We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 71 Ooty hotels

Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gorishola Road,, Ooty 643001, India
Hotel amenities
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sinclairs Retreat Ooty to your Saves list
70%
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
srinubhsr Bangalore, India
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    80
    33
    18
    20
See reviews for
107
73
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (228)
  • Mar-May only
    (102)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I am putting review after nearly 1.5 years.We have booked a premium room with Valley view in Feb 2013.The Hotel is little on over price side,so at times you can get disappointed if you are looking for too many facilities. The room is very good with Sofa,TV,nice bath rooms,bed and great view.I have noticed that not all rooms are good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pune, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sinclair is good place to stay and visit again. We enjoyed it thoroughly. Food is excellent & so is the hotel ambience. Apart from the room size, we enjoyed our stay completely. Since there are no lights in the evening there are no lifts so older people should think.

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Pretti, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor after your recent visit to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the stay and the food. Please note that we do have a lift in the hotel, however it may have been non-operational for a while as there was no electricity.... More

Indore, India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pleasant stay overall as TAJ and other properties are not located on Hill top and this is the best pick anybody can opt for. However, You expect way more from a SUITE of any hotel. NILGIRI SUITE didn't turn out the way we assumed. Few Flaws :- 1. 1 whole day lift was non operational 2. no daily News paper... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hyderabad, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is rightly located and very near to Tea Factory, Dodabetta Peak etc. The hotel staff is good. Particularly Restaurant staff is so good and pleasant to talk. You need to ask for Complimentary wi-fi credentials Choose this blindly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Ramkumar, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor after your recent visit to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty. We are very happy to hear you complimenting our hotel and hospitality. Do join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with our offers and promotions. We hope you will recommend us to family and... More

Kochi
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

The Hotel is at a great location , plenty of lawns and kids play area and the view of Ooty is simply awesome. Stayed here for 2 nights, food was really good. They got indoor play area too which is not bad. Room service is quick, really appreciate. I would surely recommend. Drawback is surely the bathroom i found it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Hi Dennis, We absolutely love your five star review! Thank you so much for taking the time out to post this review, and sharing it with the TripAdvisor community. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our open lawns that provide a birds eye view of Ooty township, and our indoor play area - Tic Tac Toe which is... More

Bangalore, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

The property is in a good location but the building is not well kept. The rooms give a feeling of low cost dormitory, paints coming out of the wall, spring protruding from the mattress. White towels are no longer white and even with that they try to optimize the cost - just one towel per room by default. It takes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Chouhan, I'm sorry to hear that your visit to Sinclairs Ooty has been a disappointing experience. We have noted your complaints about the rooms and our service, and shall look towards improving this. Please accept our apologies, and we hope your next visit to our property will be a memorable experience. Regards, Balaji Royal More

Pune, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We went to Ooty and book Sinclair retreat for two days. Location of hotel is perfect, it is near tea factory and one can view whole Ooty from top. We took dinner and breakfast in hotel both time food was good and lavish. I would suggest to take one day only to stay in hotel. Nice surroundings and facility in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Keshar, Thank you for your 5 star review on Tripadvisor and its great to hear that you had a nice stay with us. We are happy to see you sharing your positive comments on this public platform. The tea factory is worth a visit, and I'm glad you enjoyed your time there. This two storied building has been turned... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

we enjoyed r stay.. staff is very helful n frendly.. food is awesum.. rooms ver superb.. i ll recommened dis hotel to all ma frendz n family.. dis hotel offers you eveythng n spa & gym n even play area for kidz.. i juz loved hotel lobby sitouts n garden.. u ll deffinately njoy ur holiday here..

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us, the quality of your accommodation, gym and spa. We hope we can welcome you again and provide you with a memorable experience. Thank you for recommending us to friends and family. Regards, Balaji Royal More

Bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Hotel is good,Food is good but service is lacking.Tips include not to take 1st Floor level rooms,Pick 2nd Floor or 3rd Floor with Valley View with direct rooms.Check rooms during check in before moving

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Promodh, Thanks for sharing your review with the Tripadvisor community! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the food of the hotel. However, it seems you faced issues with the service. I hope you brought this up whilst you were at the hotel itself, that way we would have been able to rectify your issues immediately.... More

Bangalore, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We went as a small group and booked 3 rooms. So all of us had information to share about the experience and unfortunately none of us have very nice things to say about the place. The quality of the rooms was poor. Walls patched up and ugly. The beds were ones you would expect at a cheap motel. Room service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Srini, Thank you for taking the time out to post a review on Tripadvisor, after your recent stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty. It is a shame to hear that you faced inconveniences with our rooms, service, and the bar. It is disappointing to note that your overall experience at the hotel has been under satisfactory. We have taken into... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Address: Gorishola Road,, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sinclairs Retreat Ooty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sinclairs Retreat Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty India

169 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (54)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
2:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay