We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 Dahab B&Bs / inns

Sheikh Salem House

El Melal Street | Eel Garden, Assalah, Dahab 14611, Egypt
Hotel amenities
Sheikh Salem House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sheikh Salem House to your Saves list
Ranked #18 of 25 Dahab B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013
Atef_Cinemania Cairo, Egypt
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
11
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (37)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Ha, I've never stayed in a hostel this far off the deep end before. Nasty dirty, there was a padlock on the door from the outside so we couldn't lock it from the inside and there was a huge opening above the door to the common area so privacy was non existent or anyone wanting to creep in could have.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheikhs, Business Partner at Sheikh Salem House, responded to this review

Dear Sue, We are very sad to read your review and i am personally sorry that you were given a room which should not have been given to guests at this time. Unfortunately on the date you stayed the guest house was almost full and you were given a room which is in much need of attention. This situation should... More 

Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you don't give much care for the room service and want enjoy staying in one of the best locations in Dahab this place is quite nice. It has nice arabian sit on the beach for tanning in the morning, and wounderful night time with friends for driniking and listining to music. Very close to the local market where you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great stay as a returning customer. Thank you Nicole and Hasan for making it memorable and enjoyable. What I asked for I got, Hamad was an outstanding waiter/ look after the guest in every aspect ones holidays should see fit. The front rooms have mind blowing views, great price. Keep the news off the TV, stop the black dog barking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
15 hotel reviews
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have been coming to Dahab since 2003. I have been staying at Sheikh Salem House since 2006. This year it was closed for a few months for renovations and I was lucky it opened in time for my stay on this trip to Dahab. I am staying at Sheikh Salem House from April 9 to May 3 2013. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Love the place ,been going there for 3 years in a row without a problem. A real taste of local life. Nicole is really accommodating. Staff are really honest, after a good night out, my camera fell out of my bag in the restaurant- 7am the next morning I had a knock on my door. A member of the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
northwest
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I cannot fault this hotel at all ....for price, unbeatable...........staff.Nicole and Mohamed are great, so helpful in every aspect. Location for me was great .............10 mins stroll to centre of Dahab but quiet enough to relax and be away from the noise. 2 mins walk to the shops of Assallah Square, where you can get anything you want. Rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My husband, mother in law, and I stayed at Sheikh Salem for 7 nights. We had a great stay! The staff here are very helpful, and The Lazy Camel Cafe is wonderful to relax in and enjoy sounds of the Sea. The rooms are cheap, clean and basic. Just how we like them for 16 months of travel. JIt is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

This was my second time round at the Sheik and I must say this little laid-back place at the northern edge of Dahab has become my second (spiritual) home - a gem of a place right on the beach! And according to the lovely and helpful owner Nicole the throat chakra ley lines pulsing just underneath! Reading some previous rather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I do not normally put pen to paper but in the interests of balance and fairness I felt that I had to.I was very surprised at the experience of the family mentioned previously as it was the total opposite of mine.Having stayed at Sheik Salem many times both solo and with my children I have never encountered cockroaches,lack of towels,dirty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ellensburg, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

This place is terrible! We went for our family vacation with some friends and their kids, from 4 to 11 years old. We stayed there 4 days 3 nights. My friends had to move to another hotel cuz they couldn't stay another night there. But we wanted to give this hotel the benefit of the doubt cuz of the other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sheikh Salem House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheikh Salem House

Address: El Melal Street | Eel Garden, Assalah, Dahab 14611, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Sheikh Salem House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Near Sheikh Salem House

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby