We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Woodbridge

Hotel website
Hotel deals
874 Route 1 North, Avenel, NJ 07001
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Woodbridge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

For the most part I was very pleased with the location and the upgrades. My only two complaints; 1) the water never got hot enough. It always seemed warm but not hot and 2) in the morning the doors slamming up and down the corridor made for sleeping in a little trying. Not sure if it was housekeeping but the... More 

Helpful?
Thank ZQbert
Jenny H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodbridge, responded to this review

Dear ZQbert, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, but we do apologize for the inconveniences. We appreciate the feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve the customer experience. Thank you again, and... More 

Sauk City, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

The renovations are almost complete. The new rooms are wonderful. Can't wait for the rest to be finished. The front desk staff was great in handling every detail of my trip. Housekeeping does a wonderful job of keeping this place sparkling!

Helpful?
Thank Tim C
Jenny F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodbridge, responded to this review

Dear Tim C, Thank you for the wonderful review! We are pleased to hear that you loved our newly renovated guest rooms. We cannot wait for the renovations to be complete either as we know they are going to be amazing. Thank you again for the wonderful review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Holiday Inn... More 

Foxboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
297 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015 via mobile

I booked this hotel via Hotels.com where there are no indication of Pool, Spa, Laundry service is closed due to renovation. It was super disappointing and the staff said it is on our website. The free breakfast was so so. They only have two tables in the lobby so you end up eating in your room especially with friends and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Juripanda
Jenny F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodbridge, responded to this review

Dear Juripanda, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge. We do apologize that several of our amenities are closed due to renovations. There is a renovations alert noted on Hotels.com, however the location of the alert is very difficult to locate. We have been doing our best to... More 

Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015

Room was spotless, recently renovated to high standard, staff on reception could not be more helpful, used as base to visit NY by train, easy access to Statue of Liberty via Liberty Landing, some great local restaurants and shops, will stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Happas
Jenny F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodbridge, responded to this review

Dear Happas, Thank you so much for the fantastic review! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge and our newly renovated hotel. We greatly appreciate your 5-star review, and we look forward to seeing you during your next stay! Sincerely, Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
159 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

The air conditioner leaked on our room carpet and stayed wet the entire time we were there. The room is older but clean. The breakfast was large and filling. The bed was comfortable. While the area doesn't seem safe, we had no problems. The staff were very helpful. We would return.

Helpful?
Thank Robert L
Jenny F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodbridge, responded to this review

Dear Robert L, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your accommodations, but we do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We encourage our guests to contact management as soon as a problem arises so we can address it immediately. We would... More 

Villa Rica, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

My husband and I stopped at this Holiday Inn on a recent trip down the east coast as night was coming on and we needed to stop driving for the day. Being a member of the Priority Club I always try to look out for a Holiday Inn as they are generally good places to stay. We weren't disappointed here.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne W
Jenny F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodbridge, responded to this review

Dear Suzanne W, Wow - thank you! We are very happy to hear that you and your husband had a wonderful stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge! We greatly appreciate all of your wonderful comments, and we will be sure to share your review with the entire staff. Thank you again, and we hope to... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

Stayed there last weekend with our softball team had a contract since February. Arrived to find the hote under renovation, pool closed, workers banging at 730 in the morning. Someone could have told us they were rehabbing. 16 teenage girls, no pool, early morning construction. Even without construction, this hotel is so close (20 yards maybe) to the highway all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kenny M
Jenny F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodbridge, responded to this review

Dear Kenny M, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We have addressed your concerns with management and would like to take this opportunity to response. When you contacted the hotel in January about setting up a block of rooms, our general manager informed the group that the hotel would be undergoing renovations and the pool/spa... More 

Hernando, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

We were traveling to NYC for a combination Birthday and Mother's Day Celebration and stopped here late on a Friday night for a few hours sleep enroute. I should have trusted my instincts and common sense when I saw only a few cars in the parking lot at 9:00 PM. We did not get much sleep: traffic noise and air... More 

Helpful?
Thank Celt001
Jenny F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodbridge, responded to this review

Dear Celt001, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We apologize that you were not completely satisfied and experienced some inconveniences. We are close to a major highway, so some traffic noise is to be expected. We are currently in the process of renovating and within the renovation process, ample electrical outlets will be installed in... More 

Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

PROS--This may be the cleanest mid priced hotel at which I have ever stayed. Beds were especially comfortable with more pillows than I could use. The room overall was very large and inviting. Staff was pretty friendly and helpful, particularly the weekday overnight man. CONS--By today's standards, the included breakfast was only average. Variety was good, but it was only... More 

Helpful?
Thank shipmad
Jenny F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodbridge, responded to this review

Dear shipmad, Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge! We are very happy to hear that you had an outstanding stay and completely enjoyed all your accommodations and our exceptional staff. We are disappointed to hear that you weren't completely satisfied with our complimentary breakfast buffet, and we apologize... More 

Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
183 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Wife and I typically choose Holiday Inn Express when traveling - it provides everything we need including a decent breakfast, and is reasonably priced. We don't need elegance - functional is sufficient. The Woodbridge hotel was almost exactly halfway between home and our destination, so it made sense for us to stay there. The GPS got us to the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Monophoto-1
Jenny F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodbridge, responded to this review

Dear Monophoto, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Woodbridge! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, the amenities, and our wonderful staff for the duration of your stay. We do apologize that you experienced some inconveniences. The WiFi issues were addressed and have been... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (62)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avenel
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Woodbridge
Hampton Inn Woodbridge
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites at Woodbridge
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Woodbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
APA Hotel Woodbridge
APA Hotel Woodbridge
#2 of 3 in Iselin
3.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Woodbridge
Residence Inn Woodbridge
#1 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
3.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Edison/Woodbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay