We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 57 Varanasi hotels

Palace on Ganges

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B-1/158, Assi Ghat, Varanasi 221002, India
Hotel amenities
Palace on Ganges
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palace on Ganges to your Saves list
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in Varanasi
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Jill R North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    91
    84
    37
    31
See reviews for
32
116
34
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (275)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (110)
All months
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Situated on Assi Ghat, at one end of the ghats, the hotel is well positioned especially as our guided tour began with the dawn ceremony on this ghat (an incredible experience). We were first shown to the 'Jodpur' room at the back - beautifully done but window 'looked' onto wall 18 inches away. So asked for upgrade to one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gorakhpur, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We Planned to spend a Night in Varanasi and found out about this Nice Property on the Banks of Ganges, at Assi Ghat. However, this place was not what it seemed from outside. Its a Heritage property and I can understand if Rooms are Small, but how can we excuse a Hotel Charging more than $100 a night providing us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed two nights at this place while visiting Varanasi. Location is good and hotel is reasonably clean. The only thing we did not like was when we asked for a supermarket close by staff was not helpful and claimed that they were not allowed to talk to us about nearby places as management would not approve. We found a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
binu_10, General Manager at Palace on Ganges, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Palace on Ganges! Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and sharing your experience on this forum. Indeed, the location of our property has always been appreciated by our patrons as it adds value to their stay. Your concern regarding the delay in our culinary offerings has been shared with the team in the... More 

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The main plus about this hotel is the location, close to Assi Ghat. It is a "Heritage" style hotel with a nice feel to it. Staff very pleasent and helpful. We had bedroon 203 which only had a small window that opened out into a drain pipe shaft. The bedroom was adequate, but for some reason always felt a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
binu_10, Manager at Palace on Ganges, responded to this review

Thank's for your comments for our hotel and we already note your points in your comments and we will try to make it as soon as possible .please visit again so that we can serve you again More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 via mobile

After reading quite a few ordinary reviews I was spectical about the hotel, but after staying there for two nights I felt some of earlier reviews were a bit harsh on this place. 1 I got an early 6am check in without any fuss. 2. The rooms and bathroom though small were neat and clean and my request for change... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
binu_10, Manager at Palace on Ganges, responded to this review

Dear sir, thank's for your corporation and for your valuable word's for us .please visit again give us honer to serve you again .thank's . More 

San Diego, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015 via mobile

We were so disappointed in this hotel. We paid over 100 dollars a night to stay in a construction zone. The noise was none stop from 8am to 8pm. Bang bang bang! We also didnt have hot water until 5pm everyday. The wifi was unavailable. And the beds were brick hard. We also had a television that didnt work. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
binu_10, Manager at Palace on Ganges, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear sir that sound was only for few day's due to emergency order by goverment but now every thing is good . No construction and no sound but we are so sorry for the problem that you have in our hotel .please visit our hotel again and give a chance to serve you again. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

As we walked into this hotel we were immediately under impressed with the drab faux heritage hotel schtick. The walls and floors were dirty, the art work non existant and the rooms both austere and primitive. We decided to give it the benefit of the doubt due to its proximity to the Ganges, but we quickly learned that the 150... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
binu_10, Manager at Palace on Ganges, responded to this review

Dear Sir , Thanks for your comments for our property .your complain is right but we cant do any thing regarding that noise .as we already inform our all upcoming guest and travel agents for our problem in advance that we have some demolishing work going in our hotel from 2/1/15 to 12/1/2015 that was because the local development authority... More 

New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

We went with some trepidation, having read the many negative reviews here on Tripadvisor, and hoping we'd somehow get lucky. (It has happened with us before, places that have copped a lot of flak have worked for us, a friend recommended this hotel, and it has got some good reviews as well.) I am sorry to say we did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
binu_10, Manager at Palace on Ganges, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank's for your valuable time and words that you gave to our hotel . I like to clear that this property is really a heritage building known as sursand kothi build by sursand royal family before 129 years old anyone can check this from any were and due to heritage building and heritage zone we are not allowed... More 

Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

My husband and I cannot recommend this hotel. The non-smoking room had pillows saturated with the smell of smoke and the vent in the bathroom had a constant stream of the smell of cigarette smoke entering our room. The food was cold for both dinner and breakfasts. Our window looked out onto cement walls on fours sides. So, not much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
binu_10, Manager at Palace on Ganges, responded to this review

Dear sir , Thank's for your valuable comments . we noted your all points and try to solve it as soon as possible . Thank's & Regards Team Pog More 

Brossac, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Many web sites claim all sorts of facilities for this hotel( garden,lift,parking) none of it is true the town of Varanassi is dirty and mostly slums ( an interesting challenge) Returning to the hotel there are ONLY 4 rooms with a view of the river. we had one at the top of the hotel with our own balcony. Having said... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
binu_10, Manager at Palace on Ganges, responded to this review

Dear Sir , Thank's for your valuabe comments for our hotel .if you check our website you can find every things correct . we don't know about other websites that what they are posting on there sites.but your complain is noted down with our team and we will take action soon on those points. Thank's & Regards Team POG More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Palace on Ganges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace on Ganges

Address: B-1/158, Assi Ghat, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palace on Ganges 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palace on Ganges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace On Ganges Varanasi
Palace On Ganges Hotel Varanasi

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (107)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
0:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay