We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pulisan Jungle Beach Resort

Desa Pulisan | Kecamatan Likupang, Indonesia
Pulisan Jungle Beach Resort
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    28
    20
    11
    10
    9
See reviews for
15
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (78)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Ede, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Avoid Pulisan Beach Resort. We spent there our most expensive night during a holiday in Indonesia. Recently we (Jan and Yolande) spent one night in Pulisan Beach Resort, run by a German business woman who claims to be an anthropologist. In stead of a 4 night’s stay, we wanted to cancel 3 nights because we could not go snorkeling due... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Katrin W, Inhaber at Pulisan Jungle Beach Resort, responded to this review

We certainly appreciate comments that help us improve our Services. In this comment, however, I see a personal attack on myself (who indeed is a trained professional anthropologist - want to check my PH.D. ? ) as the writer felt treated unfair by myself. However, the writer made the booking six weeks ahead of the stay, the stay was in... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

First time being in this place is like huft... takes long walk to get there, the road are quite hard because small access by foot. But when I get there... it's really worth... the place are nice and quiet. It's good to be here a little far away from crowded. The owner are so nice people and also the dog..... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
holland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

we were here last week for 3 nights an it was terrible because of the rats thatcame in the room in the night and eat my clothes and rucksack. also i did not like the food and the staf was not happy. Maybe you better stay in the national park, you pay less and they have cats who eat the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Katrin W, Inhaber at Pulisan Jungle Beach Resort, responded to this review

Staying at Pulisan JUNGLE Beach Resort you need to be aware that this is an open setting surrounded by jungle. Part of the jungle are its dwellers which occasionally come and visit. Among those are bats, tarsiers, monitor lizards, crabs and... forest rats. As the latter are very fond of any product that contains oils or aromatic scents, we tell... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sulawesi hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Very disappointed. This seems to be a nice resort and we booked our bungalow almost a month in advance. We had organized a pick up through them from manado airport but when we arrived at the airport there was no one to pick us up. So we called them and then they noticed that they had forgotten about us and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katrin W, Owner at Pulisan Jungle Beach Resort, responded to this review

again, I can only apologize for this, and I feel terribly sorry indeed... I know there's no excuse, as the booking was made some weeks ahead. it was just unfortunate. as a small place we have very limited manpower resources, and it happened to be peak season, the Ramadhan holiday going on, my colleague away, myself getting sick. I sincerely... More 

Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed at Pulisan for 3 nights with our young children (3, 5 and 6) and we loved it a lot. It is not your average beach resort, but for us that added to it's uniqueness, as the surroundings are gorgeous. You cannot really swim or snorkel well directly off the beach, but there are amazing tidal pools that allow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We just spent two nights in the resort. We had initially booked for four nights, but we cut it short. It is a beautiful place, isolated and peaceful. The staff are nice and the food is good. We would have liked to keep ourselves busy with some daily activities, which the resort provides, but with very high prices. I guess... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manado, Indonesia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

atmosphere is quiet and still as if you are in another world,,, away from the hustle of the city, pollution-free air makes this place so comfortable.you will not get a luxury here,,, but all of it is comparable to the natural atmosphere that you'll get..you will be accompanied by the waiters were very friendly will make you very satisfied,,, not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baden, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We spend around 10 days in January 2014 in PJBR. That was the second time in the last two years and we enjoyed it very much. Food there is the best! It’s kind of a European Indonesian mix with a lot of different vegetables and fish.(I didn’t had so much meat) The organization (Transport to/from airport or the Tangkoko Tour)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We spent 2 weeks in Pulisan in September 2013. we expected to be able to snorkle right from the beach. That was possible, but the sight was bad because of lots and lots of rubbish (plastic bags) swimming around and the reef was destroyed by a storm some years ago. Besides this, the less fish, living here can't grow because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The selling point of this place is that it's basic. You stay in traditional Malay houses with electricity only four hours a day and the bath water comes from the stream. If you want luxury, this is not the place for you! (Also, it can get very hot at night.) The beach is beautiful but because of the coral you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pulisan, Owner at Pulisan Jungle Beach Resort, responded to this review

As owner of this property I assure everyone and guarantee that we don't use water from the stream as stated in this review. we feed our bathrooms from two deep wells, 11 and 7 m deep, and in addition from a natural spring at the rock bottom. our facilities indeed don't offer luxury - as is clearly stated on our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (75)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sulawesi hotels
0.0 mi away
Toraja Misiliana Hotel
Toraja Misiliana Hotel
#4 of 9 in Rantepao
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
0.0 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Siladen Island
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dabirahe at Lembeh Hills Resort
0.0 mi away
Janji Laut Resort
Janji Laut Resort
#1 of 38 in Manado
5.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highland Resort
Highland Resort
#1 of 1 in Tomohon
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities