We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown

#18 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
300 Broadway, Albany, NY 12207 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    115
    48
    15
    7
See reviews for
70
58
23
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (282)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (94)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
apopka
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Best: Front desk Sam & shuttle driver Michael. Sam was extra helpful in making my stay an enjoyable one. Proximity to restaurants, attractions, and government offices. - use the shuttle as it may not be walking friendly for many guests. Proximity to main highway. Worst: Proximity to main highway- make sure you get an interior facing room if you're a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lockport, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This is a remodeled hotel and a very large one at that! If you have trouble walking then you need to talk to the reservations desk before check in. Make sure you can get a room close to the elevator. We had some folks with walking and breathing issues and they were very accommodating. The rooms are nice but ours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First, there are quite a few other hotels smack downtown Albany, why stay in one where one must walk 4/5 desolate blocks, cross parkings and bus depot to get anywhere? Lobby was dirty, smelled of chlorine as the pool is right there, elevator was also dirty. Check in person seemed uninterested; checked me into a room without mattresses, see pics... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear vidalarn, We appreciate the candid feedback you have left for our hotel. It has always been our goal to provide excellent service and accommodations but we are sorry that this was not met on this occasion due to the room you were given and service received from our hotel staff being a disappointment. We will work on improving on... More 

Newark, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel four times and I must say that the BEST stay was the first time. They are not consistent and that's why I rate them average. The rooms are spacious and if you're lucky, you'll get a room with a hotel. Being a member of the IHG rewards is meaningless here. They don't post the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear cpgranados, Thank you for your feedback. It is nice to hear that you are a regular visitor to the hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we... More 

Syracuse, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

This is a great hotel if you're doing business in downtown Albany. The shuttle bus ( staffed by friendly helpful drivers) avoids the difficulty of parking. The breakfast is excellent with multiple selections. I always use this when conducting business in Albany.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015 via mobile

I brought a huge group of people to stay here recently and every single way the hotel could make it easeful, they did. Honestly I am so grateful the staff there is there to help. And I will never forget the kindness they showed us. Best hotel in Albany by a landslide.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Short Hills, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

We chose this because of its location close to Interstate 87/787. While location says downtown, at night it looked quite seedy. The hotel was decent, with a standard sized rooms. Parking is tight and the lobby is hidden behind pillars.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Calcuttan, We appreciate you sharing your experiences with regards to your stay at our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and it is nice to read that the location of the property is a close proximity to your needs and found the rooms up to your par. However, it is regrettable... More 

Ogdensburg, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Stayed one night for business. Room was what you would expect for a HIE. Bathroom was pretty small but clean. Heat did not work so the room was 55F, even with the thermostat set on 90F. Staff was not very sympathetic when I mentioned it to them at check out. Beds not real comfortable. Wifi was free but very weak.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear lcshea, Thank you for staying with us during your business trip and for writing us a review. I am pleased you liked the room and bathroom of our hotel. Our goal is to provide memorable guest experiences but reading from your feedback, it is unfortunate we weren't able to do so on this occasion. It is to my absolute... More 

Lewiston, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Checked into the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Albany Hotel today prior to the start of the MAAC Basketball Tournament on Thursday morning at the nearby Times Union Center. Staying in Executive King Room 304 with a microwave, refrigerator, a very nice lounge chair with ottoman, a side table with two chairs, and an extremely comfortable bed with a choice of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Haven, ME
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

This Holiday Inn needed a little TLC as it was well worn. The staff was very good and helpful in every way. The rooms were comfortable and clean. When going for supper the hotel provided excellent transportation to and from your restaurant. When you were done eating and wishing to return to the hotel, you called the hotel and they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear super90210, We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and it is nice to read that the location of the property and facilities are well to your liking. We also appreciate your positive comments on the comfort and cleanliness... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question