We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thongsal

3.0 of 5 Yurtung Road | Near Shanti Stupa, Leh 194101, India
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
Special rates for Winters
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Thongsal
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Thongsal
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    22
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
20
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros: The hotel is at good location (under Stupa), has many facilities/activities including folk dance once a week during evening. The choices for breakfast were good. Cons: The rooms were badly planned and not properly maintained. The staff seems friendly but is not responsible when you complain to them. The food is not even OK in taste and lunch was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mumbai
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

hotel location, room and views: Very good. hotel staff: mediocore, except Rakesh Kumar who shines out like a gem among his mates. The front office most of the time is not managed by anyone and the manager [?] Sunil is unsmiling,unfriendly, laid-back, does precious little to inform the guests about local dos & donts and most of the time missing-in-action!... More

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice & small hotel on the Shanti Stupa Road, Wooden furnished rooms which are warm.The breakfast was OK as well. Overall nice place if you want to live away from the city center. Tip: Take an Enfield for local sight-seeing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Visited Leh for the Kalachakra in July and were fortunate enough to find this fabulous hotel in Leh. All of the staff were really helpful and friendly. I got altitude sickness for half a day and the manager was very helpful. It was easy to walk into town and to get a taxi to the Kalachakra. We wnt on strip... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We booked the Thongsal after checking out reviews. Sadly, I was REALLY disappointed as the reviews and the price of the rooms did not match the services and state of the rooms. The standard room we booked was dingy, depressing and messy. The bathroom was not clean- with a broken dustbin and didn't even have a separate shower area. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
East Granby, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My stay at Thongsal Hotel was exceptional with the hotel manager Sunil Kumar professionally attentive to every request. The staff was polite, always smiling and greeting guests, and remembered my black tea for every meal. The food was freshly prepared and was always varied from meal to meal.Having eaten at many of Lehs' restaurants this was the best food in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as friends had booked it. When paying these kind of prices one should expect a little service. We got zero service. No reception to help with luggage when arriving late at night, tired and in the dark. It took 30 minutes plus for a drink to arrive and I had to pressure the various staff members to deliver... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thongsal_Leh, General Manager at Thongsal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very disappointed that we were unable to live up to the expectations, we shall pay more attention to the small issues that you faced. Regards, More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed here for 2 days, the rooms are very clean, the staff is very humble and helpful. The best part of the hotel is their food. We had breakfast and dinner here and both the meals have a good spread. The food is tasty too. One of the best food we had in Leh. I would love to stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thongsal_Leh, General Manager at Thongsal, responded to this review

We cannot thank you enough for the compliments you have showered on Thongsal! This will motivate us greatly. Looking forward to serving you even better when you come visit us again. Regards, More

Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

At the beginning of tourist season (in April), the facilities are not prompt yet. The hotel re-paint and re-built around hotel area. So, I'm very surprise why the hotel can open for the tourist even not complete re-construction. It should be finished before open, The smell from painting and the noise from re-built were very terrible. The poor facilities as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thongsal_Leh, General Manager at Thongsal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Sorry for the inconvenience caused due to the reconstruction during the time of your visit. This was on account of the favorable weather conditions due to which we were compelled to complete a few tasks in the beginning of the season. More

New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Thongsal was an amazing place with a great hospitality,awesome views & nice food.First of all a warm welcome by Mr chaddha was very impressive.Our rooms were at the ground floor which were spacious with good sized washrooms with all the routiene amenities.Hot water was a problem there but it was well managed by their humble & courteous staff.Food was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thongsal_Leh, General Manager at Thongsal, responded to this review

Dear Ms Shalini We are very happy to know that the experiences at Thogsal along with the sites and scenes made your trip to Ladakh memorable. Looking forward to seeing you again when you come visit Ladakh the net time. Warm Regards, More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Thongsal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thongsal

Address: Yurtung Road | Near Shanti Stupa, Leh 194101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thongsal 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thongsal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thongsal Leh, Ladakh

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay