We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas

Certificate of Excellence
200/1 Galle Road | Bentota, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    27
    36
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (77)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were shown to the inn by a tuk tuk driver that collected is from the station. We were very impressed with the double A/C room at the price offered. The inn is located right on the beach with free use of their sun loungers and a free breakfast was served whenever we rose too. We were very well looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
spontaneiiti, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your thoughtful review. We are delighted to hear of your pleasant experience and our team is very satisfied to know that you enjoyed the service you were provided. We are very happy that we met your expectations and we appreciate your supportive and kind recommendations. Thank you and we will look forward to... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

This family run place has great rooms and cabanas. The rooms are spacious and clean, the garden is nice and quite and the beach is just a minute away. The family that runs the place are helpfull and friendly, and they make great food for either breakfast, lunch or diner. There are beachchairs available and we had the beach for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
spontaneiiti, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind and supportive feedback! We are delighted to hear your thoughts and appreciate your encouraging comments. It's great to know that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and we will certainly look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Bentota. Thank you for choosing Palm Beach Inn and Sea... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

We are satisfied with our trip. We chose cabana and for us it was right choice.But if u look for luxury 5 stars place, it is definitely wrong place. Well, i would like to start with the overall view of this place: a wild,cozy and rather cheap guest house with good understanding of service. Nona, the owner of the hotel,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
spontaneiiti, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review

Hello Hristya, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughtful and descriptive review. We greatly appreciate your feedback and comments on your stay at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas. Thank you also for your comments on the food and service you were provided. This is a great read and we certainly hope other guests... More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

We originally booked to stay 9 nights, but departed after only 2 to move to another hotel nearby. We booked this hotel after having read other reviews and viewing images. How disappointing it was! Dirty rooms, bug infested and not particularly clean at all. The staff seemed pleasant enough but wanted to engineer your every move to make sure you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
spontaneiiti, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Community, Please disregard this review as our team has been made aware of a competing property owner that is using the assistance of other parties to damage our property's image. This is another unethical attempt to mislead travelers interested in staying at Palm Beach Inn. We kindly urge you to please read what other guests have to... More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We booked to say here having reviewed the feedback from other guests, they were misleading to say the least. It was awful. The beds are comfortable and the beach is lovely but, the rooms are well below average. There is no insect defence so I got bitten all over by something during the night, I had an infestation of insects... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
spontaneiiti, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Community, Please disregard this review as our team has been made aware of a competing property owner that is using the assistance of other parties to damage our property's image. This is another unethical attempt to mislead travelers interested in staying at Palm Beach Inn. We kindly urge you to please read what other guests have to... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015 via mobile

Great service from the male attendant and Gorgeous location and beautiful surroundings. But... Our bathroom flooded with toilet water as the drainage sucks. We retired to bed at 11pm and realised we had no sheets, it was too late to do anything but the next morning we told the owner and she shrugged she smiled. What? Our last night we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
spontaneiiti, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on your experience at Palm Beach Inn. Firstly, thank you for your comments on the property and it's location. The location of Palm Beach Inn is truly unique and the surrounding areas are very popular among all our guests. We regret hearing of your inconveniences and would like to clarify a few things... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Stayed here for one night and were not too impressed with the room. We had one of the raised beach hut style rooms, so maybe I am expecting too much but I just found it to be a bit shabby and dated. There was no mosquito net either which was disappointing. The room was within minutes to the beach, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
spontaneiiti, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear Katherine, Thank you for your review. We're happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we served you well. Thank you also for your comments on the Cabana you were provided and the food you were served. We value our guests' feedback and always absorb guest comments in an attempt to try and understand how... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

I stayed at PBI for 10 days in February 2015. The hotel is slightly set back from the bustling streets of bentota giving it a homely tranquil feel. There are other larger hotels further along the road which lack the character and utter charm of this family run business. The rooms are a minute's walk from the tropical paradise that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
spontaneiiti, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear Emily, It is great to hear from you and what a delightful review you have shared. Thank you so much for your thoughtful comments and kind recommendations. It is so pleasant to read experiences such as yours and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to welcome you during your visit to Bentota. You certainly did do a... More 

Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

After a trip around Sri Lanka we spent the two last nights in Bentota before we flew back to Sweden (21/1-15). About the hotel - Positive: -Polite, flexible and friendly staff -Personal service, even on beach, with food and beverages -Free sunbeds at the beach -The area between the hotel and beach was perfect for running and other activities -Stable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
spontaneiiti, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your detailed review! It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for sharing the details of your experience at Palm Beach Inn. Your feedback is very important and we appreciate the time you took to share your... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

It took us some time to find this place at night but were very happy when we did. The hosts are so accommodating... breakfast whenever and wherever you like, Michael Schumacher the tuk-tuk driver onsite to take you out and give dinner recommendations and an beach order service for drinks/ food. So relaxing! We stayed two nights and felt that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
spontaneiiti, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It certainly is great to hear from you. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your detailed review. It makes us very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we greatly appreciate your kind comments and feedback. Thank you for your kind recommendations. Please come back and visit us when you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
0:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (68)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.9 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#12 of 27 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Bentota Beach Hotel
Bentota Beach Hotel
#16 of 27 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay