We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Safaga hotels

Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort

5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Km 9 Safaga | Road Abu Soma, Safaga 84711, Egypt
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort to your Saves list
Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
55%
Ranked #11 of 13 hotels in Safaga
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Martin B Kosice, Slovakia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (75)
  • Photos (122)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • More
true
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    19
    13
    8
    12
See reviews for
20
35
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was terribly dissapointed by this hotel. The food was bad, burned, half cooked or just bland and the same every day, the drinks were watered down so you couldn't even get drunk (because they fear the Russians will drink too much and cause trouble) and they were warm, usually they din't have ice, sometimes they didn't even have enough... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kosice, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was our first stay at this hotel but also our last. Immediately after the arrival the shock of the room - ubiquitous crows and the balcony full of excrement, the shock of cleanliness in the dining, shock of ignorance and unwillingness staff - they was here only for Russian-speaking clientele. I would like to acknowledge the work of individuals... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel Imperial Shame A'u Stomach is a shabby place with a rehab atmosphere. Diarrhea right second day of your stay, the same food every day, no cups for coffee, all plates dirty!, no extra napkin, no hygiene, elevators stuck every day, A/C noisy and weak, holes in the sheets, shabby towels, the sink and tub clogged, ants in the rooms,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Kosice, Slovakia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There are well many things you can love about this hotel (privacy, corals, pool etc.). Unfortunatelly , there are well many others things you will definitely not enjoy. Hotel architecture : - plus: It is mid size (means not crowded), U-shape so that all rooms have sea view, nice lobby . - minus: lifts are in quite bad condition, wifi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cluj County, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hello! The experience of travelling to Egypt was unforgetable, especially because I visited the pyramids and Cairo - The Egiptian Museum included. Regarding the hotel, the conditions were ok, we had an all-inclusive menu each day, free sunbeds and umbrellas on the beach, open bar outside the hotel, swimming pools and really warm water. I was in Safaga, which is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Malling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The good things about the hotel the air-conditioning was excellent Staff were polite and helpful The down side was that this was our 4th visit to Egypt and the hotels have been excellent They had to move us as people walked past our room as we sat in the Jacuzzi the next room had a nice view but the birds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is by far one of the worst hotels that i have ever visited! I'll try to make a summarized review of the problems that i have faced there. 1- The beach and bathroom towels were either dirty or frayed, or both. 2- The black out curtain in my room also was ripped out. 3- The television set was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
ShamsQM, Manager at Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for that you have been our guest and that you have taken your time to give us a review on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and we apologize if there was an inconvenience for you. Normally, in case of complaints and if we get informed about at front desk,... More

Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

we've just returned from our vacation at imperial shams safaga , and we liked it very much , the staff there was very hospitable and everything was beautiful . I'd like to come again .. the sea is exotic .. swimming there was unforgettable [ i saw beautiful yellow fish swimming around us ] .

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ShamsQM, Manager at Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dina, thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that we were able to meet your expectations for a great holiday and that you enjoy our wonderful beach and underwater world so much. You are always welcome at our hotel and we look forward to see you soon again. All the best to you and kind regards,... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Rooms tired, bathrooms only surface clean, mouldy grout etc. Lifts look like they could fail at any time. Food excruciatingly boring, like hospital meals, did not change for 7 days. All towels and linens ( beach and room) are faded and /or fraying. High charges for wifi by the 30minutes. A few staff keen, but most complacent at best. May... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ShamsQM, Manager at Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry that we couldn't meet your expectations and we already forwarded your criticism to the management. Guest satisfaction is one of our highest goal and if you would like to choose our hotel once again we would be happy if you could contact us through our website for showing... More

Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel from 31st August 2013 for the rest of the holiday. (Holiday 30th August to 13 September). We have been to Egypt for the last 6 years and will be going again next year. We had not booked this hotel, but due to so many cancellations lots of the hotels were closing including the one we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ShamsQM, Manager at Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your very extensively review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that we could meet your expectations for a great holiday and that you enjoyed our hotel, the service and the wonderful beach so much. You are always welcome at our hotel and we look forward to see you and your friends soon again. All the best... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort

Address: Km 9 Safaga | Road Abu Soma, Safaga 84711, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Safaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Shams Abu Soma Hotel Safaga

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (84)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Safaga with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Safaga #4 Spa Hotel in Safaga #5 Luxury Hotel in Safaga #6 On the Beach Hotel in Safaga
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort is located approximately 50 km south of Hurghada and adjacent to Safaga. A chain of isolated and breathtaking reefs with dramatic cliffs and plateaus determine here, the characteristic life in the sea. Because of its location, various dive sites and a large quantity of fishes can be found. The location offers not only numerous dive sites, but also one of the best windsurfing and kite surfing spots in Egypt, with ideal wind conditions through all year round.Excellent conditions for all activities on and under the water are available at the resort. Diving, windsurfing, kite surfing or snorkeling will be for all professionals, amateurs or beginners an unforgettable challenge and experience, but also the natural sand beach and the swimming pools invite all others for relaxing as well. An animation team and its sports program provide fun & entertainment for everyone. Kids Club with games, mini disco and more, all what children like. 322 rooms and suites are spread over a u-shaped building with fabulous front or side seaview, balcony or terrace, equipped with twin or king size beds, air conditioning, safe, mini fridge, satellite TV, telephone and a private bathroom with vanity mirror and hair dryer. The suites dispose partly over its own terrace or large roof garden with sun beds, seating and a personal-to-use Jacuzzi.Different kinds of restaurants & bars can be found in the Resort and the All Inclusive will fulfill all wishes and concerns with tasteful meals and a wide section of beverages. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
322

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer