are hoping to renovate the hotel next year to provide you with even better conditions and in the meantime we will communicate with our housekeeping department to give you a... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was here for three days with my family and I didn't like the my stay. The service wasn't good, not enough staff and very slow when ordering drinks and ordering. Our room had a problem with its shower drain and they came to fix it but then it smelled like sewer in the room which was terrible and when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your opinion about Bentota Beach Hotel following your recent experience. We are sorry to hear that the service we provided did not meet your expectations. And also we apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay in our hotel. We will definitely look into the matters regarding bathrooms as soon as possible to avoid... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is one of the older Beach resorts in southern Sri-Lanka. Located on a pretty spot overlooking the river and lagoon with a very good beach. Decent breakfast spread as well. However, the rooms are quite damp. Service quality is strictly ok...took us more than an hour to check in. Restaurant is very good, and is ready to customise food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel following your stay. It is a pleasure to hear that you were quite satisfied with the location of the hotel and the quality of food in the restaurant. We are sorry that you were not happy about the room and the service given by us. We will take immediate... More 

Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with a number of friends, and this is one of the best hotels I have had the pleasure to enjoy. The staff were always friendly, with a smile on their face, and willing to help. The food each night was also good, and great bar as well. The pool outside is nice, but a fantastic beach is just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking your time to review our hotel following your recent stay. It is a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. And that our service was up to your expectations. We hope you will come back to us soon to enjoy more facilities in our hotel such... More 

RAK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at Bentota Beach Hotel with my Family ,The service was amazing .Staff were very courteous and helpfull.Great choice of food in the restaurant .Please pass on my sincere comments to the general manager and to the hotel entire team. Regards

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at Bentota Beach Hotel. Your feedback is always important for us to improve our services. We will certainly pass on your comments to the entire team. And we are looking forward to welcome you back soon. More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great staff, good food and A+ atmosphere. The hotel is very old and needs a full refurbishment. The staff and the management is awesome. Marlon the manager is one of the best in the industry that I have met. His attitude and attention to customers are 2nd to none. Ensure you request your travel agent to book a clean room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your valued review following your stay with us at Bentota Beach Hotel. Compliments given are highly appreciated and the constructive comment that you have made is well absorbed and set for actions. Hope to serve you better in the near future. More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is one of the early and older Beach Hotel in southern Sri-Lanka. Located on a beautiful spot overlooking the river and lagoon with a good beach. The side wings could be a little loud as the main road is not far from the hotel. Rooms need an urgent refurbishment as bathrooms tiles are broken and furniture is from another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at Bentota Beach Hotel following your recent stay. We will certainly look into the matter concerning the bathrooms and furniture as soon as possible. Regarding dietary requirements, if we are informed before the arrival, special arrangements could be done such as preparing gluten-free bread. We hope the next time you visit us,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

695 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (688)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (111)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (165)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
View from room (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (82)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (208)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question