We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Fernandina

18 de Febrero & Seymour Street, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Fernandina
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Fernandina
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    44
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
16
29
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (104)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
El Segundo, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Fernandina during a recent trip to the Galapagos. My travel agent arranged for this and it was an excellent choice for us. The buffet breakfast was plentiful, with plenty of fruit everyday. We also had dinner one night and we both felt the fish was excellent and it was very convenient to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review

Dear Guest It is important for us to know you had a good experience with us, is our policy to provide our customers the best service during your visit to the Galapagos Islands We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Best regards, Hotel Fernandina More 

Peniscola
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Having read some of the other reviews, my expectation levels were quite low and I was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is very pretty set around a pretty courtyard and the rooms are large with a comfortable bed, plenty of storage space and a bigger than average bathroom. It's very close to the shops and port but being it's a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is gratifying to know that enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff was of great help to you during your stay. We want to give you an apologize for the inconvenience with internet connection, this is a matter of the supplier company to the Galapagos Islands. We continue to work hard to provide quality service.... More 

Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Wasn't expecting much in Puerto Ayora so was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It was clean, had a good AC and typical, but nice, buffet breakfast in a pleasant (although a bit dark) breakfast room. (Good lighting is not exactly a high point of many places in Ecuador, or Latin America, for that matter.) I appreciated their good coffee! Good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review

Dear Friend, We really appreciate your comments and is good for us to know that you had a nice stay with us, we will consider your comments to improve our service. Regards, Hotel Fernandina. More 

Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Everything worked well, the hotel was clean, the staff was very kind and the location is good (less than 10-minute walk from the port). The breakfast is simple but ok and the shower was hot and did not give us trouble. The wifi was slow as most places in Galapagos.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review

Dear Gabriel, Thanks for taking a few minutes to leave a message, we are glad to know that your stay was pleasant, our staff strives every day to provide the best service to our guests Hope to see you again in the close future. Best regards, Fernandina Hotel More 

Tampa, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

This hotel was our stop after a fantastic trip to the islands. The hotel was clean and basic. The bathrooms seemed enormous, but it could be that we had just been on a small ship for a week. Breakfast was served buffet style and was fresh. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The location is within easy walking distance to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment, it's a pleasure for us to know that our staff offered you a good service during your stay with us. We are still working for give to our guest a good experience when visit the Galapagos Islands. Our best wishes for you in this 2015. Best regards, Hotel Fernandina More 

Holladay, Utah
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
31 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Our room was clean and pleasant for our one night stay. The location is easy walking distance to the shops and harbor. Breakfast was quite good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We did not use the pool but it is across the road from where we stayed. Better places are had in other places in the world, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review

Dear friend, Thanks for take a moment for leave us a comment. It´s a pleasure to know that you had a good experience with us, we are working a lot for give to our guest the best service. We hope to see you soon again. Best regards, Hotel Fernandina More 

Acapulco, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Pleasant, quiet hotel with air conditioning, good food, excellent service and at a location within easy walking distance of the Darwin Center and the Catholic 'Isla de la Santa Cruz' -- Puerto Ayora is the town on Isla Santa Cruz, the obligatory first stop after landing on Baltra Island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review

Thanks for taking a few minutes to post a positive comment. It's A pleasure to our staff provide the best service to our guests. Regards, Hotel Fernandina. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

After staying in La Laguna on Isabela for 3 nights (which is gorgeous by the way) we were a little disappointed with our 2 nights in Fernandina. The food was good and decent portions. I was given a twin room on the ground floor and my parents a king room on the first floor. I immediately asked to be moved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review

On behalf of Fernandina Hotel, please accept our apologize for the inconvenient with the pool area during your stay in our hotel. I´m glad to hear that our reception staff help you to change to a new room and that you were happy with our breakfast service. Please be informed that we have been working with the pool area to... More 

Stillwater, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed here for a few days after being spoiled rotten with the service on an 8-day cruise. When we checked in, we were told that we were booked into a small room with a twin bed. Ha! We asked to be put into a bigger room; the only one available had 3 beds (a queen and two twins). Unfortunately,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment, I do apologize for the inconvenience during your stay with us. It is a shame that your trip was in winter season where insects come because of the rains. Let me inform you that we take seriously all the comments and we have taken the precautionary measures for each department making improvements to our breakfast service... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were booked at this hotel by our tour company. When we checked in , we noticed that there were flies in the room. Hotel is located 2 blocks from the sea, so no sea view. On an island, i guess you would expect some sea view or to be closer to the beach. Our room was at the third... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment, I do apologize for the inconvenient that you had during your stay. Let me inform to you that our staff always check the rooms before each check in, unfortunately with the change of season, the arrival of insects are unpredictable, however these are not harmful to health, about the lift we don´t have one because... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question