We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aranya Nivas KTDC

Kumily, Thekkady 685 536, India
Hotel amenities
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Thekkady
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Alifiyakhan Pune, Maharashtra, India
Add Photo Write a Review

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    49
    110
    54
    28
    14
See reviews for
125
89
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (255)
  • Mar-May only
    (96)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very great place to stay situated in middle of the jungle i saw porcupine, nilgiri langurs, wild boar and deers just in front of hotel room only.Food is lilltle expensive but no other option as we are not allowed to go outside after 5.30 as per the forest department rule..Worth my trip ..must visit nature and animal lovers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-AranyaNivas, Manager at Aranya Nivas KTDC, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your valuable comments and suggestion. We’re glad to know that you had a memorable time staying with us. We assure you that the shortcoming pointed out will be addressed on priority basis. Looking forward for a better business relationship. Assuring our best service always. Warm Regards Arun Peethamabaran Manager, Aranya Nivas More 

Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

At Aranyanivas, we stayed in Room No:116 between 19th and 21st of May 2015. This was a premium category room facing the forest. The room was very spacious, clean with comfy bed. The bathroom was quite big with the latest jaguar fittings. On the whole, I would rate the room to be very good.No A/C in the room though, in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-AranyaNivas, Manager at Aranya Nivas KTDC, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful comments and valuable feedback. We’re glad to know that you had a memorable time staying with us. We look forward to having you at Aranya Nivas, Thekkady in future. Thanks & Regards Arun Pithambaran Manager, Aranya Nivas More 

Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We stayed at Aranya Nivas for 2 nights recently. The hotel is located right on the banks of the Thekkady lake in the midst of forests. It appears to have been recently renovated with new flooring and bathrooms. The hotel is clean and so was the room. The bathroom, though recently redone, was still stinking. The staff was not bad,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-AranyaNivas, Manager at Aranya Nivas KTDC, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable patronage and support to Aranay Nivas Thekkady..Thank you very much for your valuable comments and suggestions. We will seriously look all the points your good self have mentioned . Regarding going for after 6 pm as a resort situated inside the tiger Reserve we some have some limitations .. As per the forest... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 via mobile

Feels exciting staying in the forest however due to monkey problems each and every door and windows needs to be shut all the time which makes the rooms stuffy. The boat safari is skip hop and jump distance from this property. Nothing to do after 5.30 pm as the forest officials do not let you out of the property after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-AranyaNivas, Manager at Aranya Nivas KTDC, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank your for your valuable patronage and support to Aranya Nivas, Thekkady. We are taking this opportunity to thank you for valuable comments and suggestions. We assure you that the shortcomings pointed out will be addressed on priority basis. Looking forward for the best future business relationship... With Kind Regards Arun Peethambaran, Manager, Aranya Nivas Thekkady. More 

australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Stayed for 3 nights, hotel was an older building, but rooms were updated. We stayed in the suite as we wanted airconditioning and were happy there. Swimming pool is frequently visited by monkeys, looking for a drink, restaurant was adequate but not excellent with a buffet every night. After 5.30pm you cannot leave the hotel grounds - maybe for your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-AranyaNivas, Manager at Aranya Nivas KTDC, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank your for your valuable patronage and support to Aranya Nivas, Thekkady. We are taking this opportunity to thank you for valuable comments and suggestions. We assure you that the shortcomings pointed out will be addressed on priority basis. Looking forward for the best future business relationship... With Kind Regards Arun Peethambaran, Manager, Aranya Nivas Thekkady. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Typical Government staff.. who do not wish to work. Cold and soggy food is served and if you insist on fresh serving the staff refuses. Had to argue to get fresh food. Big Rooms but stinking and no Air-condition. Worst you cannot open the windows during the day as Monkeys could visit you and in the night mosquitos are your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-AranyaNivas, Manager at Aranya Nivas KTDC, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable patronage and Support to Aranya Nivas Thekkady…We always Consider you as our very valuable Guest. All your suggestion, comments will be taken seriously. Being a Tiger Reserve we have some restriction as traffic is not allowed after 5.30 PM in side the Reserve due to the crossing of wild animals. The restrictions are... More 

Travelers are raving about these Thekkady hotels

Pune, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

KTDC Aranya Nivas, as the name suggests, is nestled inside the forest of Periyar Tiger Reserve. Location wise its nice but the hotel itself is pretty average. Rooms were clean but service was not up to the mark. Be it housekeeping or at the restaurant, service is pretty slow. But that I think is common for any govt. run hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-AranyaNivas, Manager at Aranya Nivas KTDC, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable patronage and support to Aranya Nivas. We always consider you as our very valuable Guest… We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused..We take al your valuable comments and suggestion seriously and will be rectified. With Warm Regards Arun Peethambaran Manager, Aranya Nivas, Thekkady More 

South Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

This hotel is very 3 star. The rooms were clean and comfortable but were plain in decoration. The food was ok. Alcohol is not available here. It has a pool but the water looked cloudy so we didn't use it. The hotel has a good location within the huge park but you cannot really see the lake from it. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-AranyaNivas, Manager at Aranya Nivas KTDC, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank your for your valuable patronage and support to Aranya Nivas, Thekkady. We are taking this opportunity to thank you for valuable comments and suggestions. We assure you that the shortcomings pointed out will be addressed on priority basis. Looking forward for the best future business relationship... With Kind Regards Arun Peethambaran, Manager, Aranya Nivas Thekkady. More 

pattukkoottai,tamilnadu state
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

Aranya nivas What an awesome location- deep within the forest, almost touching the blue waters of the vast Periyar lake, surrounded by the verdant western ghats, a stay at Aranya Nivas [ aranya means forest] is truly a memorable one. You are allowed inside the protected forest area after a a small wait at the check-post at the gates and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-AranyaNivas, Manager at Aranya Nivas KTDC, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable patronage and support to Aranya Nivas, Thekkady. We are taking this opportunity to thank you for valuable comments and suggestions. We assure you that the shortcomings pointed out will be addressed on priority basis. Looking forward for the best future business relationship... With Kind Regards Arun Peethambaran, Manager, Aranya Nivas Thekkady. More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

The hotel is excellent in terms of comfort and service. Their location is right next to the Periyar Lake, and has a magnificent view. Their complementary breakfast spread was sumptuous. On the downside, the lodgers are are not allowed to leave the premises after 5PM, so be prepared to have a lazy evening in your room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager-AranyaNivas, Manager at Aranya Nivas KTDC, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable patronage and support to Aranay Nivas Thekkady..Thank you very much for your valuable comments and suggestions. Regarding going for after 6 pm as a resort situated inside the tiger Reserve we some have some limitations .. As per the forest rule no traffic is allowed in side the tiger reserve after 6 PM... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

196 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (182)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (46)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.3 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#2 of 36 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tigers Roare'
Hotel Tigers Roare'
#14 of 36 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club Thekkady
0.2 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#18 of 36 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peppervine Hotel
Peppervine Hotel
#4 of 36 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay