We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Fort Castle

Certificate of Excellence
Rose Lane | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Fort Castle
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Fort Castle
Hotel Fort Castle
Hotel Fort Castle
Share an Experience

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    30
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
30
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (88)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
L'Escala, Spain
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Picked this hotel due to the location and the photographs also for Kochin the price seemed reasonable but certainly not cheap. The location was very good however the photographs were very misleading, the outside of the hotel has no pot plants and only dirty gravel not a nice painted pathway. On arrival only one of our rooms were ready, however... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Toronto
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very basic, a clean room with Air Conditioning in a great location. I would hesitate to recommend this property to many of my clients, but for the thriftiest. The service at the hotel is sleepy and very young. They will go out of their way if 100 rupees tip is in it though. I would choose differently the next time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can not believe that someone has rated that place as excellent. I guess it all depends on people standards. I often stay at budget places, but this one was really horrible. Plus side is that the location is OK. And wifi for me worked even in the room. And the A/C was on of the most silent in India.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Looks much nicer online. The hotel is kept fairly clean but the building itself is not well maintained (there's cracks and dirt on the walls). The room is a good size and is furnished with modern looking furniture made of very nice wood. Yet I found the bed to be uncomfortable (hard mattress and not enough pillows). Also, the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

(1) intolerable amount of mosquito (2) no water heater (3) fungus of the wall of the room. Pls see the room before booking this hotel. Breakfast is very basic. Made mistake booking 3 days 2 night. wifi only at reception. Rooms have no wifi. Pls honestly don't come here

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Mysore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of days just after new year. Great time to be in delightful Fort Cochin (ie New Year's Day parade). The accommodation is in a super location to walk to many sights, cafés, restaurants and shopping. In comparison to other similarly priced hotels I've stayed in the facilities were very simple but adequate. The owner,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
081067Pat, Owner at Hotel Fort Castle, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your response and feedback. Nice to know you had a pleasant stay at Fort Castle. With regards to the hot water, each room has its own independent water heater. Normally once switched on it takes just few minutes for the water to be heated. This is a rare occurrence and we have not received any complaints till... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Made the mistake of booking 2 nights at this facility - with so many other nice places to stay in Fort Kochi there is really no reason to stay here - 1) The owner is a huge disappointment - unfriendly and does not provide any help. when asking if he can recommend a few nice spots for a day trip... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
081067Pat, Owner at Hotel Fort Castle, responded to this review

Hi Yaron, Rather disappointing to receive your review. You did arrive on the 25th December 2014, Christmas day and of course its a national holiday. We did have your water heater in the room repaired the previous night and the next day being a holiday the ceiling repair personnel could not come. With the room being occupied by you for... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

A small place in fort kochi right by the chinese fishing nets. This place has great service and is very close to all the happening spots in fort kochi. As an Indian traveler, you often get a lower level of service as compared to foreigners staying in the place; this was a notable exception as we got great service from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
081067Pat, Owner at Hotel Fort Castle, responded to this review

Hi Prashanth, Thank you for your great appreciation. we treat everyone who stay with us with sincerity and equality, maintaining high standards of hospitality, hygiene and comfort. Look forward to your next visit soon. Cheers! Patrick More 

New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

For a family bitten by the travel bug, we look at a few things when going in for a good hotel. a) Clean and Safe - Fort castle has good decent rooms which are clean and well attended to. They may not be super luxury but for the price it's good and are very cosy. The area is also posh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
081067Pat, Owner at Hotel Fort Castle, responded to this review

Hi Supratik, Thanks very much for the sincere words of appreciation and recognition. Hope you guys had a safe, wonderful and memorable trip all over Kerala. We did really enjoy your company more than you can imagine. I must say, you are lucky to have such wonderful parents. Look forward to our future visits as promised. Take care and God... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Excellent Budget Stay in Fort Kochi area.2 Minutes walkable to the Chinese Fishing nets and 10 min to the other sight seeing places in Fort Kochi.Rooms are clean.Staffs are friendly.We had a great time staying with Fort Kochi and experiencing the local ferry for transfers to the main land and other closer Islands

Was this review helpful? Yes
081067Pat, Owner at Hotel Fort Castle, responded to this review

Hi Jean, Thank you very much for your feedback. Good to know you had a wonderful time at Fort Castle. Look forward to having you once again with us soon. We have now started the Traditional Sadhya Lunch on a leaf everyday. You should try this. It is amazing. Cheers! Patrick More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question