We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Puerto Ayora hotels

Hotel Fernandina

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 de Febrero & Seymour Street, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Fernandina to your Saves list
Hotel Fernandina
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
65%
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Jennifer T Liverpool, United Kingdom
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    34
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
11
27
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After staying in La Laguna on Isabela for 3 nights (which is gorgeous by the way) we were a little disappointed with our 2 nights in Fernandina. The food was good and decent portions. I was given a twin room on the ground floor and my parents a king room on the first floor. I immediately asked to be moved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review

On behalf of Fernandina Hotel, please accept our apologize for the inconvenient with the pool area during your stay in our hotel. I´m glad to hear that our reception staff help you to change to a new room and that you were happy with our breakfast service. Please be informed that we have been working with the pool area to... More

Stillwater, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed here for a few days after being spoiled rotten with the service on an 8-day cruise. When we checked in, we were told that we were booked into a small room with a twin bed. Ha! We asked to be put into a bigger room; the only one available had 3 beds (a queen and two twins). Unfortunately,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment, I do apologize for the inconvenience during your stay with us. It is a shame that your trip was in winter season where insects come because of the rains. Let me inform you that we take seriously all the comments and we have taken the precautionary measures for each department making improvements to our breakfast service... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were booked at this hotel by our tour company. When we checked in , we noticed that there were flies in the room. Hotel is located 2 blocks from the sea, so no sea view. On an island, i guess you would expect some sea view or to be closer to the beach. Our room was at the third... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment, I do apologize for the inconvenient that you had during your stay. Let me inform to you that our staff always check the rooms before each check in, unfortunately with the change of season, the arrival of insects are unpredictable, however these are not harmful to health, about the lift we don´t have one because... More

Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I loved pulling up to this place and seeing the two parts of the hotel across the street from one another , and we loved the turtle keys for each room. We had reserved 14 rooms for a school trip and everyone seemed very happy. The water pressure was nice, the towels were nice, and the AC was great! The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

In order to post this review I had to give this "place" one star. Zero rating is the proper one! Recommended for persons that need a room to stay if they can tolerate, rat droppings, no hot water, dirty bed coverings (what looked like,urine stains, hairs etc.) limited lighting, no A/C, small to no windows in the rooms. Multiple stairs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario, nos es grato saber que disfrutó de una cómoda estadía con nosotros. Le invitamos a que... More

Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I continued to reassess my opinion of this dump in light of comments of others. Maybe there is another Fernandina in another galaxy. Consider these facts and draw your own conclusions. We (all 8 of us in 4 rooms) found the following: pubic hair on sheets; what appeared to be urine stains on blanket; no air conditioning; warm tap water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review

On behalf of Fernandina Hotel, please accept my apology for your inconvenient. I am certainly disappointed by the lack of cleanliness you experienced in your guest room. Your experience falls way below our standards. We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. As an apologize... More

Muskego, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

WE spent a week in Puerto Ayora, and Hotel Fernandina. The courtyard is beautiful, and the office staff was very friendly! We were in room 13, tucked away from most of the rooms, but it was very large, clean and offered excellent internet access. The breakfast buffet was fresh and delicious every morning! The pool and hot tub are right... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review
Google Translation

Agradecemos su comentario, será un placer que se hospede con nosotros nuevamente. Saludos. Hotel Fernandina. More

Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The hotel is nice and well kept. It is also conveniently located: with a quick stroll one can reach the Darwin Center, a quiet beach, the fish market, and a lot of restaurants and shops in Puerto Ayora. We have been given two rooms: both were big, airy and very clean, with a private bathroom and air conditioning. Breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review
Google Translation

Agradecemos su comentario, esperamos que en un futuro cercano se hospede con nosotros nuevamente. Hotel Fernandina. More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights before our cruise. We had an enormous room on the top floor with a huge window for great fresh air. We were very comfortable. Breakfast was substantial and good. Staff were all friendly and helpful. I think people wouldn't complain about some irregularities if they remember where they are. Galapagos is remote and it is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We landed at Hotel Fernandina courtesy of the travel agency that arranged our one-week trip. We (family of four divided into two rooms) had a pleasant stay. Here's why. Hotel Fernandina is a low-rise (two level) hotel on a quiet street, about 3 blocks from the "bustling downtown" of Puerto Ayora. We encountered two managers, one a friendly and accommodating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Fernandina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Fernandina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fernandina

Address: 18 de Febrero & Seymour Street, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Fernandina 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Fernandina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernandina Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Fernandina Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Puerto Ayora with
any amenities