We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Bentota hotels

Bentota Beach Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Galle Road, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bentota Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Bentota Beach Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com Tingo.com
and 3 more sites!
75%
Ranked #11 of 20 hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
bunty r Mumbai (Bombay), India
Write a Review

656 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    251
    98
    46
    23
See reviews for
182
257
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I and my girl friend stay here for five days, the staff and the rooms service was awesome. The room was too expensive, but it was nothing. The surrounding was great. I booked the hotel online from the hotel website before...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in this hotel. We went on a full board basis and the prices were reasonable, room was clean and the meals were awesome. We requested for a 1/2hour late check out and they were kind enough to grant us an extra 1/2 hour. The pool and atmosphere is amazing too. There is a boat ride... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I must admit I was quite shocked at some of the bad comments put in by other travelers : as I could not find even one fault - even if I tried being EXTREMELY picky ! My wife and I went over the BBH on a whim for two nights. We visited the property after nearly a decade, and were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel in April 2014 for 2 nights and were very disappointed. The hotel is in deseprate need of renovation. We were finally given room 805 after about an hours wait for the room to be ready to find that the kettle was broken, water was missing from the mini bar. The gardens are OK, but there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Can't comment on the room as we weren't able to get one, but the service was great, the pool area is nice, even on a rainy day, and the food is superb. They had a barbecue that night and it was well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write such a positive review on Trip Advisor regarding your short visit to Bentota Beach Hotel. We are truly happy that you have enjoyed the location and choice of different cuisine. Our team and Chefs are delighted that the food prepared catered your taste. We always strive to be the best hosts possible and... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We travelled to this hotel in March 2014 and stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is situated on Bentota Beach, which was wonderful and very clean. The hotel staff were very welcoming and were very hospitable. The resort/grounds were well maintained and the swimming pool was not busy at all, with many facilities for all ages. Pool/Beach staff provided... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Bentota Beach Hotel We will certainly convey your word of appreciation to all our staff to further encourage them. We will also make a note of your comment regarding the need of room modernization at the next refurbishment. We look forward to see you again More

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having read the trip advisor reviews i looked forward to my stay with guarded optimism. I can't fathom what people could find to complain about. Unfailingly friendly, clean, and atmospheric. The beach here is wonderful with a gradual shore so that despite the waves it doesn't beat you up. Plenty of room for long walks. The grounds are huge with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for publishing a detailed review about Bentota Beach Hotel on Tripadvisor. It is with much delight we accept your best compliments regarding our services and facilities of the hotel We are indeed grateful for your stay at Bentota beach Hotel and we look forward to your next visit to make it even more memorable. More

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were given a twin room for our two night stay. The front desk was rude when we asked for a double room. After our tour operator (Red Dot Tours) interfered, they changed our room for the second night. The location is perfect amidst the backwaters and sea. We got the basement rooms which were musty and old, but they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time in sharing your experience with us. We have already addressed all the front line staff on service etiquettes and the service delivery will be carefully monitored by our management team continuously. We look forward for your next visit in the near future More

Gaithersburg, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really wanted to like this hotel. We had a wonderful week in Sri Lanka in three other fabulous hotels, and this one was way below what I expected. The room had been updated, but there was mildew all over the ceiling, and the room smelled a combination of musky and smoke. The pillows themselves reeked-maybe they mildew, too? It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback. All points stated in your review are carefully noted. Since we cater to a different mix of clientele certain controls needs to be adopted for the convenience of all guests hence the reason for service varieties. Nevertheless we will ensure that every effort been taken in fine tuning our service styles and we thank... More

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really nice place. I enjoyed the yoga classes and food. The rooms are cool too, although ours were a bit far away from the main area. It's noisy at night, and there was a sharp light pointing directly into the room making it hard to sleep. The place is well kept and staff is friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for being our valued guest. We are so glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay at Bentota Beach Hotel The areas you have mentioned for improvement is well noted and action for the betterment of all future guests. We look forward to see you in the near future More

Been to Bentota Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentota Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Bentota Beach
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka
Address: Galle Road, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#7 Family Hotel in Bentota
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach Hotel is the perfect get-away from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, banana boat riding and diving. The hotel also hosts other recreational activities such as a tennis court, squash court and archery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Bentota Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bentota Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.