We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hidden Valley

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Handi, Machagondanahally | 20 km. Chikmagalur-Mudigere Road, Chikamagalur 577111, India
Special Price
Monsoon offer
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chikamagalur
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Hidden Valley
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    82
    96
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
85
38
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (199)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We went there for a weekend gateway with friends. The food is amazing. Its a perfect place for relaxing in the lap of nature. You can hear the birds singing. The rooms dont get sunlight. So its better to avoid the monsoon season.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHiddenValley, Owner at The Hidden Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for the feed back. Good to know that you had a relaxing time and enjoyed the food. You may note that during monsoon, the western ghats ( Malnad) hardly sees sunshine. Besides, dampness in the rooms is also is a common feature. However knowing all this, guests from as far as Chennai come to experience heavy rains. Henry... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We went to hidden valley with friends. The homestay is true to its name. Its a very good option for a relaxing weekend. Its beeter to avoid monsoon season as the rooms ar humid at that time..food is really good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As mentioned Hidden Valley is about 20 Km away from Chikmagalur. Not too difficult to find. The last 1.5 km, while scenic, not easy for sedans to drive through, with rocks and jagged stones protruding at several points-- a discomforting thought for the car owner, ha ha ha. The property is amazing-- lush greenery all around. Oranges, Japanese apples, mulberry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stayed there on Aug 3rd and 5th. It is good and friendly staff. But need maintenance Have pond in the home stay but cant go near to that place, fear of leaches. Have north Indian cook, he cooks north Indian dishes good not south Indian.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We immensely enjoyed our stay at The Hidden Valley estate last weekend. The place is really beautiful with lush greenery all around. We spotted many species of birds and butterflies on the campus. Our stay was very comfortable. The local Malnad cuisine that was served to us was excellent. The staff at the estate are courteous and efficient. We took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Located 20 kms outside Chikmaglur town, this place is just off the highway. Very quiet surroundings, ideal for a 2 day trip. Rooms and loos are neat and well maintained. Not a lot of options in food, but food is homely. On Saturday evenings, they have a bbq and the chicken was delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had been to Hidden Valley for the weekend with my family. It was a great treat in the midst of Nature..If you are used to the city noises of your mobiles, TV's, traffic, yelling,etc...This is the womb to sense some tranquility. Find some solace.Pleasant surroundings can also be FUN sometimes it need not be rigorous traveling to spots and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

Excellent home stay, one that can be recommended to a group of friends and also for the family. Safe place too. Food was extremely delicious. Absolutely No compromise in the taste, quality, or hygiene. We were served food of our choice and were free to select a menu of our choice. We were a group of 11 doctor coulege s,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

Stayed there from 17th till 20th July 2015, we were offered Room #2 on the first day in the main building and then we were shifted to Room# 5 the next day as a big group was coming and they needed to be accommodated in the main house. There are 4 rooms in the main house opening to a view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Leaky roofs, no ventilation in rooms and they are dark, you have to lights on most of the time, no view. food quality is questionable as the cook 'Pappu' is From Orisa (Oriya) so you can't expect local / malnad food. All cooked in mustered oil. We were in room # 6 at the rear side of main home stay.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

213 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (210)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (151)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chikamagalur
0.0 mi away
Gateway Hotel
Gateway Hotel
#2 of 12 in Chikamagalur
4.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parumpara Adventure & Cultural Holiday Resort
0.0 mi away
Hotel S.K. Regency
Hotel S.K. Regency
#5 of 12 in Chikamagalur
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mallige Residency
Mallige Residency
#3 of 16 in Hassan
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
5.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 18 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 stars 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities