We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Surya

Hotel website
S20/51, A-5, | Varuna Bridge, Varanasi 221002, India
Special Offer
Day at Aarna Spa
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Surya
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Surya
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    190
    85
    43
    35
See reviews for
96
150
57
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (467)
  • Mar-May only
    (154)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (91)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (147)
All months
Ranchi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed in the hotel with my boyfriend just one night but it was the worst thing I could have done in my life. As it is supposed to be a high standard hotel, i left a considerable amount of money in the room before I went out to roam around the city. I put the money in my glasses... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, responded to this review

I am sorry to read your review and go through this incident with you again. At the time, we were very cooperative in trying to resolve this situation. We did our best to find out what happened while you were here. We are very fortunate to have a housekeeping team we trust and support. The staff responsible for your room... More 

Stafford
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
44 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An oasis of calm in a noisy city, which despite the modernisation and upgrading being carried out, proved to be peaceful. From arrival to departure the wonderful staff contributed to a wonderful visit. The restaurant and bar provide quality food served in a timely manner and reasonably priced. If there was something that stood out above everything else, it would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. We are happy to hear that you were comfortable during your stay. We are glad that our staff made your stay memorable and you chose to share your experience with others. We hope you will visit us again. Thank you. More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Restaurant was fantastic, Great food served by friendly staff. Well maintained swimming pool was also a massive bonus. We had noise from refurbishment but it wasnt too bad, as this has to be done sometime and we were there at end of season. Definetely recommended for stays up to a few days.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our upgrading didn't disturb you while you were here. I'm glad we could change a room to one that you preferred more. Many people actually enjoy having a room next to our mango tree, especially now that the tree is in bloom and the... More 

Mullumbimby, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived late in the afternoon after a long 10 hour drive from Lumbini in Nepal. The rooms were not the biggest, but were clean. The bathroom needed remodeling. After having a shower, the entire floor of the bathroom was wet, so if you wanted to use the toilet, you had to walk over the wet floor. The rest of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with our future guests. You will be happy to note that since you stayed with us in March, we have started room renovations to address the issues you mentioned. We look forward to having you stay with us when you return to Varanasi. Thank you. More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Together with my daughters were at the beginning of April Heritage Hotel in during renovations, which we were not told before booking and noise harms guests. An outstanding restaurant, excellent food at reasonable prices and excellent service. We also used the spa. Recommended for anyone who comes to rituals in the river Ganga after treatment relaxing massage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and recommendations. We are grateful that you chose to stay with us and hope you will return to visit us again. Thank you. More 

New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel for 2 days.The hotel is easily reachable from all the prominent places.The rooms are spacious,both food and service are good. All this is available at an affordable price.Needs to be booked in advance during peak season

Was this review helpful? Yes
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to having you at the hotel again. More 

DELHI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed here for two days and one Night. we reached here on 11th April 2015 noon and check out on 12th April. we stayed here in room no. 209 near lift. Over all this room was very good. good quality of linen.Food was amazing. Breakfast was very good. Over all our stay was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are happy to hear that you were happy and especially enjoyed our restaurant. We hope you will visit us again. Thank you. More 

New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed at Hotel Syria before and this time I brought my parents. They enjoyed it just as much as I thought they would. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful with arranging all the sites we needed to cover while visiting Varanasi. A special thank you to C-Lal in the restaurant with helping us with our special food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, responded to this review

Thank you for coming back to stay with us. We area very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff made it special for you. We look forward to having you here again. More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel Surya despite having a beautiful facade is in fact a terribly run establishment. 1)the wifi is awful, and you have to pay 150 rupees per person per day. Why? 2) the staff seem to think it's appropriate to charge you whatever they like instead of what the menu says because they chose to use top shelf liquor without informing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear about your complaints and that you were unsatisfied staying with us. It would have been helpful for us to handle these issues while you were in the hotel, rather than after you left. If there was a misunderstanding with your order at our bar, concerning what drink you had, one of our managers would have been... More 

Travelers are raving about these Varanasi hotels

Pretoria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Set back from the main road with a lawn between the accommodation wing and restaurant/pool area. This was our second stay the hotel. We were impressed with the recent renovations in the reception area. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Food is top quality and restaurant has a comprehensive menu including local and western dishes. Breakfast spread is adequate. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to hear that you have returned to stay with us. That is the best compliment for us, when our guests come back to stay with us again. We are glad that you have taken full advantage of our services and have found them to be enjoyable. We look forward to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

222 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (193)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities