We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 36 Varkala hotels

Hindustan Beach Retreat

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Papanasam Beach | Janardhanapuram PO, Varkala 695141, India
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hindustan Beach Retreat to your Saves list
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com HotelTravel.com Travelocity
and 7 more sites!
79%
Ranked #13 of 36 hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Padmanabhan Cochin
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    56
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
28
53
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cochin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a fantastic place for a nice break. Very nice location-bang on the sea. You can watch the sea from the restaurant and rooms. The tortoise theme is interesting. Proximity to the Janardana Swamy Temple (which has many minor temples around it) is an added attraction. Access is easy but the location is quiet. Quality of food is very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater Manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Reading the other reviews I don't know where we went wrong? 2 nights in the Hindustan Beach Retreat was too long… Problems; Initially we were offered one room by mistake for a party of three adults. Dirty bath towel. Torn bed sheets (and curtain in the restaurant), Pigeon droppings on balcony, all night arc lamp outside room beaming down on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hindretreat, Front Office Manager at Hindustan Beach Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We had gone through the complains posted by you but not really accept all the things mentioned in the review. For example we never use torn sheets and dirty towels in our hotel but in the review it is mentioned that torn sheets and dirty towels were provided in the room. Hence request you to mention your name... More

Kottayam, India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed there only one night at this beautiful place ( wish It could be more). Hindustan resorts stand like the cliffs of Varkkala and the view from the rooms are like we can touch the waves with our eyes without wetting our feet. The staffs wear very friendly and the food served was delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a party of six visiting the Hindustan Hotel Varkala for four weeks over the Christmas period 2013/14. It was our tenth Christmas time holiday in India and we have to admit one of the best. From the staff, hotel rooms, the location and food it was more than acceptable. We occupied executive rooms which were spacious and well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We have booked the Hindustan beach resort for one night on the way to Kanyakumari. We have expected a nice little resort on some remote beach. To our surprise we found out that the hotel is sitting on a holly beach, and from your balcony you can see in the morning the ritual of people coming to priests who set... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We made the mistake of listening to our Indian travel agent, who booked this hotel for us. It is an over priced, tacky and dirty place. We were booked into one of their 'executive' rooms. The first one we were shown was dirty and the bathroom had a terrible smell. Typical of its management, we had to wait over four... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Only hotel in Varkala right on the beach. Ok breakfast buffet. A/C only has 1 speed/setting so it is either to cold or too hot. Great view out all windows but don't let them put you on 4th floor because windows coveted in bird droppings... Really gross. Also, they will turn off the wifi every night around 8 or 9pm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This has a beach location ideal for local shops and restaurants and easy for tut tuts! However facilities do not include tea and coffee making in room, no hair dryer and the shower room it self was extremely small. Although there was a lovely sea view from the room there was no balcony. Breakfast was ok but not a huge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at the Hindustan for several days and enjoyed it very much. We had a ground floor room, which was very spacious, clean and quiet. There is a small swimming pool which we enjoyed and it's just over the fence to the beach where the Hindu ritual of 'poojah' took place in the mornings. It was very interesting. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huddersfield, England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were given room 404 a Double executive room . This room is very large, spacious and airy with large windows overlooking the beach, an alcove with a chaise longue and a small balcony. The double bed is very lage and comfortable. The room also has a table, two comfortable chairs and a desk. The room is equipped with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Hindustan Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hindustan Beach Retreat

Also Known As:
Hindustan Beach Retreat Hotel
Hindustan Beach Retreat Varkala
Hindustan Beach Retreat Varkala, Kerala
Address: Papanasam Beach | Janardhanapuram PO, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#8 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hindustan Beach Retreat 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varkala. The new tourist destination in God’s Own Country, Kerala. It is 55 km North of Thiruvananthapuram accessible by road NH-47 via Kallambalam. By train, Varkala is a station from where a short drive by taxi will get you to Hindustan Beach Retreat. Hindustan Beach Retreat is a venture of the reputed Hindustan Textiles Group based in Kannur since 1939. We have 27 well appointed rooms each one with a spectacular view of the Arabian Sea giving you the luxury of the solitude that you can enjoy with the sounds of nature. · Accommodation o Standard Room – 12 (6 king size + 6 twin bed) o Executive Room (Balcony) – 12 (10 king size + 2 twin bed) o Suite Room (Balcony + Living Room) – 03 (3 king size) · Food o Nothin’ Doing – The Restaurant near the Pool Side o Wait’n Watch - Coffee Shop on the Roof Top o Slow motion – The Bar. o Room service - 24 Hrs.· Swimming Pool with Jacuzzi (costumes a must) · Kid’s Pool · 100 Seater Conference Hall · Turtle - The Souvenir Shop · Travel Desk · Beautiful Lawn · Wi-fi Internet · Television/Cable · Mini-bar· Telephone · Library · Turtle Bay - The Spa · Coffee maker – in Suite & Executive rooms · Doctor on call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Venere, MakeMyTrip and Otel so you can book your Hindustan Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hindustan Beach Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.