We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca

Av. Quito y Av. Tulcan, Ecuador
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
Professional photos View all
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
Add Your Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
8
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (35)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Hillsboro, Oregon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Very large clean rooms. Was a bit of a hike from the water, but used the $1 cabs when I was lazy. Breakfast was just ok but was included. Also had free wifi which worked pretty well. Our AC didn't work and for three days was not fixed - that is my only complaint about this hotel. Very nice staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rafael C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimada cliente, muchas gracias por su opinión. Nos ayuda a mejorar nuestro servicio para que sea mejor cada día. Lamentamos... More 

California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015 via mobile

The hotel is located in a quieter neighborhood yet easy to walk to the harbor area. Rooms are have ample space, nice beds, with very neat sheets and comfy pillows. The property is maintained very well. A pool and Jaccuzi to relax after tours. The owner's family members and Rafael have great customer service. Breakfast and other meals were delicious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rafael C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimada cliente, agradecemos mucho su opinión acerca de nuestro hotel. Para nosotros fue un placer servirle y atenderle. Esperamos que... More 

Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

Well, San Cristobal does not have too much to offer, nature is wonderful but moving around is not that easy, This hotel is up on one hill and 12-15 minutes on foot from the harbor, The rooms are big but that's all, hot water sometimes does not work, internet in exceedingly slow, breakfast is always the same and not that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rafael C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su opinión estimado pasajero. Lamento cualquier inquietud que haya tenido. Por desgracia el internet en las Islas... More 

Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
59 hotel reviews
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

This hotel was part of a package I prearranged so I was not aware of other choices. I was there for 3 nights and meals were included. It is not in the best location as I would have liked to be near the pier as there may have been more to do. The room was very nice and it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rafael C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I completely understand your concerns. Unfortunately our hotel is more for people who come in family to enjoy nature of the Galapagos Islands. I, like you, a Bed & Breakfast hotel would have been perfect for you. One for backpackers who come to drink beer and walk around the town. The food we offer in our hotel is... More 

Cartagena, Bolivar, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Stayed there while diving and fishing in September. It was a nice place with large rooms and comfortable beds. There was always plenty of hot water clean rooms. The breakfast was good and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The only negative was that it was a long walk to the waterfront or a taxi ride. I would stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rafael C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this review
Google Translation

Le agradecemos mucho por su opinión. La misma la haremos extensiva a todo nuestro personal. Esperamos con mucho gusto su... More 

Marin County
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We just returned from Ecuador...and found the hotel clean, pool nice, hot showers, but the best was the staff. The desk person is a very helpful young man from Cuba...I believe he has only been there a couple months. But he was incredible. My husband left his wallet in backseat of taxi...and was trying to catch the taxi...this young man... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rafael C, Gerente at The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this review

Dear guests, We are very thankfull for your great review. We always do what we can in order to help our guests. I will notify to our staff about your opinion. We will be more than happy to assist you the next time you come to Ecuador. Best wishes, Ing. Rafael Alejandro Cuza Villarreal More 

Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Location is about a 15 minute uphill walk from the waterfront near the pier. Normally this wouldn’t be an issue because taxi rides are only $1, however we were never lucky enough to get a taxi from the hotel down to the pier. We probably could have asked the hotel to call us one, but instead we ended up walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rafael C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimada pasajera, agradecemos mucho su opinión y le aseguro que la haremos extensiva con nuestro personal en el hotel para... More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful, and at the same time quite informal. The breakfast was fair and, although we did not use it, the pool looked great. Cons: The location. It is several blocks uphill and when you return from an excursion, somewhat tired, you can find this annoying. This may result in wanting to get a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rafael C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado pasajero, le agradecemos mucho su opinión, le aseguro que se la haremos llegar al personal en el hotel. Esperaremos... More 

Moretown, Vermont, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My room was clean, although dated. In 3 nights I never once had hot water, no matter how long I left it running or when I tried. Breakfast was good and the WiFi worked. However, it was the only one of 5 hotels I stayed at in Ecuador that required me to sit in a common area for internet access.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rafael C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado cliente, le agradecemos mucho su opinión, haremos extensivo su sentir al personal de nuestro hotel, esperamos con mucho gusto... More 

Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The worst hotel I've stayed at overall. The floor of our room smelled like dirty feet. The place is totally out of the center of town so you must take a taxi to the harbor. For the money it is the worst. Do Not Stay Here!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question