We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Legacy Inn & Suites

2210 West Main Street, Artesia, NM 88210 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Artesia)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Legacy Inn & Suites
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Legacy Inn & Suites
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
7
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (28)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Redmond
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed many aspects of our stay overnight at The Legacy inn and Suites. Our room was large, clean and met our needs of having a fridge in the room. The staff were very pleasant. The only complaint was no elevator so had to lug our stuff up. but oh well! We needed a King and many rooms have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sammie V, General Manager at Legacy Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out your busy life to send your review of our hotel in. These reviews are very helpful to other travelers when the are deciding where to spend their travel dollars. I appreciate all of the nice things you had to say about your stay with us and I do hope that when you are going... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Only can rate it a 1 because that is as low as they go. The beds are horrible. They are both old and hard, one looks like a U. one of the phones don't work. There are no blankets on the bed, only a sheet. Asked for a additional blanket and got a throw. The hot water was warm at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sammie V, General Manager at Legacy Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am deeply disturbed by the things that you said were wrong with your room such as one of the phones not working and the mattress. I will have maintenance check these items and see what needs to be done to either repair them or replace them. As for the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Artesia hotels

Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

We stayed here on our way to Carlsbad Caverns since there aren't many options in Carlsbad. The room was clean and the breakfast was standard continental breakfast fare. Based off what else was available in the area I think this is an economical option for the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sammie V, General Manager at Legacy Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to let us know about your recent stay at Legacy Inn & Suites. It is because of folks like you that the good news is spread about our hotel. We are always looking for ways to make our guests experience more pleasurable and all feed back is welcome. Thank you... More 

Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel exceeded my expectations for the amount I paid for the room. Room was nice with modern decor. Full breakfast was included. Staff is friendly. My only complaint is that there is no elevator (our room was on 2nd floor) so I would recommend asking for a 1st floor room if you have a lot of luggage or have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sammie V, General Manager at Legacy Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to let not only us, but your fellow travelers, know about your stay at our hotel. We take pride in how our hotel looks and in how our guests are treated. I do hope that on your next trip, if you are in our area, you will choose to stay with us... More 

silver spring md
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was not a chain, but the room was typical of any chain motel. The room was clean, but tissue holder was empty and a lamp did not turn on. This was a satisfactory place to stay overnight. The price was higher than most of the chains.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sammie V, General Manager at Legacy Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are pleased that you choose to stay with us and I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. It has always been my hotel's policy to try to make every guest feel like they are staying someplace special. In the future when you travel, I do hope you will give us another stay. We will do our best... More 

Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We were in the area to visit Carlsbad Caverns and found the hotels in Carlsbad to be overpriced, primarily due to the oil boom in the area. The Legacy inn & Suites was quiet, clean and had a good breakfast. The hotel is located at the far end of town in Artesia. Note that we also liked the Chinese Buffet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sammie V, General Manager at Legacy Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words you had to share about our hotel. We are very pleased that you stayed with us and hope that you will return. Comments such as yours help to spread the word about the better hotels which are out there. Once again, thank you for choosing Legacy Inn & Suites. Sincerely, Sammie VanStory... More 

Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We were driving from Roswell / White Sands National Monument and decided to stay an extra night so we could take our time the following day at the Carlsbad cavern. We called Carlsbad Holiday Inn and looked online for reasonable prices - none to be had. No way was I going to pay $300 for a Holiday Inn in some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sammie V, General Manager at Legacy Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to send you review of our hotel in. You are correct that we are currently under going some renovations and I appreciate your understanding. The new furniture should be here this weekend. Yeah!! I hope that when you travel this way again, that you will stay with us for more than one night.... More 

Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We were. vacationing in nm and heading towards tx. We wanted to see the carlsbad caverns and had no idea we would run into issues finding hotels , NOT because of tourists but because of the oil workers . Every hotel is nearly booked and way over priced. They are trying at this hotel but it still needs slit of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sammie V, General Manager at Legacy Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond concerning your recent stay. Yes, the hotels are very pricey in this area but we do try to stay in a mid-range just for travelers like yourself. I am happy that you found the room to your liking. We are in the process of updating everything about our hotel. I hope you... More 

Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

I tried 3 different times and all rooms I got were clean but the smell was terrible...front desk guy not very attentive even when he noticed I had stayed there other times and was indistinct to my choices...never again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sammie V, General Manager at Legacy Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I wish that I had known about your stay at the time it happened because maybe I could have done something to help. All of our rooms are non smoking but of course, some people do not pay attention to that. I can not imagine where the drain smell would have been coming from but I will have maintenance check... More 

Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed in late April for one night and decided on Legacy Inns based on reviews and the nightly rate ($120+). The room and the hotel were dated - tube TV, peeling paint, etc. While the room was not dirty, it definitely wasn't clean. Breakfast was the normal spread at every other hotel. We’ll look elsewhere for better value if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sammie V, General Manager at Legacy Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us last spring but I hope you will return in the future. Sometime in late fall or early winter we are going to have a make over with all new everything. Please consider returning so we can try again. Thank you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question