We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 71 Ooty hotels

Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gorishola Road,, Ooty 643001, India
Hotel amenities
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sinclairs Retreat Ooty to your Saves list
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014
Nikkhiljain Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    83
    36
    19
    20
See reviews for
114
75
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (237)
  • Mar-May only
    (102)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
There are newer reviews for Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
See the most recent reviews
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Nicely maintained place with exceptional food provided. Located at the peak of the mountain and has good aerial view. The front desk gave me all the relevant information in regards to sight seeing. Special mention about two guys at the reception named Hithay & Kushal. Good job done guys. Keep it up. My stay was mesmerizing because of them. Only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Nikhil, Thank you for such a positive review posted on the TripAdvisor website. We do appreciate your comments and I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and happy to hear your special mention of Hithay and Kushal. Unfortunately, we do not have a swimming pool, but we hope you checked out Tic Tac Toe... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Was with my wife on a quick break. A hotel with a beautiful romantic & scenic view, humble and helpful staff, definitely recommended for stay. Good food but a little expensive. Nevertheless a very comfortable stay!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Sandesh, It's wonderful to hear that you have mentioned us as one of the best properties in Ooty, and we thank you for choosing Sinclairs whilst your stay in Ooty. Thank you for taking the time out to post this review and for your positive comments regarding the good food and our hospitality. Regards, Balaji Royal More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Me, my husband and our daughter aged 6 + years stayed in room 327 from 9th to 11th August 2014. Check in took almost 45 minutes and we were very tired as it was after a long journey from Mysore. On the first night itself, the heater in the room broke around 2.30 a.m. and we informed housekeeping department. One... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Senaratne, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor, after your recent stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty. I am very sorry to hear that you faced so many inconveniences whilst spending your holiday with us and sincerely apologise for the trouble caused. We generally do not have heating issues, and since the heater was not... More 

Salem, Tamil Nadu, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I went alongwith my wife and daughter. A very nice place to stay. Hotel was clean and the view from the room is very good. They provided a heater which was really comforting. Buffet breakfast was nice. Overall a nice place to stay especially for couples.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Nagaraja, I am very happy to see your positive comments, and thank you for sharing this with the Tripadvisor community. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast. I hope you also spent time at our entertainment area - Tic Tac Toe, which is one of the highlights of our hotel! Tic Tac Toe is a... More 

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Visited this property in first week of Aug. And its not a value for money hotel. Overpriced in every sense. Cons: 1)Virtually no WiFi, as it doesn't work most of time 2)Food very average types. 3)Problems with shower in the bathroom 4)Location of hotel is difficult to access. U won't get an auto from or near the hotel and u... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Anil, It is very disappointing to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay with us, and I am extremely sorry for all the inconveniences that you faced. Our wi-fi does work most of the time, however at times there could be a router issue. It is surprising to hear that you didn't enjoy the food at our... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Its a really sin to book a room in Sin(clairs) Retreat. Stinking lobby, room is not properly cleaned and food is too costly with decent taste. We visited last week of july 2014, had worst experience till this date.

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Hi Umesh, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that you didn't have a memorable holiday experience with us. We have noted your complaints and are working to make our hotel better. We hope you will visit us once again, and leave with a hassle-free experience. Regards, Balaji Royal More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Take a room facing the mountains from were you can view the excellent city top view,this is the highlight of this place ...Fantastic location, service, good food,comfort stay, nice ambience and Helpful staff, what else you can ask for, looking forward to visit again!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Manoj, Thank you for choosing Sinclairs whilst your stay at Ooty! I am thrilled to see your five star rating and your appreciation of our location, services, food and hospitality. We do hope that you will visit us very soon. Please do recommend us to friends and family and also join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated... More 

Manama, Al Manamah, Bahrain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I'm a regular visitor to the OOTY Hill Station. I visit every year on my vacation to India and have stayed at various Hotels with 5 Star Standard. This time I chose to stay at "Sinclairs Retreat". OVERALL ITS A NICE HOTEL TO STAY WITH A GOOD RATE! Let me start with the Positives and end with my recommendations: The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Kam Saj, Thank you for your detailed review on Tripadvisor, and for your recommendations too. I am glad that you chose Sinclairs as your option in Ooty. It's very motivating to hear you praise our location, rooms, facilities and hospitality, and your wonderful comments. We hope you had the time to explore the beautiful sightseeing options while you were... More 

Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Good ambience especially restaurant, lobby and common areas but rooms are not up to the mark & in fact poorly maintained. We received good hospitality but rest of the things were below standard. NEGATIVES ....... 1) rooms r too small for this price range & poorly maintained. 2) food is too costly .. a cup of tea ordered from room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Richard, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor after your recent visit to Sinclairs Ooty. It is disappointing to hear that you didn't find our rooms well maintained, we apologise for this and shall look into it. Please note that our food pricing is in par with all other 4 star hotels in Ooty.... More 

Hyderabad, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel has all the amenities that you would expect from a luxurious hotel. The point that would top the list of good things, is the excellent food served, both during breakfast and meals. The chef personally interacts with the guests to make sure everything is good. A few pointers here - The hotel is located a few kilometers away... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Sachin, We thank you for choosing Sinclairs for your stay in Ooty, and for taking the time out to post your review on Tripadvisor. The team at Ooty is so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. Thank you for appreciating our hospitality. Please note that we do have four room categories, and all... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Address: Gorishola Road,, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sinclairs Retreat Ooty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sinclairs Retreat Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty India
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ooty

179 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (145)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (63)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
2:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay