We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow

Affiliate website
off State Highway 19 | Puliyanmala town, Kattapana village, Idukki 685515, India
Offers & Announcements
Group offer
Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    1
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (20)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

the property is still under development. we stayed in a old store room converted into bed room. the ambiance is good. there are not many trekking trials other than the 1 km walk in the plantation. The property is near SH connecting kumali and munnar and accessibility is good. but to be frank the rent is higher than wht it... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MerinSam, Owner at Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We truly appreciate your effort to put down your feedback about your recent stay at our plantation. It was a pleasure hosting you and spending time with you and your guests. Your booking was done through one of the travel sites for a classic room for one night for two adults.Once the booking was received,we had sent you... More 

Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

I enjoyed my time on the estate. The owners and staff were very welcoming and made my stay very homely. It is a great place to relax and enjoy the walking and fishing. The kids who lived by the fishing nook were a great help during our fishing trip. Thanks for the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MerinSam, Owner at Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback.We are so glad to have hosted you.Looking forward to your next visit. More 

kerala, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

This is our second visit to this lovely property. We stayed for two nights & is an excellent place for friends and family. We were a group of 4 adults and an infant & occupied the premier rooms which are part of the main cottage. The advantage is the rooms are bigger & adjacent to the living room where we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MerinSam, Owner at Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank You for re visiting our property . We are so happy to read your feedback about your stay and the property here.It was our pleasure hosting you and your family. Looking forward to hosting you and your family again. More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

It was indeed a unique experience to be transported back in time. The beautiful heritage bungalow has all modern amenities and is surrounded by surely a great way connecting with nature. We found beauty everywhere....so much to explore and so much to find out! The rooms were excellent and the staff take care to ensure the place is spic and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MerinSam, Owner at Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay at the bungalow.We are so glad that the whole family had a good time and was able to connect with nature. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family and we look forward to hosting you again. More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

nice room with a natural look and feel food and service was excellent mobile network is poor only idea signal available. cool and peaceful place for family or couples Secured and parking space also there

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MerinSam, Owner at Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you also enjoyed the food. As far as your comment about the mobile phone connectivity problem is concerned we have actually installed a booster from Vodafone on the property but unfortunately that does not seem to have solved... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is the perfect holiday spot for family, friends or couples. You wake up to the chirping of birds and the wonderful aromas from the kitchen. Step out onto the front porch and your greeted by the lush greenery everywhere with trees and plants of many different varieties all immaculately maintained. The food was truly outstanding Kerala cuisine - they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MerinSam, Owner at Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank You so much for taking time out to write about your experience at the bungalow and for uploading the pictures that you have clicked during your stay. It was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to hosting you again. More 

Ubud
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We recently stayed at Kalarickal for 3 nights which felt like one night too long. A lovely setting with beautiful flowers and a very short walk to the fascinating cardamom plantation. We paid what I think is a rather exorbitant $150 per day (meals included). The meals were only average. By contrast we had spent 4 nights on a houseboat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MerinSam, Owner at Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking time out to give us your valuable feedback. We would like to take this opportunity to reply to your comments. Firstly, with regard to your comments about the tariff being exorbitant we would like to clarify that it was not us who charged you the sum of 150$. We deal with few... More 

Mission, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I cannot say enough about our fantastic stay at Kalarickal. The grounds were beautifully maintained with glorious flowers everywhere, the front garden provided an excellent place for the children (two four year olds) to play and the verandas and hammock were ideal for relaxing and enjoying the quiet surroundings of the estate. The accommodation was ideal, we had the three... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MerinSam, Owner at Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking time out to give us your valuable feedback.We are so happy to hear that the whole group had a wonderful time at the bungalow. We look forward to host you and your family again! More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I saw some beautiful pictures and had booked three rooms in this so called bungalow for two days. An advance payment of RS 10000 was asked and I paid.Due to personal reasons, I wanted to cancel this but after speaking to the owner Sam, I came to know that money cannot be refunded. It was mentioned in the email he... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MerinSam, Owner at Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your review. We would like to take this opportunity to reply to your comments. Firstly, with regard to the refund as you have very fairly mentioned we inform all our guests at the time of booking that the advance paid will be refunded in the event the cancellation is made more that 7 days before... More 

Thrissur, India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were a family of three adults and one child. Stayed on the property for one day(would have stayed longer if we had the time) .It is a 65 acre farm tucked away in the pristine beauty of the ghats, but easily accessible as it is on a main road, about 8 km from kattappana town. The property has 7-8... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MerinSam, Owner at Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time out to describe your experience at the Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow.It was indeed a pleasure to host you and your family.Looking forward to hosting all of you in the near future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question