We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kapithan's Inn

1/931 Near Santa Cruz Ground | K. L. Bernard Master Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kapithan\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our experience of staying here was that it is a clean and friendly place with helpful staff who organised pick up from the airport. It is very close to the main attractions in Fort Cochin. We stayed in a 'cottage' which is actually a small block of 6 apartments behind the main house, they are safe though slightly cramped if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Birgit C
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice home stay in Fort Cochin. The rooms are clean and the owners are very helpful. It's in a good location and is walking distance to the Chinese fishing nets. There are good restaurants nearby. I would happily recommend staying here.

Helpful?
Thank stel113
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice place that serves a good breakfast, hot water, and a comfortable bed. The rooms are well equipped, and there are tables to sit at outside. The problem is three fold. (1) The lady isn't the friendliest I have met, there are few smiles here. (2) The room was tiny and has a cupboard screwed to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
Kapithan, Owner at Kapithan's Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive comments about the room and the breakfast. The guest has made this review in comparison with another property where he stayed before. The room which he selected in our property is much cheaper than the one he stayed in the other property. If he had chosen our rooms of the same price he would have enjoyed... More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014 via mobile

For the price we paid, this hotel does not deliver compared to another place we stayed at in Kochi. We booked a standard room with A/C. It was very small and had a broken wall cupboard in the way of the bathroom door. The bathroom was tiny and had no place to put more than a toothbrush in the tiny... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine N
Kapithan, Owner at Kapithan's Inn, responded to this review

This review is the continuation of the above review as they both are partners and stayed in the same room. We do not appreciate her comparison of our room with another accommodation as each property has their own features and facilities according to the variation in price. If you get some extra attention elsewhere you cannot expect to get the... More 

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We arrived in Cochi late evening, exhausted and weary after a long journey and were greeted warmly by the host, and shown to our immaculate suite and bathroom. After we checked in, we were sent up tea and coffee (even though there is no restaurant, but breakfast is available), leaving us feeling refreshed. The location is great, it is on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sutapa M
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

In this place you feel like in a prison. The rooms are very small the doors will be locked at a certain time, that you can´t go out and can´t come in. The owner is not friendly and showed aggressive tendencies when my male friend wanted to come in to help me to carry my luggage. I can not recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julia J
Kapithan, Owner at Kapithan's Inn, responded to this review

The lady guest who booked with us in January 2014 changed her booking dates almost 4 times and she finally checked in during mid Jan. While she was staying with us it was her habit to return home very late with different male friends with which we cannot compromise. Being a family run guest house, we have set policies. We... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We arrived at the Kapithan Inn after the manager of the Casa Linda had double booked us. I was initially uneasy as I had researched all our accomodation on our trip to Kerala and this was not planned. However the owners were really friendly and after being shown our room I felt at ease. The room was clean and well... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pez1965
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

A wonderful peaceful stay in a lovely family guesthouse. Very clean and comfortable bed. As an older traveler, I appreciated the quiet and well- kept accommodation. Very centrally located and walkable and quiet. I highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Located within walking distance of major attractions, Only a few doors down from the Kathikalli performance. Many restaurants within short walking distance. Owners were very friendly & helpful - treated us like family. They made all arrangements for backwater tours, Kathikalli, airport transportation; made recommendations for sights to see, restaurants to try (and to avoid), and gave very good advice... More 

Helpful?
Thank spectec
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had a lovely time staying at the Kapithan Inn over New Year. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the owner was incredibly helpful with anything we needed. The atmosphere was very welcoming and the building is in a nice quiet position opposite the recreation ground. We opted to return for an extra night and would certainly stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank vicbr0wn
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Phils' Residency
Phils' Residency
#46 of 185 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ann's Residency
Ann's Residency
#23 of 185 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#5 of 185 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 stars 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#28 of 185 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madeleine Inn
Madeleine Inn
#9 of 371 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Happy Camper
The Happy Camper
#11 of 251 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay