We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas

1.0 of 5
200/1 Galle Road | Bentota, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #16 of 46 Bentota B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Katherine M London, England, United Kingdom
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    32
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (67)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We originally booked to stay 9 nights, but departed after only 2 to move to another hotel nearby. We booked this hotel after having read other reviews and viewing images. How disappointing it was! Dirty rooms, bug infested and not particularly clean at all. The staff seemed pleasant enough but wanted to engineer your every move to make sure you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
spontaneiiti, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Community, Please disregard this review as our team has been made aware of a competing property owner that is using the assistance of other parties to damage our property's image. This is another unethical attempt to mislead travelers interested in staying at Palm Beach Inn. We kindly urge you to please read what other guests have to... More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked to say here having reviewed the feedback from other guests, they were misleading to say the least. It was awful. The beds are comfortable and the beach is lovely but, the rooms are well below average. There is no insect defence so I got bitten all over by something during the night, I had an infestation of insects... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
spontaneiiti, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Community, Please disregard this review as our team has been made aware of a competing property owner that is using the assistance of other parties to damage our property's image. This is another unethical attempt to mislead travelers interested in staying at Palm Beach Inn. We kindly urge you to please read what other guests have to... More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great service from the male attendant and Gorgeous location and beautiful surroundings. But... Our bathroom flooded with toilet water as the drainage sucks. We retired to bed at 11pm and realised we had no sheets, it was too late to do anything but the next morning we told the owner and she shrugged she smiled. What? Our last night we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
spontaneiiti, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on your experience at Palm Beach Inn. Firstly, thank you for your comments on the property and it's location. The location of Palm Beach Inn is truly unique and the surrounding areas are very popular among all our guests. We regret hearing of your inconveniences and would like to clarify a few things... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night and were not too impressed with the room. We had one of the raised beach hut style rooms, so maybe I am expecting too much but I just found it to be a bit shabby and dated. There was no mosquito net either which was disappointing. The room was within minutes to the beach, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
spontaneiiti, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear Katherine, Thank you for your review. We're happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we served you well. Thank you also for your comments on the Cabana you were provided and the food you were served. We value our guests' feedback and always absorb guest comments in an attempt to try and understand how... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

I stayed at PBI for 10 days in February 2015. The hotel is slightly set back from the bustling streets of bentota giving it a homely tranquil feel. There are other larger hotels further along the road which lack the character and utter charm of this family run business. The rooms are a minute's walk from the tropical paradise that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
spontaneiiti, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear Emily, It is great to hear from you and what a delightful review you have shared. Thank you so much for your thoughtful comments and kind recommendations. It is so pleasant to read experiences such as yours and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to welcome you during your visit to Bentota. You certainly did do a... More 

Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

After a trip around Sri Lanka we spent the two last nights in Bentota before we flew back to Sweden (21/1-15). About the hotel - Positive: -Polite, flexible and friendly staff -Personal service, even on beach, with food and beverages -Free sunbeds at the beach -The area between the hotel and beach was perfect for running and other activities -Stable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
spontaneiiti, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your detailed review! It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for sharing the details of your experience at Palm Beach Inn. Your feedback is very important and we appreciate the time you took to share your... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

It took us some time to find this place at night but were very happy when we did. The hosts are so accommodating... breakfast whenever and wherever you like, Michael Schumacher the tuk-tuk driver onsite to take you out and give dinner recommendations and an beach order service for drinks/ food. So relaxing! We stayed two nights and felt that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
spontaneiiti, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It certainly is great to hear from you. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your detailed review. It makes us very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we greatly appreciate your kind comments and feedback. Thank you for your kind recommendations. Please come back and visit us when you... More 

Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015 via mobile

I have to admit that i was a bit disappointed when i arrived there. I guess the fact it is called a "boutique hotel" made me expect something better. They should better label it as "homestay" or "guesthouse" which would be more accurate. And also maybe as in the other places I visited in Sri Lanka the value for money... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
spontaneiiti, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share such a descriptive review. Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Bentota. We are happy that you enjoyed our properties location, service and the food you were served. It is unfortunate that we did not meet your expectations with the room that... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Great stay in this family run guesthouse. Clean, spacious rooms, a lovely, attentive owner, yummy breakfast each morning and the best part: it's literally right on the beach!! Walk out of your room, through the back garden and you'll hear the waves crashing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
spontaneiiti, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to read about your pleasant experience and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for encouraging comments and kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you again, soon. Wishing you all the best. More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, located in the quieter part of Bentota beach. A 1 minute walk over the railway tracks would take you onto the private beach with a few sun loungers and even less people. The room was basic, with a/c and balcony, which breakfast was served to you there, which was lovely. Nona and her husband... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
spontaneiiti, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are glad to hear of your pleasant experience and are very happy to know that we served you well. Thank you for your feedback and kind recommendation. We hope to welcome you again, soon. Wishing you all the best. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
0:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (68)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question