We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bentota Beach Hotel

Bentota, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bentota Beach Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bentota Beach Hotel
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    339
    147
    60
    31
See reviews for
261
345
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (893)
  • Mar-May only
    (238)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (203)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (207)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (245)
All months
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Location is really great of this hotel.. just stayed for a night, dint really get to use all the facilities of the hotel. Would certainly visit the hotel again when I vist Sri Lanka in the future 😊. The pool is excellent service of staff good nt that great

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Bentota beach hotel After a rough start, the overall stay was quite pleasant and we had a great time. The gentleman at check in was rude and unfriendly and unwilling to please the guest. He showed us two different rooms to choose from which were both dirty, mouldy and with bad maintenance issues. We needed to ask for a manager... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Amazing location, food and everything! Spent Christmas and New Year there - for Christmas Eve and New year's eve it's compulsory to stay at the hotel but we didn't mind it at all as the food and entertainment was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for writing a great review about Bentota Beach Hotel following your stay in December. We are delighted to hear that you had a good time with us and that you enjoyed our Christmas and New Year celebrations. It would be a pleasure to have you back with us. More 

mumbai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is one of the best resorts in Sri Lanka. Very nicely located, food was good staff was cooperative. Good watersport activities in river. Rooms are a bit dated, old furniture but maintained. Wifi speed poor. Multiple restaurants serving good food. Overall a good 2 night stay. There are many other hotels like the surf or taj vivanta next to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bentota, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

l am tom from france we had a nice tour in bentota , hotel and staff are nice , we had a bike tour , motor bike shop is close to the hotel , we appreciated his service , any one contact him by calling , +94772120113

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Bentota Beach Hotel. It is a pleasure to hear that you had a good time with us and that you enjoyed a motor bike tour around Bentota, making the best of your holiday. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future. More 

Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a very nice stay. Clean and quiet ambiance. Courteous staff. The garden view, beach view is superb. Gazing at the river and passing time in the pool was a nice pastime. Will definitely come back here. But the food is bad. Had a tough time trying to ding something eatable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel following your stay. We are glad that you had a nice stay with us and that you liked our staff, garden and beach views. We are sorry that the meals provided were not up to your expectations and we will certainly take steps to improve... More 

Harlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our last hotel off a 3 week trip around Sri Lanka. Our Superior room was in need of a refurbishment and there was dust balls on the floor beside the bed. The public areas appeared well kept.The main pool was well maintained and the beach was clean. The dinning experience was good. The staff generally were helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing a constructive comment about our hotel following your recent stay. We are taking immediate steps to improve the room conditions and we are glad that you were happy with the pool, the beach, dining and the service of the staff. We are hoping to see you soon to serve you better. More 

Bangalore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As part of our Srilankan trip, my kids selected Bentota Beach resort for the stay. We reached there on April 15th .It took only 10 minutes for the checkin. Its a very beautiful property with lot of greenery. You can see lots of birds and squirells in the lawn.Ther main pool looks very good.Its good only for good swimmers.It has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review, about Bentota Beach Hotel. It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking to forward welcome you again soon. More 

Nagpur, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would like to rate this hotel as 3.5 but the system does not allow me to do so. The best part- Food and access to beach The worst part - service The swimming is also pretty small. I think I hotel tried to be a 5-star property but failed at doing so. I reiterate 3.5 ..rather than 3 is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your valuable comment about our hotel following your recent stay. We regret that the service and swimming pool were not up to your expectations; We will certainly take measures to improve the service as pointed out by you. Hoping to see you again to witness the upgrades that we have done. More 

Faridabad, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bentota Beach Hotel, very old property, but amazingly well furnished Deluxe Comfertsble Room fitted with latest fittings and surrounding supported with smiling staff really made our stay memorable.Second Floor Rooms with Balcony offer serene overview of Beach n Natrural Beauty in morning. Hotel fit for luxurious leisure stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking time to write a review following your stay at Bentota Beach Hotel. It is a pleasure to hear that you had a memorable time with us and that you were comfortable throughout your stay. We are hoping to welcome you back soon in the near future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

724 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (717)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (113)
Viewed
View from room (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (166)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (82)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (232)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay