We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Dandoo Palace Group of House Boats

Nehru Park | Dal Lake, Srinagar 190001, India
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Dandoo Palace Group of House Boats
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    62
    44
    14
    6
    22
See reviews for
60
37
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (148)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great experience overall. I had stayed in Dandoo houseboat for 2 nights. Although there are a lot of houseboats in Dal Lake but it is always good to check before you book. Most of them are located in very shabby areas and too close from the road and not worthwhile to take a shikara ride. Dandoo is located at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tehran, Iran
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was like a dream. We staied at the house boat, it was so beautiful that I could call it handcraft. It was also comfortable. Now that I'm thinking about that it makes me excited. Oh...my God, bye the way, the food was delicious and taste. Finally it was the best choice for relaxation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we got to Srinagar, we went to the shore of Dal Lake, pier 14. Shikaras were waitnig for us and they took us to one the the houseboats furthest from the others. The boatsmen of the 3 shikaras that transported us were quite kind and helpful and we were quite emotional when we were saying goodbye after a week.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tehran, Iran
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

when the shikara transfer you to the hotel you would be the happiest and most surprised person in the world. Is it my hotel in next days our my house ?beautiful location amoge lake, lilis, birds. beautiful rooms with wooden decoration. amazing servents, amazin chef, amazing hospitility.you test delishes home cooking there. having a relaxing time far away city life.of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tehran
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

very hospitable and kind staff, good management, very good chef and excellent view of Dal lake. there were some problems with water pressure and wifi system and there is no refrigerator but they promised to solve them and equipped the rooms. Thank you Mr. Basheer for your caring personality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gurgaon, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

We stayed at the house boat for 3 nights and the experience was amazing. Mr. Nazir the owner of the house boat and Bashir bhai (as people generally call him) took great care of us. Excellent hospitality and great service. Really good food. It's home away from home. Really looking forward to visit again and stay with them....... Thanks a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
royal d, Owner at Royal Dandoo Palace Group of House Boats, responded to this review

Dear Anand thanks for your feedback, i am happy that you have given good feedback to our services i am looking forward to see you again and again with best wishes & regards nazir More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015 via mobile

Mr.Nazir and his staff are very down to earth people.they made us feel comfortable in every possible way they could. Mr.Nazir planned our whole trip and we enjoyed kashmir to the fullest.we stayed at his houseboat for 4 nights.houseboats are really clean,tidy,no mosquitoes & odourless.believe me these guys are no less than family once u visit them

Was this review helpful? Yes
National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

Hi, we had booked 3 rooms in the houseboat through Makemytrip. The boat is tucked away and is in a good site. However, the houseboat is not yet ready and lacks basics and the staff does not know the basics of hospitality business. We arrived at the houseboat and were treated as if we were there was a suprise. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
royal d, Manager at Royal Dandoo Palace Group of House Boats, responded to this review

Dear sir thanks for your review it very nice to see the compliment that you have given to our service your booking was from makemytrip for only room basis, we don't know what makemytrip has told you about the charges and all, as everybody knows shikara ride is not included in room rent its a policy of every houseboat in... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015 via mobile

Superb view of the dal lake. Nazir bhai owner and hotel staff very polite. Brst thing wad to have barbeque dinner at the entrance of houseboat late at night. All well arranged by the staff. They have three rooms. All clean and spacious. Interior is very modern.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pune, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Try any other houseboat but not this houseboat. Owner is very rude. Electricity is available only till 11.30pm. After that electricity is completely shutdown. Worst service. Food is just just pathetic. Better to go on a fast rather than eating the food in this houseboat. these guys think tourists are fools.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
royal d, Owner at Royal Dandoo Palace Group of House Boats, responded to this review

Dear sir thanks for your feedback electricity was shut downed in whole kashmir while your stay we started our backup which which we can't leave open for whole night, it was our mistake that we called you when you left our houseboat and asked you about the bed covers that we were missing in room and was found in your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

131 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (99)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
0.0 mi away
Peacock Houseboats
Peacock Houseboats
#15 of 104 in Srinagar
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
2.2 mi away
WelcomHeritage Gurkha Houseboats
1.7 mi away
Hotel New Prince Inn
Hotel New Prince Inn
#21 of 104 in Srinagar
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
2.4 mi away
Wangnoo Houseboats
Wangnoo Houseboats
#35 of 104 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay