We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Safaga hotels

Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort

5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Km 9 Safaga | Road Abu Soma, Safaga 84711, Egypt
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort to your Saves list
Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
58%
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in Safaga
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014
Dina E Cairo, Egypt
  • Overview
  • Reviews (68)
  • Photos (110)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • More
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    18
    11
    8
    10
See reviews for
18
30
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The good things about the hotel the air-conditioning was excellent Staff were polite and helpful The down side was that this was our 4th visit to Egypt and the hotels have been excellent They had to move us as people walked past our room as we sat in the Jacuzzi the next room had a nice view but the birds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is by far one of the worst hotels that i have ever visited! I'll try to make a summarized review of the problems that i have faced there. 1- The beach and bathroom towels were either dirty or frayed, or both. 2- The black out curtain in my room also was ripped out. 3- The television set was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ShamsQM, Manager at Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for that you have been our guest and that you have taken your time to give us a review on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and we apologize if there was an inconvenience for you. Normally, in case of complaints and if we get informed about at front desk,... More

Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

we've just returned from our vacation at imperial shams safaga , and we liked it very much , the staff there was very hospitable and everything was beautiful . I'd like to come again .. the sea is exotic .. swimming there was unforgettable [ i saw beautiful yellow fish swimming around us ] .

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ShamsQM, Manager at Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dina, thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that we were able to meet your expectations for a great holiday and that you enjoy our wonderful beach and underwater world so much. You are always welcome at our hotel and we look forward to see you soon again. All the best to you and kind regards,... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Rooms tired, bathrooms only surface clean, mouldy grout etc. Lifts look like they could fail at any time. Food excruciatingly boring, like hospital meals, did not change for 7 days. All towels and linens ( beach and room) are faded and /or fraying. High charges for wifi by the 30minutes. A few staff keen, but most complacent at best. May... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShamsQM, Manager at Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry that we couldn't meet your expectations and we already forwarded your criticism to the management. Guest satisfaction is one of our highest goal and if you would like to choose our hotel once again we would be happy if you could contact us through our website for showing... More

Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel from 31st August 2013 for the rest of the holiday. (Holiday 30th August to 13 September). We have been to Egypt for the last 6 years and will be going again next year. We had not booked this hotel, but due to so many cancellations lots of the hotels were closing including the one we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ShamsQM, Manager at Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your very extensively review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that we could meet your expectations for a great holiday and that you enjoyed our hotel, the service and the wonderful beach so much. You are always welcome at our hotel and we look forward to see you and your friends soon again. All the best... More

chester England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just returned from staying 2 weeks in this hotel.on arrival we were given a drink whilst checking in,which was most welcoming.check-in swift and taken to our room,as we didn't arrive til 10.15pm and had missed our evening meal we were given a meal in the coffee bar, which was a salad,again nice. rooms..spotless, cleaned every day,sheets changed daily. staff where... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ShamsQM, Manager at Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that we could meet your expectations for a great holiday and that you enjoyed our wonderful beach and the amazing underwater world so much. You are always welcome at our hotel and we look forward to see you soon again. All the best to you and kind regards,... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Imperial shams is a very friendly hotel, warm and welcoming people, pools and beachs are beautiful, rooms are clean and comfortable, food lovely with lots of variety and differs from day to day, only us English do like our sausages and bacon missed that at breakfast but could not fault the eggs made fresh as you wanted them and soup... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShamsQM, Manager at Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for the time you've taken to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you had a nice holiday with enjoying all our services and we would look forward to see you soon again. Sunny greetings from Egypt The Management & Team More

Egypt
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Imperial shams is a small resort in a larger shams resorts complex sharing the same beach which is a large one. It is a 4 star hotel (Not 5 as advertised on some sites). The Rooms: Spacious, Clean and well furnitured. Room service is good The Beach: Long one with numerous beds (Well stuffed with wind screens). The water is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShamsQM, Manager at Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for the time you've taken to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you had a nice holiday with enjoying our services. We're sorry that we couldn't met your expectations regarding the food and we will send your comment to the F&B department. We would look forward to see you soon again... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We were at the Imperial Shams by the end of June for one week. The staff was very friendly and helpfully. The food was good if you want to order a la card you can make a reservation for the restarant in the first floor. The food there was also good. The rooms were big and clean. Beach is very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ShamsQM, Manager at Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ronny, thank you very much for your time to write your impressions of your vacation with us by TripAdvisor. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you soon back again. You are always welcome! Sunny greetings from The Management & Team More

Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I was In Egypt, at least ten times already, even in hotels with less stars, but this was the worst hotel because of: - In less than 15 minutes when the restaurant opened they ran out of plates or glasses or drink -the food was the same every day, in addition, to date the worst selection of food (desserts for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ShamsQM, Guest Relations Manager at Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort, responded to this review

Dear Cemo, thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We're sorry that we didn't meet your expectation in your vacation for the food and for sure we excuse when it has come up to short waiting times during the hotel was fully booked out in your travel time. We hope you enjoyed the sun, our beautiful beach and... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort

Address: Km 9 Safaga | Road Abu Soma, Safaga 84711, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Safaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Shams Abu Soma Hotel Safaga

110 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#3 Spa Hotel in Safaga #3 Top resorts Hotel in Safaga #5 On the Beach Hotel in Safaga #6 Luxury Hotel in Safaga
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort is located approximately 50 km south of Hurghada and adjacent to Safaga. A chain of isolated and breathtaking reefs with dramatic cliffs and plateaus determine here, the characteristic life in the sea. Because of its location, various dive sites and a large quantity of fishes can be found. The location offers not only numerous dive sites, but also one of the best windsurfing and kite surfing spots in Egypt, with ideal wind conditions through all year round.Excellent conditions for all activities on and under the water are available at the resort. Diving, windsurfing, kite surfing or snorkeling will be for all professionals, amateurs or beginners an unforgettable challenge and experience, but also the natural sand beach and the swimming pools invite all others for relaxing as well. An animation team and its sports program provide fun & entertainment for everyone. Kids Club with games, mini disco and more, all what children like. 322 rooms and suites are spread over a u-shaped building with fabulous front or side seaview, balcony or terrace, equipped with twin or king size beds, air conditioning, safe, mini fridge, satellite TV, telephone and a private bathroom with vanity mirror and hair dryer. The suites dispose partly over its own terrace or large roof garden with sun beds, seating and a personal-to-use Jacuzzi.Different kinds of restaurants & bars can be found in the Resort and the All Inclusive will fulfill all wishes and concerns with tasteful meals and a wide section of beverages. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
322

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer