We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown

#9 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel deals
Hotel website
25 Chapel Street, Albany, NY 12210
Special Offer
Double Your Points!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    184
    49
    25
    11
See reviews for
101
119
34
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (529)
  • Mar-May only
    (142)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (148)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (143)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (96)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

One night stay. The hotel was clean and really put together. The front desk (Muhammad & Robin) staff was courteous and very welcoming along with the entire valet staff. The location of the hotel is great and I found the prices to be reasonable. Next time I stay in Albany this is my first option.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are also happy you had a great front desk experience with our GM and his team. We look forward to your future visit`s. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

The management level employees were horrible. They didn't try hard to accommodate,in fact came across as if I was bothering them. Two management level employees then reprimanded a cleaning staff in front of guests. It was incredibly unprofessional and very uncomfortable for those witnessing it as well as for the employee. I will never stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and will address this with our entire team. Our staff is new, so we will make sure the entire team has better customer service training. Our management team, which includes a brand new GM has a great deal of back ground on this and will ensure his team is well adjusted... More 

Mountain Home, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the most poorly managed property that holds the name of Hampton Inn. The housekeeping staff seems to be without supervision. Our room was not serviced and the night time front desk tried to blame the lack service on the customer. The day time front desk attempted to explain and compensate us for the lack of housekeeping. Who manages... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your business. We have recently gone under new ownership and management changes as well, so our team is brand new. We do apologize we did not meet your expectations, however we are making major strides to provide excellent customer service. We do invite you to return in the near future, so you can see first hand the... More 

Cornwall on Hudson, New York, USA
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the hotel and staff were great. the rooms were very clean and comfortable. the staff was very attentive, without hovering over us. however, i couldn't sleep through the night with cars racing and a fights in the nearby parking lot. we were on the 10th floor and it still woke me up.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

We know you have a choice in where you stay, so thank you for choosing our property during your recent travels. We are happy you enjoyed your experience, however we are sorry for the additional neighborhood noise. We appreciate you and your business and hope you will consider us, when your future travels bring you back to downtown Albany. More 

Binghamton, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here one night while attending an annual conference for work, because the room block was filled at the Hilton just a couple blocks away. Great rooms, very clean, great amenities, excellent location. Valet parking was a new experience for me but it worked well and was convenient.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time to post about your recent stay. We hope now that you have stayed with us, you will consider us for your future travel needs while in our area. Thank you for your business. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Everything about the hotel is more than u need Clean comfortable and decent breakfast only thing is its not in the best area and there is a 13.50 dollar a night charge for parking which expedia didnt mention

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We value you and your business and appreciate your comments about your stay. Because we are located in the heart of downtown, parking is limited so we do offer valet parking for a fee, which all downtown properties do as well. Due to limited parking spaces, all of the lots in the downtown area do... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Check in this past Friday which was supposed to be for the whole weekend. First mistake is mine I booked this hotel via amex instead of calling and speaking to someone who worked there first. However three days before my trip I called to confirm this hotel was pet friendly I was told yes and that someone would call me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations. While we do allow pets, we do have a non refundable pet fee of $75, which is listed on our website. We do a deep clean after each guest traveling with a pet to ensure the next guest has a fresh clean room. We... More 

NYC, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice, clean hotel. Comfortable room and bed. Easy complimentary internet access. Complimentary breakfast is always a plus, and they even had donuts at the front desk for their guests. The Fitness center is small, but nice equipment and very clean. Would stay here again, though desk staff could be a little more helpful. Location is excellent for business. The restaurant... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

We appreciate your business and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Your comfort, while being our guest is always our #1 goal. We look forward to having you back as our guest again soon! More 

Hamilton, NJ
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a long weekend. Great location too. Very clean lobby area and friendly service. Parking is behind the hotel, but the lot can be full at times. No problem with parking though. Breakfast was good with a decent amount of options to choose from. Hot and cold breakfast. Room was nice. They were doing upgrades/repairs on our floor,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

We are thrilled to hear you will be our guest in the future, when your travels bring you back to the area. We value you and your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon! More 

New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would highly recommend staying at the Albany Hampton. The rooms were extremely clean and the breakfast hit the spot. The restaurant dp was excellent so you don't have to go outside of the hotel to have a great meal.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

We appreciate your time to let us know about your recent stay. Thank you for your business. We appreciate you and hope to see you back soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (87)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay