We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Inn Hotel

3.0 of 5 Oceanfront at 78th Street, Avalon, NJ 08202
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Inn Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Golden Inn Hotel
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    81
    50
    33
    49
See reviews for
104
65
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (311)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (149)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (81)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
bensalem, pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went for the girlfriend's weekend packge and most definitely did not get what we paid for and were shafted on top of that. First, we were put in the wing with very noisy construction in process bright and early almost every day of our stay, instead of the correct wing slated for this package. Aside from the noise; the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Golden Inn is a tired hotel that needs some serious updating. That being said, there was construction going on in one of the wings, so hopefully it is getting a much needed make-over. Entering the lobby you would never believe you were at the beach. The lobby reminds me of a hotel that caters to skiers and not beach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've been bringing my business for a working retreat to the Golden Inn for years, and while most of the time, we've had a good experience, this year was our best year yet. The renovations in the Sandpiper room made for a very enjoyable experience within a room that we spent two whole days working in. The new state of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are just back from a 2 day retreat for work at the hotel. We had a great time! The food was great and the staff unbelieveably nice and accomodating. They went above and beyond to make sure our group had everything they needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lakewood
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a large group of around 250 people including children.The hotel went way beyond the call of duty by satisfying all of our special needs.Angelo knows it all on his own.They understand our needs without any prodding.Jess is super efficient.The whole staff is super in every facet.There was however a serious issue and that was the mixing of other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lakewood, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were there this past weekend with a large group. We all had a fantastic time. The staff was extremely accommodating with many special requests our group had. The rooms were clean and spacious. We'd give this hotel very high marks! One constructive criticism I would offer: It would be helpful to keep different groups and parties on different floors... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lakewood, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came as part of a large group of families for as a special midwinter weekend getaway, and I have no words to describe the incredible experience my family and I had at the Golden Inn. I wish I can remember the names of all of the front desk people to thank them individually, but I do not. All I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A large group of more than seventy rooms came together for a two day weekend ,January30 and 31.Our group leader outdid himself .He arranged great activities on Saturday night including an awesome magician.The food was brought in from the outside as it had to be kosher.It was delicious.Everything went great until we went to sleep Saturday night. At about two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All I can say about this place it was absolutely awful… It's called. And we called and what happened was we were told of the bar would be open to weeks ago and then we got there and it was not open and there were many many many many many many many children running around a couple and we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GoldenInnAVALONbeach, General Manager at Golden Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jmt810, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am very sorry that you disliked the amount of children and families we had at the hotel during your stay. I understand this environment is not for everyone. Unfortunately, we are a family resort and this can some times be par for the course.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Avalon hotels

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 via mobile

This was my first time ever there and I have to say I was impressed!!! We were a very large group and the staff was amazing. From the moment I walked in the door to the moment I checked out the staff was so helpful and EXTREMELY friendly. Food and rooms were amazing as well. I would definately stay here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Golden Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Inn Hotel

Address: Oceanfront at 78th Street, Avalon, NJ 08202
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Avalon
Golden Inn Avalon Nj

189 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (120)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Beach (21)
Viewed
East Wing Efficiency Room (48)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay