We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vedanta - Wake up! by the backwaters, Fort Kochi

1/506 Fort Kochi, Opposite Brunton Boatyard, River Road | Next to Fort Kochi Main Boat Jetty & Bus Station, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Vedanta - Wake up! by the backwaters, Fort Kochi
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

336 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    172
    110
    27
    12
    15
See reviews for
19
44
111
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (336)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (114)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (105)
All months
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Let me start by telling that we had no feedback of the hotel other than tripadvisor.in rating. Based on this review and the geo location as seen on google maps we booked and reached there. We were not at all disappointed. Location wise it is one of the best. Price wise not pinching at all. We had free wi-fi which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here because the Vedanta (backpacker hotel chain in India) in Varkala beach was amazing! We were disappointed in the Vedanta in Cochin. Our room was very small, had little light and wasn't particularly nice. It was nice in that it had a shower stall so you could keep water from getting all over the floor in the bathroom.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aadil M, Public Relations Manager at Vedanta - Wake up! by the backwaters, Fort Kochi, responded to this review

Dear Ethan B Thank you for your review of our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Varkala but highly disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your stay at Cochin. We always try to provide best service to our guests and assure you that we will look into the concerns you have noted. We hope to... More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

I just got here at Allepey from Kochi and I'm staying at Vedanta Allepey. Compared to Vedanta Kochi this one is a looooottt better with bigger yard and whatnot. Beds are cleaner, as well as bathrooms. And what's with all the blackouts ? Happen every DAY in Vedanta Kochi!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aadil M, Public Relations Manager at Vedanta - Wake up! by the backwaters, Fort Kochi, responded to this review

Hi restyyy, I would like to start off by saying that it was a pleasure serving you at Vedanta. We will definitely look into why the electricity outages happened because we have backup generators which are supposed to be switched ON during such conditions. If in the future at any of our locations a blackout occurs you can definitely request... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

They are very friendly at the hotel & helped us to get to see most of the places n this places is good for youngsters to hand out as it is located in Port Kochi.. which is very good in terms of traveling arround..small hotel with big satisfaction to a traveler

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

We stayed at Vedanta Kochi for 2 nights. Our experience was below par. Place was not clean and there was a stink all through the corridors. AC was not working ok. No help from staff. Food was very bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mumbai
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Vedantha Fort Kochi is utterly disappointing and ridiculously dirty hostel. I am surprised by the good reviews which it got. Don’t get fooled, its worth one star. On check-in we were allotted Rooms 103 and 104 after asking 3 different Ids. Both the rooms have faulty a/c and dirty bathrooms with lost of rust and muddy water coming out from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

We stayed there for two nights and it was pretty good. It is clean and feels safe. It is close to the main attractions. The shower has no pressure at all, but no issues in general. The staff was always nice to us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aadil M, Reservation Team at Vedanta - Wake up! by the backwaters, Fort Kochi, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel. It was a pleasure having you with us. Regards Vedanta Wake up! Hotels More 

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 via mobile

The hostel is very nice, clean and has a perfect location! It is very close to all attractions recommended from the lonely planet! You got wifi and awesome stuff who will serve you great coffee and help you with insider tips! Definetly a good choice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aadil M, Reservation Team at Vedanta - Wake up! by the backwaters, Fort Kochi, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted to know that you had a splendid experience at the hotel. It is our constant endeavour to provide our guests with superior services and we are happy to note your appreciation. Thank you for your kind words. We sincerely await the opportunity to welcome you once again to our Vedanta Hotels Thanks & Regards Vedanta... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Vedanta wake up is the best hotel in fort kochi I stayed here 7night Here staff is so friendly Good facility healthy envirment Good location everything is good here Thanks vedanta i miss u so much I never forgot u These day was my lifes best day I visited all kochi with my friend U hive me best guidence

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aadil M, Reservation Team at Vedanta - Wake up! by the backwaters, Fort Kochi, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Your feedback is most gratifying as it is our endeavour to ensure that our guests have a memorable experience. It is our constant endeavour to provide our guests with superior services and we are happy to note your appreciation. Thank you for your kind words. We sincerely await the opportunity to welcome you once again to our Hotel.... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
146 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015 via mobile

If u are travelling solo, their dorms are the best you'll find for the cheapest possible price. While the common areas lack the hostel like charm, the location n the cleanliness are about good enough a reason to stay. If u arrive and find the dorm smelly or shabby, know that it is the fellow lodgers that are responsible for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aadil M, Reservation Team at Vedanta - Wake up! by the backwaters, Fort Kochi, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel. It was a pleasure having you with us. Regards Samira A. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Excellency
Hotel Excellency
#81 of 179 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
5.6 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 23 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#22 of 179 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Park Avenue
Hotel Park Avenue
#104 of 179 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
2.8 mi away
The International Hotel
The International Hotel
#99 of 179 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
17.1 mi away
Quality Airport Hotel
Quality Airport Hotel
#61 of 179 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Vedanta - Wake up! by the backwaters, Fort Kochi

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay