We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Ambadi

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Ambadi Junction, Thekkady 685536, India
Offers & Announcements
Onam Special Offer
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Ambadi
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    33
    74
    44
    21
    11
See reviews for
73
64
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (183)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

Stopped here a couple of nights during an Exodus tour of Southern India. We were in an upper floor bungalow with en-suite. The room was very dark and basic, with the hardest beds in the world! the bathroom was sparse with no hot water. You have to keep all the doors and windows firmly shut to stop the mosquitos and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

I think was the most expensive hotel our group stayed in- as a charity group, we were disappointed a cheaper hotel was not available. As it was in the hills, it was rather cold at night- it was worth asking for blankets and extra pillows. the beds were quite hard. there was drinking water provided. In the morning you had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

We really appreciate your kindness in spending your valuable time in writing your review about Ambadi in Trip advisor. First of all we are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and to note that we were unable to provide you with a memorable experience. Your feedback is extremely valuable and helps us improve our services. The... More 

Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Bungalo style my room high beautiful amongst the trees garden views, no AC in rooms an only, timbers finished room, clean bathroom , good restaurant WiFi in comon areas not in rooms, staff were friendl

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

Thank you for writing on Trip Advisor and for sharing your wonderful review with us. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our accommodation, hospitality, services and facilities and we were able to par your expectations. As per the climatic condition, AC is not necessary at Thekkady. It is the encouraging feedback from patrons like you which keeps... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Hotel is well designed with wooden theme everywhere. However the location of the hotel is at market place opposite to what I thought it would be in forest area as it is close to Periyar Tiger Reserve.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

Thank you for your time taken to share your review with the Trip Advisor community. We are delighted to know that you had an amazing experience. Your compliments and appreciation of our services indicate that we have succeeded in delivering a good balance of comfort, luxury and efficiency to you during your stay and I am delighted to note that... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

The rooms given to us were duplex wood house looking!Good concept,but in ordinary condition. Did not like the reception response. Mosquito bite bothered us a lot. In reception customer handling made us feel like if not we ,they will get another customer and it is our luck that we get room there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

We appreciate your kindness in spending your valuable time in writing your review about Ambadi in Trip advisor. First of all please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay at Ambadi The factors causing the inconvenience have been taken note and we assure you that we have taken all necessary measures and actions to... More 

Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Excellent property. I bet you would have never seen like this before. Combination of woods, trees and nature..great food. very quit atmosphere. It was very relaxing...Staff was also very much polite and helpful. Price is also not that high compare to its five star service...!!! GO..Have some fun

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your fantastic review you have shared with the Trip Advisor on your stay with us. It is indeed a matter of joy for us to learn that your stay at the hotel was a good one. We are delighted to note that you found our services the best and it is a motivation from discerning... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Hotel Ambadi was not in our package list & because we reach d a day earlier somehow. Our caring tour manager Mr. George Antony managed us a cottage at Ambadi with nice price & we must confess pretty good rooms than we expected. Highly recommended , a very economical hotel at least when we visited on 30/12/2011

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

We appreciate your kindness in writing your review about Ambadi in trip advisor and we appreciate you for your excellent feedback of Ambadi. We really grateful to you for choosing Ambadi for your stay and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for your wonderful words. Your words will really provide us more inspiration... More 

Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

lovely location- old property, nice restaurant with lots of choices. Food was good- we had four different entrees and everyone enjoyed their choice. The tandoor chicken was not too spicy- very tasty but small portion. The lemon rice was delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

It’s been really pleasing to hear from you that you are enjoyed your stay at Hotel Ambadi We are really thankful to you for sharing your experience in Trip advisor and we thank you for providing opportunities to serve. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the meals at our restaurant”Aditi”. It’s been our continuous endeavor to provide the... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Ambadi looks the business from the outside, nice little cottages with terraces or balconies accessed up and down steps etc but the rooms leave a bit to be desired. Very dark unless you leave the balcony door open, but you can't do that or the monkeys get in! But the beds! My back still aches just thinking about it! I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

Thank you for spending your valuable time for writing your review about Ambadi in Trip Advisor. We here at Ambadi provide our customers an atmosphere of tradition with touch of legacy which gives them a feeling of Kerala’s culture and heritage. As Ambadi is situated nearest to the Periyar wildlife Sanctuary there is always a great chance to explore wild... More 

Travelers are raving about these Thekkady hotels

Nashik, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

This is one of the older properties in Thekkady. But it is very well maintained and managed. There are cottages and few normal rooms. TV is not available in most of the rooms. The supplies in the room are decent and clean. There is lot of wooden furniture used and the theme is quite antique and rustic. We loved the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Hotel Ambadi for your stay and for sharing your wonderful experience about Ambadi in Trip advisor. We are grateful for your encouraging and kind words of praise on our ambience and food at Ambadi. We are really thankful to you for providing an opportunity to serve you and we are happy to hear from you that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

181 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (102)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (79)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (60)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.3 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#13 of 36 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tigers Roare'
Hotel Tigers Roare'
#15 of 36 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peppervine Hotel
Peppervine Hotel
#6 of 36 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#11 of 36 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#22 of 36 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay