We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 70 Ooty hotels

Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gorishola Road,, Ooty 643001, India
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sinclairs Retreat Ooty to your Saves list
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
71%
Ranked #18 of 70 hotels in Ooty
A recent review
  • Reviews (203)
  • Photos (154)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (82)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    74
    29
    14
    18
See reviews for
95
63
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
See the most recent reviews
Bangalore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel is located in a wonderful location and beautiful open space to spend and play.... But service is not up to the mark. Also seen couple of people coming and complaining about that. People at reception are seen not so welcoming.

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the location of our property. Sinclairs Retreat Ooty offers beautiful views of the Nilgiri Hills and all our guests appreciate this. I was really disheartened to find out that we did not meet your expectations with our service. Please accept my apologies... More

Bangalore, India
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I visited this place along with my family and the experience was not great.The Deluxe Suite had a bad decor,the linen were totally dirty (with lot of hairs and mud) and toiletries were not available.When enquired,they said these were chargeable ! This is too much for the price we paid ..Room Service was pathetic,the tray and the vessels were amazingly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the time and efforts you have taken to post your review with regards to your recent stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty. Please be assured that we are most concerned about the problems you have arisen in your comments and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused you. All your feedback... More

Bangalore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Seeing the images in their website & the write-ups, thought will have a wonderful stay. Though its around 5 kms from city the auto's will charge you min 150/-. Its not near to city so even if you want to take a walk to the market/city you need to shell out 200/- for an auto. Food - Highly expensive, a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience. We were indeed very disturbed about your dissatisfaction in respect to your overall impression of our property. We take great concern of your comments and these incidents are certainly not the image we want to give of Sinclairs Retreat Ooty. Please accept our apologies regarding the... More

Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

There was so much write up about this hotel and we went with high expectations. The rooms are small and the bathroom was smaller. When we booked in the toilets were not clean. There were no towels . Used soaps and shampoos were lying there.The coffee maker unit had no sugar, milk ,coffee sachets,cups , or stirrer. Every morning we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty. Please accepts our sincere apologies for the service shortfalls you experienced during your stay with us. They are certainly not indicative of the standards we aspire to offer all our guests and we will take your comments on board in our... More

Bangalore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Service with a SMILE & very prompt in whatever duties performed by Staff.View is ofcourse breathtaking,Peaceful & superb,Food was also excellent & Chef took extra care of EACH & EVERYONE--which says a lot. Maintenance is needed in a few areas & also the approach road also requires maintainance.An excellent manager who has superb staff.Thank you for making our stay so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is always a pleasure to read our guests’ reviews, especially if they enjoyed their stay as much as you did. Thank you very much for your kind comments, especially the ones about our chef and courteous staff. Although we enjoy reading how much guests appreciate the facilities, the setting and the maintenance of the hotel, it is... More

Hosur, India
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife surprised me with a holiday on my birthday and took me to this hotel in Ooty. I was li'l disappointed on the day we reached. It was about 10 in the morning and the gentleman in the reception was good enough to tell me that the breakfast was closing in 30 mins. So we checked-in and i ordered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, and for taking the time to write your review. It was a pleasure to read through your wonderful review. Please accept our apologies for the delay in room service, and we shall look towards improving the same. Receiving such praise means a... More

Sunshine, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were there for 3 nights. As it was low season, the hotel was quite empty, which was great for us : we had a more comfortable and large room with a view, and received great advice and service from the restaurant chef (a passionnate lover of food and making people happy with his food!), and the hotel manager, with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. From beginning to end it was a pleasure to read it. We are proud of the level of service that we provide, and blessed to have such a wonderful team. It is gratifying to receive such praise, and know that our endeavors are recognized. I will be certain... More

New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is away from the main town area and provides a clean and serene environment to relax. It is very close to the Dodabetta peak, which is one of the best spots in the area. The view from the hotel room overlooking the garden and providing a distant view of the town was good. The people were very friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We really appreciated your review and were very pleased to read how impressed you were with every single aspect of your stay from the setting, to the location and the food. Thank you also for your kind and enthusiastic remarks about our team and especially about Shovan and Utpal. It is rewarding that their genuine friendliness and willingness... More

New Delhi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed for three nights here- 8th to 11th March 2013 and were absolutely thrilled, As far as our stay is concerned it deserves an excellent ranking but I have rated four stars as some of the hotel rooms don't command the fantastic view which this location provides...; An excellent location, renovated rooms, chic dining area and bar, a marvellous... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is always a pleasure to read our guests’ reviews, especially if they enjoyed their stay as much as you did. Thank you very much for your kind comments, especially the ones about our team. Although we enjoy reading how much guests appreciate the location, the rooms and the facilities, it is particularly reassuring and motivating that they... More

Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

A very nice place to stay..I am left with no regrets at all...Great value for money..Resort is situated on the hill and u can get a good view of the ooty. Place is very cleanly maintained and rooms are too impressive..staffs are extremely helpful and it is very easy to commute to ooty as it is not tooo far from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent visit to Ooty. We appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are certainly extremely thrilled to learn that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty. We will share your positive comments with... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Address: Gorishola Road,, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sinclairs Retreat Ooty 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Sinclairs Retreat Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty India

154 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (120)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (54)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
2:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#2 Spa Hotel in Ooty
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enveloped by the clouds at 8000 feet and located exactly where the "Queen of Nilgiris" was discovered, Sinclairs Retreat Ooty is the highest located hotel in South India and unquestionably the best located hotel in Ooty. The hotel has 79 rooms and suites, and two villas with interiors that are modern and charming. The luxurious rooms are equipped with tea/coffee makers and cable TV. The valley view rooms offer stunning views.The resort is equipped with an array of facilities. This includes a Wi-Fi enabled reception area overlooking a three level-landscaped garden, Deluxe, Superior, Premium Suites and Deluxe/Honeymoon suite, conference and meeting facilities; three halls - Regal, The Windsor and The Summit and an open area - The Terrace. Fine dining at Pine n' Petal, a multicuisine restaurant, The Portico, a coffee bar for beverages and snacks, and High Point Bar, a stylish bar and a cool cocktail lounge.The highlight of the property is a vibrant entertainment and recreation zone with indoor badminton, pool table, table tennis, board games, video games, kids play area, library and lounge. Moreover, the hotel comprises of a fitness centre with gym, steam, sauna, and spa. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
79

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer