We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 39 Varkala hotels

Hindustan Beach Retreat

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Papanasam Beach | Janardhanapuram PO, Varkala 695141, India
Hotel amenities
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hindustan Beach Retreat to your Saves list
80%
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Varkala
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
SupriyoChakraborty Kolkata
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    61
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
34
54
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (130)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Kolkata
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I spent two days ( 2nd and 3rd October, 2014 ) at Hindustan Beach Retreat, Varkala with my wife and daughter. This hotel with a splendid view of Arabian Sea in front with all its nature and greens on the south cliff, made our Varkala trip memorable. Rooms are perfectly maintained with always smiling and sincere staff members. Food quality... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mumbai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was good, just at the varkala beach.The Rooms were excellent. The major problem was, the Rooms booked were not provided in time due to which our time was wasted. The same was made available much later. Though the hotel upgraded one room as a compensation for not able to provide at check-in time i.e 12.00 noon. The hotel... More

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

5 star tariffs but 3rd class amenities. Misguiding images on internet and statement of hotel "right on the beach"....in fact the small beach infront of the hotel is not usable as its been used to conduct ceremonies on the departed souls...called Sraadh (thidhi etc.)....so staying on the beach gives you a feeling of staying next to a grave yard. Smelly... More

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, and found it pleasant. the staff were courteous, particularly the pool attendant . Rooms were clean , and the food good value and tasty. There is currently a refurbishment and the outside front of the hotel has scaffolding up which mars the sea view, and encourages pigeons which can be a problem. No balconies... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Picked this one for a group get together..18 adults and 6 children. The location is excellent I'd say..just on the beach! You get a good view of the sea from the room. The rooms are spacious and was well maintained. The front office executives are courteous and friendly. The food was so..so...nothing great about it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rituvík
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights as a family in April. Great rooms, clean, a good restaurant with a very good view to the life on the beach. The staff were friendly.The children enjoyed the pool. Varkala beach can also be recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cochin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a fantastic place for a nice break. Very nice location-bang on the sea. You can watch the sea from the restaurant and rooms. The tortoise theme is interesting. Proximity to the Janardana Swamy Temple (which has many minor temples around it) is an added attraction. Access is easy but the location is quiet. Quality of food is very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater Manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Reading the other reviews I don't know where we went wrong? 2 nights in the Hindustan Beach Retreat was too long… Problems; Initially we were offered one room by mistake for a party of three adults. Dirty bath towel. Torn bed sheets (and curtain in the restaurant), Pigeon droppings on balcony, all night arc lamp outside room beaming down on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
hindretreat, Front Office Manager at Hindustan Beach Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We had gone through the complains posted by you but not really accept all the things mentioned in the review. For example we never use torn sheets and dirty towels in our hotel but in the review it is mentioned that torn sheets and dirty towels were provided in the room. Hence request you to mention your name... More

Kottayam, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed there only one night at this beautiful place ( wish It could be more). Hindustan resorts stand like the cliffs of Varkkala and the view from the rooms are like we can touch the waves with our eyes without wetting our feet. The staffs wear very friendly and the food served was delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We were a party of six visiting the Hindustan Hotel Varkala for four weeks over the Christmas period 2013/14. It was our tenth Christmas time holiday in India and we have to admit one of the best. From the staff, hotel rooms, the location and food it was more than acceptable. We occupied executive rooms which were spacious and well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hindustan Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hindustan Beach Retreat

Address: Papanasam Beach | Janardhanapuram PO, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hindustan Beach Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hindustan Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hindustan Beach Retreat Varkala, Kerala

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (80)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay