We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 71 Ooty hotels

Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gorishola Road,, Ooty 643001, India
Hotel amenities
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sinclairs Retreat Ooty to your Saves list
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
sreejit167 Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    85
    39
    20
    24
See reviews for
119
81
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (248)
  • Mar-May only
    (102)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What a location! Great views over the valley and town of Ooty, beautiful gardens.......but I would never go back to this hotel. When we arrived, the rooms weren't ready so we were kept waiting, w/o apology. The lift wasn't working, so we had to walk down 2 floors. There was a terrible sewage smell. Hot water only available between 6.30... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel location is what we liked as from the hotel you get a complete view of Ooty. Their own garden is a place you can feel relaxed any time. Not too far from visiting places. The hotel has good ambiance. The room was good and the facilities were all very good. The food was exceptionally tasty. Overall a worth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed in this property during new year. good : Nice location. bad: Rooms are not like start hotel rooms. Its average There were no proper wifi. Room service is not good Room amenities are not so great New year gala dinner was not organized well, so I have to say I didn't enjoy. No news paper, no mini... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pros: Very good location - near tea museum and away from busy city place, attractions are 10 mins away Rooms are clean and neat Restaurant buffet breakfast had lot of variety and nice dining facility Very good view of Ooty landscape and garden view is good from the room Cons: Lifts doesn't work during 6-11 pm - reason cited was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A picturesque hotel located very close to the tea museum with huge spacious rooms. The drawbacks - the lift doesn't work from 5 pm to 9 pm and there is hot water only from 6-11 in the mornings and evenings. We had been given a room three floors below the lobby and restaurants and with no lift working, it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was first stop in the of our vacation in south of India. It was a really horrible experience. The linen was dirty and bathroom had a leak. The house keeping guys said that since it is a busy season it is possible that they may not have changed the sheets. We had to really yell at the housekeeping staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel after consulting Tripadvisor (The rating previously was better) and looking at past reviews, however were extremely disappointed at the service and quality. First of all, the hotel is not as big as the photographs suggest it to be. It is actually very small. The staff seemed really inexperienced and often didn't even know what they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Abhishek, I would like to apologize for the issue at the restaurant, and since the hotel had almost all the rooms booked, the restaurant seemed crowded and busy. If you would have raised your concerns about the food at the property itself, I am sure we would have customized it according to your liking. I'm sorry for the confusion... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went with family this month.service is worst.rooms are OK OK.food OK.wifi not working.no mobile signal.bathroom shower not working properly.lift not working properly. Reception people won't respond.totallu disappointed with stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Mr Mohan, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience at Sinclairs, and that we failed to meet your expectations. I would like to apologize for the maintenance and upkeep of the bathroom. If you would have raised your concerns about the... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pathetic service, extremely rude staff, horrible service, leakages in rooms, Very disappointing. .. i got stuck in the bathroom for 15 mins the door just wouldnt open. Rooms are smeely .Highly NOT RECOMMENDED.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Nikhil, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripavisor after your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to hear that you did not have a comfortable holiday with us. Upon check in, there was confusion because your wife wanted to stay in the villa, and you wanted a hotel room. However, we accommodated you... More 

Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sinclairs Retreat offers the best view you can expect in Ooty. Fantastic view of the valley just outside the lobby and far away from the traffic and noise. This has a play area for children and good green open space for you to relax.Front Desk and restaurant staff are very courteous. Restaurant has buffet & A la carte for dinner.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Hi Prasanna, We are delighted to read your review, and your positive comments. Thank you for sharing this with the Tripadvisor community. Our kind and hospitable staff are always available to offer any kind of help. Your lovely remarks about the room, views and food is a great motivating factor for us. Sinclairs Retreat Ooty is a perfect hotel to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Address: Gorishola Road,, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sinclairs Retreat Ooty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sinclairs Retreat Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty India
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ooty

180 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (145)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (63)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
2:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay