We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Grand Candi Semarang

Jl. Sisingamangaraja no. 16, Semarang 50232, Indonesia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Grand Candi Semarang
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Grand Candi Semarang
Hotel Grand Candi Semarang
Hotel Grand Candi Semarang
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    41
    27
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
10
1
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Location: Candi area is a little cooler than Semarang downtown, even the national police academy is also in this area. It is, however, rather out of the way is you need or look for shopping or entertainment areas. The right area if you look for peace and quiet. The Hotel: It's been more than 10 years ago since I first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Hotel is located in Candi beautiful area just about 10 minites from Semarang downtown. The room is spacious, clean and well equipped and function. It served variety of buffet brekfast included in the hotel rate. The service was average.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

stayed here for 2night, love the hospitality from the management. all is good, but the room was not as i expected. i always going to semarang for short holiday (3/4days), and i tried several hotels in semarang. the grand candi's room are smaller than others with the same range of price

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Last visited semarang 2 years. Grand candi was superb back then. My visit this time can be said to be rather disappointing. Bellboy are idling around near the front door so we have to carry luggage all by ourself. Non-smoking room has smell of smoke and the hotel's housekeeping seemingly to busy to pick up the phone. Food was normal,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrandCandiHotel, Director of Marketing Communications at Hotel Grand Candi Semarang, responded to this review

Dear Bapak Steven, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important and allows us to continuously improve our services. Refer back to your last experience, we are sorry that you had unsatisfied both on our services and food. We have investigated all and those were not... More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

I stayed for two nights in this hotel to attend a workshop. It is the right choice to choose this hotel cause it only takes 5 minutes driving from the hotel to the workshop venue at Indonesian National Police Academy. The deluxe room with twin beds is spacious enough equipped with comfortable bed and clean bed sheet, cable TV and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrandCandiHotel, Director of Marketing Communications at Hotel Grand Candi Semarang, responded to this review

Dear Ibu Mommydelisha, Thank you for sharing you recent experience at Grand Candi Hotel Semarang and for highlighting the many unique aspects of our facilities and services that made your stay more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and to providing you with yet another memorable experience with us. Kindest Regards, Dodit Agus More 

Magelang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

I spent 3 nights in this hotel and found no complaint. Pros: friendly and polite staffs, luxury and spacious lobby with sofas, strong shower with good temperature, good air condition, comfortable bed, spacious and quiet room, near to local cafes and stores, free 2 bottles of mineral water, free coffee and tea, electric kettle, hairdryer, standard toiletries, various breakfast menus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jakarta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

I stayed a few nights with my family, occupying three rooms in one floor. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and relatively new. The reception was also pretty helpful in providing us rooms with connecting door. One thing I feel the need to point out was how terrible their breakfast was. The Indonesian food selection was good, but their more western... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Poor management , decide to hire trainees who don't understand anything . Swimmingpool service so slow . Takes a long time to order something . Telephone pickup girl is more stupid then a work . Doesn't understand anything . Breakfast tables are not provided with knifes .... Already 1 month ... How bad ... Nobody sees this ? I wonder... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GrandCandiHotel, Director of Marketing Communications at Hotel Grand Candi Semarang, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important and allows us to continuously improve our services. We are really sorry to read your last bad experience with our services. We are considering your comment on the hotel services in order to improve it in... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

We stayed there for 4 nights...they picked us up at the airport by a friendly driver and on our arrival at the hotel the staff are very friendly welcome...The hotel and rooms are clean...And they also provide shuttle service for tourism around Semarang area, just tell them where you want to go and they will ready to take you. Dont... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GrandCandiHotel, Director of Marketing Communications at Hotel Grand Candi Semarang, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing the happiness at Grand Candi - The Gallery Hotel We are completely focused on ensuring the comfort and satisfaction of our guests. We value your opinion and we always do our best to make you happy. We look forward to welcoming you back in the next visit. Once again thank you to spend your time by... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

The hotel houses a number of expatriates and we were one of them. The rooms looked over the Semarang mountains. Service is always good. We looked forward to the poolside barbecue and the nightly performances at the lobby. The hotel has the best tasting chocolate cakes in Semarang. While this hotel is pricey, it is worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GrandCandiHotel, Director of Marketing Communications at Hotel Grand Candi Semarang, responded to this review

Thank you for having chosen Grand Candi - The Gallery Hotel on your recent stay in the gateway to Central Java. We are glad to know that we were able to make you happy during your stay and the standard of our service met to your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the next visit. Once again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay