We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Avalon B&Bs / inns

Avalon Inn

Save Saved
You added Avalon Inn to your Saves list
Avalon, NJ
Hotel amenities
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #2 of 2 Avalon B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    1
    1
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

I was in Avalon, NJ to attend a wedding. The Avalon Inn was listed as one of the options for places to stay on our invite. I originally was opting to stay with a friend, but decided last minute (two days prior to the wedding) to reserve a hotel room due to some changing plans. My fiance made reservations and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Philly
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The carpet and floors felt so unclean that we wore our flip flops the whole stay. An old bottle of salad dressing was left in the fridge and there was no soap left by the maids for us to use. We killed a dozen flies in our room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6

Travelers are raving about these Avalon hotels

trappe
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

This has to be the best hotel I have ever visited! I am a busy 14 year old and barely have time to wright this review but want I feel it is necessary after reading previous reviews. I undrstand that some people have complained of a foul odor in the rooms. That is called the OCEAN. If you are paying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

We stayed for 5 nights (sunday through thursday) and loved it. Our room opened up onto the large terrace with tables and umbrellas. We always found everything very clean and tidy. The owners were hands on which was a big plus for us since we have twin boys and like things kept in check. The kids loved the pool and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wexford, PA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

After calling other hotels in Avalon that were booked, the Avalon Inn had vacancies to my surprise. After we entered the room and smelled the foul odor, I understood why there were vacancies. The room smelled like there were 900 pairs of sweaty sneakers hiding under the bed. I told the front desk about the odor and was told housekeeping... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
rubuck, Owner - Manager at Avalon Inn, responded to this review

The 'foul' odor in the room is called the SEASHORE. The Head Housekeeper actually paid a visit to the room and took care of the 'smell' with Febreeze, which when the guest complained about the odor, asked if we could use Febreeze. Said that would be fine. As far as irons, we don't stock them in every room, but loan... More

Philly
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

A few friends and I decided to go to the Avalon/Stone Harbor area for the weekend. We tried booking a bunch of places and this place was the only one left with availability. Well, no wonder, because no one would ever choose to stay here. The owners are extremely rude, the place has strange odors and the rules let me... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
rubuck, Owner - Manager at Avalon Inn, responded to this review

It's usually the rule breakers and cheaters that complain about the rules. 99.9% of our guests love the fact that we keep a close watch on the place. They feel safe, secure and relaxed. More

New Jersey
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2007

This was by far the most disgusting hotel I've ever stayed at. The rooms are dark and moldy and OVERPRICED. We tried to book several hotels prior to settling for this one, and now I know why the rest of Stone Harbor/Avalon stays away from this place. The owners are extremely rude and keep a list of rules and have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
philadelphia pa
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

I have never paid so much money to be treated so poorly - for $280.00 a night at a MINIMUM you expect to be treated civilly. But no, at the Avalon Inn the owners run their hotel with a senior week mentality. In other words, if you are a guest arriving without children and are in your 30's expect to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
rubuck, Owner - Manager at Avalon Inn, responded to this review

The 5 so-called professionals were actually 5 women on a party weekend. The original reservation was made by fax (still have a copy) for two (2) persons! NEVER said that there would be five (5). Tried to sneak the extras in the room without paying the extra $15. Some professionals!!? Can't afford to pay for the extras and tried to... More

Delaware
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

The Avalon Inn is friendly and hospitable! Rooms clean and spacious, although the bathrooms are tiny. They enforce nighttime quiet hours. Nice pool. You can leave your car there, use a visitor's shower/changing room with shower, and use their beach tags the day you check out if you want to stay all day. My only problem is with the morning-to-night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2005

Booked an overnight at the Avalon. It is a large motel-like hotel. Room had a separate sitting area with tv., a refrigerator, microwave and sink/kitchen area stocked with dishes etc. Shower was pretty weak but clean and dark. Bathroom was small to average size. There were two seats outside room to sit and enjoy the fresh air with a free... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Been to Avalon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Inn

Address: Avalon, NJ
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Avalon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
800-45-AVALN ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Avalon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.