We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

3.0 of 5 73 Kundah House Road | Fern Hill, Ooty 643 004, India
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    229
    61
    26
    31
See reviews for
331
136
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (586)
  • Mar-May only
    (129)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (142)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (177)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (138)
All months
Pune, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW

Irrespective of approach road leading to hotel , which is pathetic , but worth staying at sterling fernhill. Staff was courteous , well behaved . Sterling Incharge - Mr.Nandi was very kind & supportive. Food quality was real good. I would say never expect too much , as experience differ , enjoy your peaceful stay & relax with nature.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cuttack, India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'm really shocked to read some reviews which point out the remote location of Sterling Resort. Non-members raising this issue is understandable but members raising this question is not acceptable. All sterling properties are located away from the hustle and bustle of the town so that guests have a peaceful stay. That's there USP. So pls don't complain about that.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was after years that we decided to use the membership that we have with Sterling and thus decided on Fern Hill, Ooty. On almost reaching the destination, we figured out that the last stretch of road that leads to the resort was almost like a highway to hell. Our car got completely damaged by the time we reached our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fern hill having a brand name tagged with Sterling resorts is the only reason people visit , but after landing in the resort , soon came to know that its just brand name and nothing else. I am sure experience differ for each person but , when I was waiting in lobby waiting for the room to be allotted ,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Namaste! We appreciate you taking the time to share your review of Ooty - Fern Hill. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused on various accounts during your stay at our resort. We are particularly regretful about the delay in processing your request for refund and we have raised this matter with the Resort Management team at our... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had booked and suite with an partial kitchen. The view was amazing from the hotel rooms. Hotel is on great height It feels like FOG first reaches our hotel and then it deep down to rest of Ooty. Amzing rooms and in rooms facility.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited Ooty during the extended weekend of 24-26th January 2015, with a friend of mine whose family has a membership with Sterling Resorts since many years. We stayed there for 2 days, and throughout our stay, we never got the room keys. The card that we got was not working, and the resort management refused to give us the keys.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Namaste! We appreciate you taking the time to share your review of Ooty - Fern Hill. We are extremely regretful for not being able to deliver a pleasant holiday experience during your stay at our resort. We take all measures to ensure authorized access to rooms and we sincerely apologize for the discomfort you faced in terms of... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrival: Do NOT trust Google map for navigation to this hotel. We had very difficult time finding this place considering that one of the roads was under construction. Roads to this hotel are very poor. Avoid this if you have SUV. Rooms: Rooms were average. Some of them had excellent views. No bath tub and hot water is available at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You will be astonished by the beauty of the resort and the work they are doing to maintain it. Pros: 1. Scenic beauty 2. Good climate 3. Neat room 4. Good restaurant Cons: 1. The reception and restaurant are quite far from most of the rooms and you will have to walk uphill 2. The holiday activity centre is in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good hotel where we can enjoy the beauty of Ooty..Very polite staff. Breakfast buffet is very good..Specially loved the evening activities like bone fire and some games conducted by them..Good view from the room no 1117. Overall we had a very good experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spend xmas at this hotel and we enjoyed our time there. Beautiful view and the hotel was nicely decorated with all kinds of xmas stuff in typical Indian over the top style. Our room was big, clean and for us a nice bit of luxury during our trip in South India. Breakfast was very good, with lots of Indian... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: 73 Kundah House Road | Fern Hill, Ooty 643 004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Fernhill Hotel Ootacamund
Sterling Resorts Ooty
Days Inn Fernhill
Days Inn Ootacamund
Sterling Resort Ooty
Ootacamund Days Inn
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort India
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
#11 Family Hotel in Ooty

337 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (330)
Viewed
Room/suite (73)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (65)
Viewed
View from room (64)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay