We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa

4.5 of 5 Jalan Raya Kedewatan, P.O. Box 7, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    119
    37
    34
    24
See reviews for
97
497
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (769)
  • Mar-May only
    (185)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (230)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (216)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (138)
All months
Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

On arrival it was clear by the expression on the receptionist face that we were Not expected and after a lengthy wait for our room to be cleaned we were escorted to our room. Not a hotel for young children or elderly people , although one can request a buggy to take you to your room. Hotel looks good but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had our wedding here. It was beautiful and memorable! Couldn't thank enough all the staffs in the hotel that helped us to make our day as well as our stay enjoyable and beautiful! It is a memory that will last a life time! Special thanks to the Sales Manager Dian for going above and beyond to make sure our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa, responded to this review

Dear Veneas W, First of all, allow us once again to congratulate you and to thank you for choosing Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa to organize your wedding. It is a pleasure to know that you had a fantastic time while staying with us and your positive comments, especially on our team and Dian are highly appreciated. Thank... More

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We celebrated our 7th wedding Anniversary at Kupu Kupu Barong Lobby Pond. It was amazing, romantic and magical. The food was delicious, the server was very friendly and the set up was beautiful. Too bad we couldn't stayed at the resort at that time, we tried to do a reservation online but the date was not available.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa, responded to this review

Dear underwaterangel, It was a pleasure to have you celebrating your 7th wedding anniversary with us, although for a short time. I am glad you enjoyed our twilight dinner which is such a unique and unforgettable dinning experience. We are facing high occupancy since few months and we have recently undertaken renovations of our Villas which limit our availability. I... More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed her just for a couple of nights whilst we were travelling around Bali. We got a room in their new jungle block, which was a bit further back from the main resort, but that's no inconvenience....you get breakfast in the roof top restaurant of that block & there's a pool up there too (not huge & only a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa, responded to this review

Dear charliebubs9, Thank you for your recent stay at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa and for taking your time to write a great review. I am glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and your positive comments, especially on our team are highly appreciated and I will make sure to share with the rest of the... More

Traralgon, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really enjoyed my stay here. Accommodation was really great, food lovely, staff full of smiles & very helpful, spa great and the surroundings were just lovely. Breakfast was included in our booking, and it was both plentiful and nice food with plenty of variety. It is quite a distance from the Ubud, but they provide a shuttle bus every hour... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa, responded to this review

Dear Julie G, Thank you so much for your great review. I am delighted that you had a great time at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa. We sincerely appreciate your positive comments related to our accommodation, our food and most importantly our staffs. Your constructive feedback on the other hand is much appreciated. We were indeed running full... More

Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you like raining forest, you cannot avoid to be here! Everything is well arranged, service is perfect, you have a dedicated guy that you can call anytime for everything you may need. Restaurant inside is having a very good and high quality menu, food is well presented at the table. You have also tea-time in the afternoon. There are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sauroparrini, Thank you for your recent stay at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa and for taking time to write a review. I am ever so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and your positive comments, especially on our team are highly appreciated. I will make sure to share with the rest of the team to... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The resort uses the l'occitane name to promote itself as a luxury resort. This is NOT the case. Pros: - low price; good if you're on a tight budget but want something nicer than a backpackers place - breakfast table view of the jungle - There is one staffmember who was genuinely nice and worth mentioning, his name is Rommie... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jessica788, I am very saddened to read your review and to learn that your stay didn't meet your expectations. I can certainly agree that some of the areas could have been handled more pro efficiently and more professionally. Of course, I can only express my most sincere apologies for all the shortfalls you have experienced while staying with us.... More

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived here for 4 nights recently staying in an Ayung River Club Villa, upon our arrival there was no room put aside for us and we were quite annoyed considering it was meant to be a 5 star resort. The manager who I forget his name fixed the mess up and accomodated us very well, made us feel very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Paparazzi81, Thank you for taking time to write a review and for choosing Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa and for your recent stay in Ubud. I am saddened your experience such a disappointment upon your arrival. We have been investigating and put an action plan together so this situation does not reoccur in future. I however... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Deficient across many areas. It promotes itself as a 5 star resort but the service and facilities are very sub par - mixed up reservation - wifi not working in room - no hot water in room - rooms open for guests but you can see that construction hasn't finished - room service came into room without knocking - transport... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa, responded to this review

Dear vve007, Thank you for having taken the time to share your comment with the other travelers. I regret that you did not spend an unforgettable stay conform as what you were expecting at Kupu Kupu Barong. It is true that we facing the hot water problem since our hot water tank was leaking and fixed already, concerning the Wi-Fi,... More

Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a River view villa and it was sensational! The view was amazing and it was very private, which we wanted. Bathtub and the outdoor shower are great for couples. The villa itself was exceptional. When we arrived, there were rose petals on our bed, fresh fruit was left on the table. Our butler showed us around and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa, responded to this review

Dear MajaDulic, Thank you very much for your kind comment! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Kupu Kupu Barong and that you liked your villa and its view. It is very important to us also that you did appreciate our services; we accord a huge importance to our guest satisfaction. We hope to welcome you again during... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa

Address: Jalan Raya Kedewatan, P.O. Box 7, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas And Tree Spa
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Hotel Ubud
Kupu Barong Hotel Tree
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa Ubud, Bali

664 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (638)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (111)
Viewed
Room/suite (146)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
3:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
View from room (38)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Other (223)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay