We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bentota Beach Hotel

4.0 of 5 Galle Road, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bentota Beach Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bentota Beach Hotel
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    311
    121
    54
    27
See reviews for
240
312
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (810)
  • Mar-May only
    (180)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (203)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (207)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (220)
All months
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a great hotel. The staff are top class & do anything to help. I don't agree with the negative reviews on this hotel. The food is delicious and the gardens and facilities are top class. If it's 6 star flashy hotels you are looking for go to Dubai! This hotel Is completely in keeping with the beautiful surroundings... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Msk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location, beach and territory. Wish they renew rooms and furniture. The main problem was old air condition system in room and unfortunately in gym. Buffet meal was various but not healthy. Very good and not expensive restaurant a la carte is better choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great place and lovely rooms and facilities. I was there on a room-only basis and was offered breakfast for $11 (reduced from $15) and dinner for $16 (reduced from $25). If you don't want to do this there are other eating options and you can always go to the Nebula supermarket in Aluthgama to stock up. Otherwise very lovely staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colombo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My family of three including a 4 1/2 year old stayed here from Thursday night to Saturday afternoon. We asked for a king bed or extra bed and this was promptly accommodated. We got a ground floor room with very easy access to the beach. Room was tidy, spacious and comfortable, albeit somewhat old. Other than a faint stench in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been to this hotel many times in the past 15 years but never stayed in the rooms towards the garden which we did this time, Room 508 (not the rooms overlooking the pool) The room balcony had only one chair and the cushion on the chair and on the concrete ledge were missing. The TV in the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two nights in room 207, the Frangipani Suite. We checked in very early (around 10:30am) without any problems and were taken to our room straight away. There is a separate sitting and dining area with a TV and DVD player, mini bar and a L-shaped balcony that goes all the way around to the bedroom. The bedroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for your detailed review made at the trip advisor. We are pleased with your comments about the smooth check in, Frangipani suite, kiddie’s meals, kids play area and boat ride. Based on your comments we will take all possible steps to improve on food taste with our culinary team. We are glad to have hosted you... More 

hatfi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband & I travelled her for the 1st part of our honeymoon in July 2001 & I've not got round to writing a review about it yet. Hotel is lovely but a very long way from the airport. We had a 3 hour taxi journey to the hotel & being on the roads in Sri Lanka is quite frightening... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are pleased to have hosted you at Bentota Beach Hotel for your honeymoon. It was a great opportunity we got to create the perfect settings for you to experience a memorable holiday. With the new southern coastal expressway now one could reach the hotel from the airport within 90 to 120 minutes. We look forward to welcome... More 

Cobham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is large and somewhat traditional with the original central Geoffrey Bawa design. Unfortunately the room we were given was disappointing as it smelt of damp and the beds were poor. We were changed to a better upstairs room. On the first night , the main restaurant buffet looked unappealing and so we went to the a la carte... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you indeed for the valuable and helpful comments that you have made following your stay. Sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused due to the damp conditions of the room which is a result of the frequent sea breeze. Your constructive comments made on the room bed, restaurant and the a la carte food have been well noted... More 

Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I stayed at the Bentota Beach resort in December 2014 and I was debating for a long while whether to review this hotel. I've decided to do so because I think the management needs to save their hotel, if for no other reason than to salvage one of Geoffrey Bawa's earlier works. We arrived at the standard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Sincere thanks to you for spending the valuable time to write this supportive review following your stay with us at Bentota Beach Hotel. The points depicted about the standards of the rooms and their amenities are well noted in aid of the upcoming product change. While thanking you for the compliments given to our staff, we all are... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went with few of our friends, first time at this hotel, looked few other options before selecting this hotel, reviews in Tripadvisor played a part in that. However, never regret the decision to pick this hotel, because: Excellent Food Helpful & Friendly staff Very good service Nice ambience Overall a great experiance

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Heartiest thank to you for writing a 5 star review about us following your stay. It is highly motivating to see how you have enjoyed our products and services during your holiday. Wish to see you soon in the near future to serve and comfort you better. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bentota Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentota Beach Hotel

Address: Galle Road, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Bentota Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#8 Family Hotel in Bentota
#8 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bentota

661 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (654)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (156)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (81)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (103)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
View from room (32)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (197)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay