We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gran Hostal Tintorera

Ecuador
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gran Hostal Tintorera
Professional photos View all
Gran Hostal Tintorera
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    1
    4
    5
See reviews for
4
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Whitehorse, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Do not go! owner was rude, trips were unorganized, rooms were stinky and filled with bugs. I would honestly rather sleep in a toilet then sleep in the Gran Hostel Tintoera. However they do have hot showers, but still...not worth the time and money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cecilia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hostal Tintorera, responded to this review
Google Translation

mi querido amigo porque mentir si hay que reconocer sus errores claro que mejor culpar al hostal sus actos, llegaron... More 

Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Had a broken air conditioner before we arrived, said it would be fixed and when it wasn't, tried to blame it on us that we'd broken it again. Was threatening and said they would get the police if we didn't pay $1200 US. Then, $400. Still not police though. Then would not let us on our boat they had arranged... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cecilia A, Gerente at Gran Hostal Tintorera, responded to this review
Google Translation

Este comentario es de uno de los 4 chicos que dañaron el aire acondicionado en el hostal y apesar de... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

I would not recommend this place to anyone, worst hostel I have ever been to! When we got to our room the air conditioning dId not work nor the wifi. The tours leaving from the hostal were very confusing, people were missing their tours and the tours they did go on were very below average. The real problem started when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cecilia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hostal Tintorera, responded to this review
Google Translation

es una pena que usted escriba mentiras ya que usted nuca ha estado hospedado en mi hostal y estoy segura... More 

Village, null, Cook Islands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

From the moment we contacted gran tintorera hostal we had nothing else to worry about . They a ranged boat transposition from Santa Cruz to Isabela island. We got to Isabela we had tintorera transportation to our hostal and all over Island. The rooms smelled nice and we're very clean . We had 3 twin beds and one full size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Very basic accommodation without even a sink plug or towel hooks, and soap in a dispenser. There were three single beds so we pushed two together. Poor water pressure in the shower but a good value laundry service ($1 per kilo and my tops returned lovely smelling). Breakfast was a choice of fruit, juice, fatty strip bacon, scrambled eggs, tasty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cecilia A, Propietario at Gran Hostal Tintorera, responded to this review
Google Translation

El hostal tintorera es nuevo recién acondicionado y existen algunos pequeños detalles por mejorar como colgadores tenemos colgadores para la... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms perfect for functional sleeping. Don't expect more. Our rooms only had a bed, 1 closet and that was it. No chairs, table or anything to make you feel at home. The showers are also way below par. Almost no pressure and hardly any water. Don't go here if you want to feel at home or are looking for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were supposed to have 4 nights here over Christmas - we'd just been on a cruise and wanted a base where we could take it at a slower pace for a few days. We'd checked out the website and had liked the idea of the garden & hammocks. What was previously a garden is now a building site -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cecilia A, Propietario at Gran Hostal Tintorera, responded to this review
Google Translation

el hostal tintorera consta en el mapa de isabela cuando las personas hacen la reserva se le da toda la... More 

Ottawa
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Hotel was in construction so I mentioned I would be moving out the following day since it was late when I arrived. The next day, coming back from a tour, someone was coming out of my room. When I asked the owner why he gave access to my paid room, with my luggage still in it, he told me I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Swansea
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located at the back of the town but is still only a 10 minute walk to the beach. Outside there is a shaded area with hammocks, perfect for relaxing. Also, there's a kitchen and dining area available to use. The rooms are spotlessly clean, with air con and powerful hot showers. Staff can help organise tours for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Cecilia A, Propietario at Gran Hostal Tintorera, responded to this review
Google Translation

saludos gracias por escribir una opinion sobre hostal tintorera,espero que su estadia en galapagos y en espacial en isabela hayan... More 

Bern, Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

nice place to stay, clean, simple rooms, plenty of hot water, family run, very helpful and friendly. 10 Minutes walk to the beach. Family member is also a natural guide; snorkelling, visiting the volcano, and lots more. I can recommend this place, because the people are really nice!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Cecilia A, Propietario at Gran Hostal Tintorera, responded to this review
Google Translation

gracias estamos para servirte More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question