We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 56 Varanasi hotels

Palace on Ganges

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B-1/158, Assi Ghat, Varanasi 221002, India
Hotel amenities
Palace on Ganges
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palace on Ganges to your Saves list
Ranked #30 of 56 Hotels in Varanasi
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014
annalouise4759 Adelaide, Australia
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    89
    82
    36
    31
See reviews for
31
112
34
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (270)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (106)
All months
San Diego, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were so disappointed in this hotel. We paid over 100 dollars a night to stay in a construction zone. The noise was none stop from 8am to 8pm. Bang bang bang! We also didnt have hot water until 5pm everyday. The wifi was unavailable. And the beds were brick hard. We also had a television that didnt work. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
binu_10, Manager at Palace on Ganges, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear sir that sound was only for few day's due to emergency order by goverment but now every thing is good . No construction and no sound but we are so sorry for the problem that you have in our hotel .please visit our hotel again and give a chance to serve you again. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As we walked into this hotel we were immediately under impressed with the drab faux heritage hotel schtick. The walls and floors were dirty, the art work non existant and the rooms both austere and primitive. We decided to give it the benefit of the doubt due to its proximity to the Ganges, but we quickly learned that the 150... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
binu_10, Manager at Palace on Ganges, responded to this review

Dear Sir , Thanks for your comments for our property .your complain is right but we cant do any thing regarding that noise .as we already inform our all upcoming guest and travel agents for our problem in advance that we have some demolishing work going in our hotel from 2/1/15 to 12/1/2015 that was because the local development authority... More 

New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went with some trepidation, having read the many negative reviews here on Tripadvisor, and hoping we'd somehow get lucky. (It has happened with us before, places that have copped a lot of flak have worked for us, a friend recommended this hotel, and it has got some good reviews as well.) I am sorry to say we did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
binu_10, Manager at Palace on Ganges, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank's for your valuable time and words that you gave to our hotel . I like to clear that this property is really a heritage building known as sursand kothi build by sursand royal family before 129 years old anyone can check this from any were and due to heritage building and heritage zone we are not allowed... More 

Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

My husband and I cannot recommend this hotel. The non-smoking room had pillows saturated with the smell of smoke and the vent in the bathroom had a constant stream of the smell of cigarette smoke entering our room. The food was cold for both dinner and breakfasts. Our window looked out onto cement walls on fours sides. So, not much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
binu_10, Manager at Palace on Ganges, responded to this review

Dear sir , Thank's for your valuable comments . we noted your all points and try to solve it as soon as possible . Thank's & Regards Team Pog More 

Brossac, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Many web sites claim all sorts of facilities for this hotel( garden,lift,parking) none of it is true the town of Varanassi is dirty and mostly slums ( an interesting challenge) Returning to the hotel there are ONLY 4 rooms with a view of the river. we had one at the top of the hotel with our own balcony. Having said... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
binu_10, Manager at Palace on Ganges, responded to this review

Dear Sir , Thank's for your valuabe comments for our hotel .if you check our website you can find every things correct . we don't know about other websites that what they are posting on there sites.but your complain is noted down with our team and we will take action soon on those points. Thank's & Regards Team POG More 

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

The room was very nice and we had the only balcony room which gave a view of the Ganges . It was difficult to see the river due to the pollution. We thought it was overpriced, after comparing it to many other hotels across India that were better and cheaper. The dining room was in the basement and the roof... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
binu_10, Manager at Palace on Ganges, responded to this review

Thank's for your valuable comment's .regarding price issue we want to say that there are several sight's who book our hotel in difrent prices so at which price you book our hotel we don't know.but we think about it thanks . More 

Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

The Palace On Ganges is situated on Assi Ghat, a great location. However, I'm not sure how many rooms actually have a view of the Ganges. The first room we were shown was above a bellowing air conditioning unit; tiny, but with a big view of the river off the stairway leading up to the door. You had to keep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
binu_10, Manager at Palace on Ganges, responded to this review

Thank's for your comments for our hotel .please visit again More 

Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

I didn't see neither the palace nor the Ganges, but an old room named Gujarat whose only window faced next building a few feet away. Not even a ray of light came in a week, just a weak shining. The same goes for fresh air. At this price range -around 5000 rupees per day- I expect a decent locker but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Though we did not find to many issues with cleanliness and service the rooms are small and with some having no windows sight seeing is a full day affair which could be hard in the heat. We were told that the hotel is being upgraded as we found that with no tea and coffee service in the room we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
binu_10, Manager at Palace on Ganges, responded to this review

Thank's for your comments for our hotel .we are renovating our roof top restaurant .cover whole restaurant and air conditioned with in one month. now we tea and coffee maker in our all rooms . More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Localities are top class. Servants in brown coats very friendly and helpful. Given the price level on this hotrl (10000/n) I didn't the followig: Internet was free but Wifi not, to get on line with your device you must pay rs 400/24h. Connected it showed that the line is veery slow. I used my expenive roaming mobile instead. I forgot... More 

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
binu_10, Manager at Palace on Ganges, responded to this review

Thank's for your comments for our hotel .we are renovating our roof top restaurant .cover whole restaurant and air conditioned with in one month. now we tea and coffee maker in our all rooms . and for the view rooms we have different tariff if any one need view room then they have to book that room . More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Palace on Ganges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace on Ganges

Address: B-1/158, Assi Ghat, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palace on Ganges 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palace on Ganges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace On Ganges Varanasi
Palace On Ganges Hotel Varanasi

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (107)
Viewed
0:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay