We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Fort Castle

Rose Lane | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Fort Castle
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Fort Castle
Hotel Fort Castle
Hotel Fort Castle
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    31
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
21
30
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (90)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

we stayed here for 4 nights in total , at the beginning and end of our G adventure trip. the location was excellent, the rooms quite clean, and what made the difference was the staff; especially akash. everyone did their best to make our stay comfortable, and indeed it was. (akash even took the time to show us how to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Good hotel to stay, reasonable. Very friendly and helpful staff. Especially Akash from the reception. The place is close to the Chinese fishing net and cafes. Also St Francis and Santa Cruz is walking distance. Will definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
L'Escala, Spain
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Picked this hotel due to the location and the photographs also for Kochin the price seemed reasonable but certainly not cheap. The location was very good however the photographs were very misleading, the outside of the hotel has no pot plants and only dirty gravel not a nice painted pathway. On arrival only one of our rooms were ready, however... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Toronto
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
49 hotel reviews
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Very basic, a clean room with Air Conditioning in a great location. I would hesitate to recommend this property to many of my clients, but for the thriftiest. The service at the hotel is sleepy and very young. They will go out of their way if 100 rupees tip is in it though. I would choose differently the next time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

I can not believe that someone has rated that place as excellent. I guess it all depends on people standards. I often stay at budget places, but this one was really horrible. Plus side is that the location is OK. And wifi for me worked even in the room. And the A/C was on of the most silent in India.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Looks much nicer online. The hotel is kept fairly clean but the building itself is not well maintained (there's cracks and dirt on the walls). The room is a good size and is furnished with modern looking furniture made of very nice wood. Yet I found the bed to be uncomfortable (hard mattress and not enough pillows). Also, the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

(1) intolerable amount of mosquito (2) no water heater (3) fungus of the wall of the room. Pls see the room before booking this hotel. Breakfast is very basic. Made mistake booking 3 days 2 night. wifi only at reception. Rooms have no wifi. Pls honestly don't come here

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Mysore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of days just after new year. Great time to be in delightful Fort Cochin (ie New Year's Day parade). The accommodation is in a super location to walk to many sights, cafés, restaurants and shopping. In comparison to other similarly priced hotels I've stayed in the facilities were very simple but adequate. The owner,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
081067Pat, Owner at Hotel Fort Castle, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your response and feedback. Nice to know you had a pleasant stay at Fort Castle. With regards to the hot water, each room has its own independent water heater. Normally once switched on it takes just few minutes for the water to be heated. This is a rare occurrence and we have not received any complaints till... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Made the mistake of booking 2 nights at this facility - with so many other nice places to stay in Fort Kochi there is really no reason to stay here - 1) The owner is a huge disappointment - unfriendly and does not provide any help. when asking if he can recommend a few nice spots for a day trip... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
081067Pat, Owner at Hotel Fort Castle, responded to this review

Hi Yaron, Rather disappointing to receive your review. You did arrive on the 25th December 2014, Christmas day and of course its a national holiday. We did have your water heater in the room repaired the previous night and the next day being a holiday the ceiling repair personnel could not come. With the room being occupied by you for... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

A small place in fort kochi right by the chinese fishing nets. This place has great service and is very close to all the happening spots in fort kochi. As an Indian traveler, you often get a lower level of service as compared to foreigners staying in the place; this was a notable exception as we got great service from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
081067Pat, Owner at Hotel Fort Castle, responded to this review

Hi Prashanth, Thank you for your great appreciation. we treat everyone who stay with us with sincerity and equality, maintaining high standards of hospitality, hygiene and comfort. Look forward to your next visit soon. Cheers! Patrick More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities