We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 180 Hurghada hotels

The Grand Makadi

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Grand Makadi to your Saves list
The Grand Makadi
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
78%
Ranked #40 of 180 Hotels in Hurghada
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Kevin C Durham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    217
    115
    37
    17
See reviews for
176
399
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stopped at the Grand Makadi in June 2014. Read a lot of the reviews and was a bit hesitant of what to expect. on arrival into hotel at half past midnight, looked a bit disorganised at first. but soon sorted, got a bag of food(two sandwich's,juice fruit)as nothing open. Good touch. the bit that people did not like much was,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GrandMakadiTeam, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review

Dear Guests, we would like to thank you for staying at the Grand Makadi and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us. We are happy you had en enjoyable stay at Grand Makadi. We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us. Best Regards Hotel Management More

Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What an excellent hotel. We wanted to enjoy a snorkelling holiday, and the Grand Makadi couldn't have been a better choice for it. Straight from the beach into coral sea. Divers from all-over came here. To our surprise (despite some reviews) the quality of the hotel was great too. Quite a few good restaurants on site, with several menus to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GrandMakadiTeam, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review

Dear Guests, we would like to thank youfor staying at the Grand Makadi and taking the time to share your valuable comment wiht us. We are happy you had an enjoyable stay at Grand Makadi. We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us. Best Regards and all the best Hotel Management More

1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is the first time I have written a review on any holiday but felt compelled to do so after returning home from our honeymoon at The Grand Makadi hotel. We had already booked this with our wedding money when we looked at some of the poor reviews on here. We were concerned to say the least that we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
GrandMakadiTeam, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review

Dear Guests, we would like to thank you for staying at the Grand Makadi and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us. We are happy you had en enjoyable stay at Grand Makadi. We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us. Best Regards Hotel Management More

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was our first trip to Egypt and we will certainly be back!!! Makadi Palace is one of the loveliest places we have ever stayed. Tha stuff of the makai palace are very helpful exactly the reception stuff. Shriba the Desk Manager is very helpful and make our holiday very nice. We are looking to back to Makadi Palace.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GrandMakadiTeam, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review

Dear Guests, we would like to thank you for staying at the Grand Makadi and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us. We are happy you had en enjoyable stay at Grand Makadi. We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us. Best Regards Hotel Management More

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Only two major problems with hotel,the swimming pools are not up to scratch,especially for kids,and the shower pressure in non-existent.we complained straight away,and got given access to the grand palace. All the people who worked I both hotels were 100% helpful?.I personally blame the tour operators for selling the grand makadi at a 5 star,it most defiantly isn't ,3 at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GrandMakadiTeam, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your review I assure you we welcome all constructive criticism and I am deeply sorry to hear we did not meet your personal expectations. All aspects of your comments have been observed and I am certain your feedback will lead to our beneficial favor. The points that you have noted, were discussed with the appropriate... More

Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Grand Makadi, 12-18th July. Upon arrival at the airport we were left a little complexed by the cost of the visa. Our travel agent had told us to pay $25 US each, which we exchanged especially. We then read some reviews that they accept Euro and Stirling. Anyway, the actual... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
GrandMakadiTeam, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for expressing your personal impressions I regret to hear of your disappointment and feel we have let ourselves down by failing to demonstrate our strengths. As we welcome all constructive criticism regarding the hotel I remain certain the team and I will strive to resolve your mentioned concerns and likewise improve our product. We hope to... More

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

First of all...this is not a 5 star hotel! It may have been originally when it opened, but now id say it was 3-4 star! Saying that, if your looking for a bargain getaway, to relax and enjoy the sun, if you get a good deal here then you cant go wrong! Think i paid around £700 for two people... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GrandMakadiTeam, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review

Dear Guests, we would like to thank you for staying at the Grand Makadi and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us. The other points that you have noted, were discussed with the appropriate departments, and introduced measures for improvements. We hope to welcome you one more time at Grand Makadi and send you sunny greetings. Hotel... More

Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Before I talk about the hotel, please don't pay more than £17 entering Egypt, I'd been told 15 but apparently it's gone up. On entering the airport terminal pay at the bank Not to the touts in front who are overcharging. Don't know how this is allowed but heyho. And it was an horrendous experience getting through passport control like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GrandMakadiTeam, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review

Dear Guests, we would like to thank you for staying at the Grand Makadi and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us. The points that you have noted, were discussed with the appropriate departments, and introduced measures for improvements. We hope to welcome you one more time at Grand Makadi and send you sunny greetings The Hotel... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Hi All, i will hopefully keep this simple Airport Arrival Nightmare, they charge what they want its all cash and who knows who gets it? Transfer 30 mins good Accomodation Needs TLC BUT 7/10 Food- 9/10 Good choice, you can choose from 7 restaurants, however booking is a nightmare, miserable old person who never smiles takes the bookings between 10-12... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GrandMakadiTeam, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review

Dear Guests, we would like to thank you for staying at the Grand Makadi and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us. The points that you have noted, were discussed with the appropriate departments, and introduced measures for improvements. We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us. Best Regards... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed at The Grand Makadi in March 2014 whilst booking a very cheap last minute deal with a colleague. The hotel was fairly accommodating, but the quality of the amenities were average at best. The hotel benefitted from the access to the neighbouring hotel and the availability to eat at the number of restaurants within the Makadi Bay Area.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GrandMakadiTeam, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review

Dear Guests, we would like to thank you for staying at the Grand Makadi and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us. The points that you have noted, were discussed with the appropriate departments, and introduced measures for improvements. We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us. Best Regards... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Grand Makadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Grand Makadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Makadi

Address: Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Makadi 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Grand Makadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Makadi Hotel Hurghada
Grand Makadi Hurghada
Grand Makadi Bay

652 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (633)
Viewed
Room/suite (64)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (114)
Viewed
View from room (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (127)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
0:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (242)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Hurghada with
any amenities