We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Majapahit Surabaya

Certificate of Excellence
Jalan Tunjungan 65, Surabaya 60275, Indonesia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    136
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
78
162
49
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (495)
  • Mar-May only
    (111)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (129)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (135)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (120)
All months
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

After a very long car journey on over crowded roads this hotel was a real oasis.A cold beer was the first thing on our minds followed lunch.there is a very large selection menu which is on a printed card and the same for all meals except breakfast.there are Indonesian and western meals on offer.If your hungry go for the Club... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
York UK
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
63 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What a wonderful hotel! Our room,executive class, was luxurious to say the least even though a little quirky - the light had to be switched on in order for the kettle to boil! The bathroom was vast and included a separate shower cubicle. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant - be warned the small portions are vast ! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeHazard, General Manager at Hotel Majapahit Surabaya, responded to this review

Indeed a magnisfiscent property that we are keeping to its original beauty and authenticity. We are glad to read that our hard work and determination have brought you happiness and enjoyment during your stay at our Grande Dame. George Hazard / General Manager More 

Willemstad, Curacao
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Majapahit hotel was for me an unforgettable experience, my grandmother had her wedding reception and her honeymoon in the same hotel, 90 years ago, when it was still called the Oranje hotel, the atmosphere is wonderful, the rooms big and still done in the original style, everything breathes the past in a good way... The old reception room with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeorgeHazard, General Manager at Hotel Majapahit Surabaya, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Grande Dame... George Hazard / General Manager More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful colonial building, extremely well presented. Lovely room and fantastic shower /bathroom. Immaculate gardens. Staff very friendly and helpful. what's not to like? Nothing - apart from the Indigo Restaurant! The rest of the hotel was fine and I wholeheartedly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeorgeHazard, General Manager at Hotel Majapahit Surabaya, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope to catch up again soon... George Hazard / General Manager More 

Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Acknowledging that I've seen pretty fabulous hotels in Bali, this has to be the best hotel I've ever stayed in while traveling in Indonesia. The owners of this hotel have seen to it that every detail from the original luxury hotel built in 1911 has been preserved at the same high standard as when it was built. Even the protruding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeorgeHazard, General Manager at Hotel Majapahit Surabaya, responded to this review

Yes a great property, we keep receiving awards from different associations and we thrive to keep our hotel to the best standards. We are the leading property in Surabaya, as appraised by the most discerned reviewers. George Hazard / General Manager More 

UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We only stayed one night but loved the layout and the colonial architecture. Our rooms around the gardens on the ground floor were massive: huge bed, large bathroom with bath and shower and a sitting room area! Breakfast was a good selection of international and local fare and the dining room itself was a pleasant area although the lack of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeHazard, General Manager at Hotel Majapahit Surabaya, responded to this review

Great review! We are pleased to read that you fell under the charm of our Grande Dame. Try to stay longer next time around... George Hazard / General Manager More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Ive just returned from a 3 night stay at the hotel -resort in the centre of Surabaya from a business trip and I have to say it was excellent The personalized check in and out was ultra professional the room or I should say the grand suite I was allocated was nothing short of beautiful and ultra comfortable & luxurious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeorgeHazard, General Manager at Hotel Majapahit Surabaya, responded to this review

Great review! Thanks! George Hazard / General Manager More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

We wanted to spend a long weekend in Surabaya and found this hotel on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed with the rave reviews. From the moment we walked into the lobby we soon realised that this is the most splendid hotel. If the walls could talk they would have so much to say. The historical significance of this hotel in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GeorgeHazard, General Manager at Hotel Majapahit Surabaya, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased to read that you fell under the charm of our Grande Dame and we hope to see you back soon. George Hazard / General Manager More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

The Majapahit is a historical landmark, well documented and preserved. Service level is good overall but the cleanliness of the rooms could be better. It didn't help that our room was musty and felt damp - faces the courtyard so doesn't get much sun (perhaps airing the room would help). Our family member had a room facing the lawn and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeHazard, General Manager at Hotel Majapahit Surabaya, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take note of your remarks as we are determined to keep improving our service delivery. We hope to catch up when in Surabaya next. George Hazard / General Manager More 

Canggu
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

Went with my parents and we had 2 rooms. Their room was fine but ours was really smelly... a damp smell. The room looked nice but there were hardly any plug sockets (had to plug the kettle on the floor!) and there weren't many extras. My mum accidentally broke a glass in the bathroom and was charged Rp100 000 ($10)..... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeHazard, General Manager at Hotel Majapahit Surabaya, responded to this review

Sorry to read that we didn't manage to please you during your short stay. maybe you could have conveyed your comments while you were at the hotel, so our team would have made endeavoured to make your experience a more memorable one... George Hazard / General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

523 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (478)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (160)
Viewed
Bathroom (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (83)
Viewed
View from room (44)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (25)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
0:10
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (102)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities