We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bentota Beach Hotel

, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Bentota Beach Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

937 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    335
    353
    151
    60
    38
See reviews for
280
354
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (937)
  • Mar-May only
    (240)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (245)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (207)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (245)
All months
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in Benton beach hotel for two days Saturday n Sunday . Reception people had some issues earlier regarding providing us superior ocean view room inspite of our booking. But later they gave n it was overall nice n pleasant stay. Hotel was almost packed with tourist n situated at an excellent location . Beach n pool superb ...restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about our hotel following your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that your overall stay with us was pleasing and truly our hotel is situated in a very unique location. With Bentota River on one side and Indian Ocean on the other, a garden filled with varieties of flora and... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Were there May 2015. Quite good hotel, very big contrast to the rest of the country :) Located not so far from Colombo, but road trip takes too long time, due to traffic features. Very good place for the active rest - a lot of trips directly from the hotel, perfect sea, very good pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your review about Bentota Beach Hotel following your first visit to Sri Lanka. We are thoroughly delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us relaxing on the beach and pool and we do hope you went on several trips to close by places of visit and also experienced the exhilarating water sports activities available... More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

They have a private pool party area for big groups. Animators are really excellent in their job. The main pool is nice on rocky surrounding. Beautiful architectural design as well.Nice place to join near by water sports.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for the review you have made about Bentota Beach Hotel following your day outing. Indeed we have a separate complex with a pool party area for large groups to enjoy their day in privacy. In addition, we have water sports facilities in the hotel and also a floating restaurant to enjoy your... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent two nights in this hotel and it was really awesome and clean i loved the room , the view and the beach ,the staff were good and the buffet it was really good if you decide to travel to bentota i think its a good choive and the price was good too .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your review and 5-star rating of Bentota Beach Hotel on Trip Advisor following your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you liked your stay with us relaxing in your room, enjoying the beach and feasting on the huge variety of food available in our buffet. We warmly welcome... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The wi-fi is bad; it's too slow and barely works. The blankets isn't clean, and the bathroom smells very bad and the decoration of the bathroom is old . The people who works in the reception treatment is not very good. This was the baddest hotel I have been in srilanka

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the review that you have posted following your stay with us. The Wi- Fi connection that we provide free of charge for all our guests, at times, due to high occupancy, gets slower depending on the different and high usage capacities. The linen in our rooms, we change them twice a day upon request and... More 

Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of the best Hotels .. although I did not like their services at the beginning but everything changed totally when I talked to Mr.Willie. Thanks again and I advise everyone to visit this amazing Hotel :) Mai

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and recommendation of our hotel. We are delighted to hear that Willie Chaturanga, our Assistant Front Office Manager has made your stay enjoyable. He is a very experienced professional and is indeed a pillar of Bentota Beach Hotel. It is the hospitality of our staff, the beautiful garden, food and beverage options and... More 

Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights here..it was our last destination after a 7 day trip,,,so as planned we were very happy there...kids enjoyed the pool and the beatch...food was nice too,,breakfast was good but yes lunch had very less options in indian veg cuisine....but all other menu does compensate..rooms were good,,staff was good,,in all we had a good comfortable stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your valuable time to write a review about Bentota Beach Hotel following your stay. It is a pleasure indeed to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us, enjoying the pool and the beach. We will certainly pass along your comment regarding choice of Indian veg food for lunch to our chefs. We... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for four nights at this hotel at the end of a fantastic tour of Sri Lanka. It was a lovely relaxing last few days. The pool is lovely and clean. The gardens are large and well kept - forget the review about yellow leaves - not true , I watched gardeners clear up the leaves every single morning.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate the time you have taken to write a detailed review about our hotel following your recent stay with us. We are truly sorry to hear about the trouble you faced while staying with us, though we have not received any complaints regarding bed bugs in the past few years, we will definitely look into that matter... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is nice, but I am sure it was nicer 10 years ago. It is slower falling apart - both interior but also the processes. I rate it two of the following reasons: 1) We forgot our swimming glasses at the pool. After calling the reception twice to look for them. I went down there personally and the reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for staying with us and for the aiding review that you have posted. I would like to extend the apologies of the Management for any inconveniences caused during your stay. We have taken some inquiries to identify the points that you have mentioned and unfortunately we could not find any recorded details pertaining to... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Noting to say but it is the worst place on the earth ... non welcoming and rude staff .. non clean and old roams with rust everywhere .. no hot water in the bathroom for two days .. garden is full of yellow leaves and is not clean .. as my little daughter said "we feel like we are in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are thankful for the time you have taken to write a review about our hotel following your recent stay. We always appreciate feedback of all kinds in order to improve and give you the best service possible. We are truly sorry for the troubles you faced and we have taken immediate actions for improvement. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

768 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (761)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (175)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (90)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
View from room (36)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (115)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (241)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
2.4 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#12 of 27 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.9 mi away
Club Bentota
Club Bentota
#2 of 5 in Aluthgama
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
4.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay