We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ram Bhawan Kautilya Society Residence

Certificate of Excellence
D 20/21, Munshi Ghat | Old Varanasi, Varanasi 221001, India
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ram Bhawan Kautilya Society Residence
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ram Bhawan Kautilya Society Residence
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    110
    24
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
25
56
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (142)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Utrecht Province, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

We loved our stay of 3 nights in the Ram Bhawan residence, really want to recommend this to everybody. The staff was extremely helpfull and friendly, the room (and actually the whole accomodation) was beautifull and extremely clean. Breakfast and lunch are included, nice moments around the lunchtable with the other guests, great food. This place is an oasis in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
103 hotel reviews
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Visited a few years back. Return visit and still impressed. Building has the great atmosphere of a sympathetic renovation. Rooms great. Breakfast and (super) lunch included should you wish. Well run place representing good value for money. Ghat location perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nantes, France
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
129 hotel reviews
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

A huge disappointment. I guess it all depends on who stays there. The house was mainly occupied by a group of noisy and not really friendly Indian architecture students and some American undergrads. I ran away from it after one night and would not necessarily recommend it. Not so well located either.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
faustoaarya, Public Relations Manager at Ram Bhawan Kautilya Society Residence, responded to this review

Dear Member, We are sorry to hear you were displeased by your stay at Ram Bhawan. The Kautilya Society and The Varanasi Heritage Foundation both have offices in Ram Bhawan and due to their work of preserving the heritage of the city they host study trips and university exchanges with universities in India and abroad. You happened to stay with... More 

New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

I satayed in there for 10 days from the last days of december to some days in Jaunary. I went there only for five days but at the end the mystic of varanasi and the good enviroment of the hostel convinced me to stay longer. I have been in quite a lot hostels and hotels in India and this palce... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mumbai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

I stayed at Kautilya in Sept 2014. It is a traditionally structured house which gives it a different feel. The top floors are so quaintly kept with a swing, self use kitchenette, terrace and all that ...it feels like home. I met some very interesting ladies here as well. A satvic environment is maintained with shoes being kept downstairs, only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

I really loved the experience with Kautilya Society Residence. Good staff, food and energy. If I go back to Varanasi I will stay with them. I think its a little bit hard to find the hostel, but you can ask the local people about the localisation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

I stayed 3 nights and felt very comfortable in the hostel. Nice people clan rooms hot showers that really work. If you want ,you can prepare your own breakfast. Also rooftop place invites for relaxing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Coming from New Zealand, where the backpackers and hostels can beat hotel standards of many countries, I know what a good hostel is when I see one. This hostels isn't the cheapest in the area, can cost multiples of others in the area, but still by western standards, it's cheap. The best thing I find about this hostel is it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

This was my first visit to India. If I had not stayed at Kautilya, I doubt I would have stayed in Varanasi for 6 weeks. From the minute I began enquiring to eventually booking my stay (initially 3 months but had to shorten) with emails back and forth with Fausto I could tell that I was going to love it.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

My first time in this side of India, my first time in Varanasi: which best place could I have ever chosen? Kautilya Society is absolutely special and unique as Varanasi itself. People working there are very gentle and helpful. It is located in the old city, not easy to reach, but a taxi pick-up service can be organized. I really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay