We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gran Hostal Tintorera

Ecuador
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gran Hostal Tintorera
Professional photos View all
Gran Hostal Tintorera
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    6
    5
    2
    4
    5
See reviews for
5
3
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (22)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is not a luxury hotel, it's very basic. However, it's clean and the beds are comfortable. What more do you need? I don't go on vacation to spend time in a hotel - they are for sleeping only. The breakfast was good and made fresh daily. The hammocks at the front of the hotel were appreciated and used often... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

This hotel, like most of Isabella, is still a work in progress, but the owner, Ceci, was incredibly helpful in arranging tours for our stay, and her employees were friendly and helpful. If we needed towels, snacks, extra toilet paper, or whatever, they were happy to provide. For the price, it was very reasonable, and close to town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whitehorse, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Do not go! owner was rude, trips were unorganized, rooms were stinky and filled with bugs. I would honestly rather sleep in a toilet then sleep in the Gran Hostel Tintoera. However they do have hot showers, but still...not worth the time and money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cecilia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hostal Tintorera, responded to this review
Google Translation

mi querido amigo porque mentir si hay que reconocer sus errores claro que mejor culpar al hostal sus actos, llegaron... More 

Travelers are raving about these Isabela hotels

Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Had a broken air conditioner before we arrived, said it would be fixed and when it wasn't, tried to blame it on us that we'd broken it again. Was threatening and said they would get the police if we didn't pay $1200 US. Then, $400. Still not police though. Then would not let us on our boat they had arranged... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cecilia A, Gerente at Gran Hostal Tintorera, responded to this review
Google Translation

Este comentario es de uno de los 4 chicos que dañaron el aire acondicionado en el hostal y apesar de... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

I would not recommend this place to anyone, worst hostel I have ever been to! When we got to our room the air conditioning dId not work nor the wifi. The tours leaving from the hostal were very confusing, people were missing their tours and the tours they did go on were very below average. The real problem started when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cecilia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hostal Tintorera, responded to this review
Google Translation

es una pena que usted escriba mentiras ya que usted nuca ha estado hospedado en mi hostal y estoy segura... More 

Village, null, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

From the moment we contacted gran tintorera hostal we had nothing else to worry about . They a ranged boat transposition from Santa Cruz to Isabela island. We got to Isabela we had tintorera transportation to our hostal and all over Island. The rooms smelled nice and we're very clean . We had 3 twin beds and one full size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Very basic accommodation without even a sink plug or towel hooks, and soap in a dispenser. There were three single beds so we pushed two together. Poor water pressure in the shower but a good value laundry service ($1 per kilo and my tops returned lovely smelling). Breakfast was a choice of fruit, juice, fatty strip bacon, scrambled eggs, tasty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cecilia A, Propietario at Gran Hostal Tintorera, responded to this review
Google Translation

El hostal tintorera es nuevo recién acondicionado y existen algunos pequeños detalles por mejorar como colgadores tenemos colgadores para la... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms perfect for functional sleeping. Don't expect more. Our rooms only had a bed, 1 closet and that was it. No chairs, table or anything to make you feel at home. The showers are also way below par. Almost no pressure and hardly any water. Don't go here if you want to feel at home or are looking for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were supposed to have 4 nights here over Christmas - we'd just been on a cruise and wanted a base where we could take it at a slower pace for a few days. We'd checked out the website and had liked the idea of the garden & hammocks. What was previously a garden is now a building site -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cecilia A, Propietario at Gran Hostal Tintorera, responded to this review
Google Translation

el hostal tintorera consta en el mapa de isabela cuando las personas hacen la reserva se le da toda la... More 

Ottawa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Hotel was in construction so I mentioned I would be moving out the following day since it was late when I arrived. The next day, coming back from a tour, someone was coming out of my room. When I asked the owner why he gave access to my paid room, with my luggage still in it, he told me I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isabela
0.0 mi away
Hotel Coral Blanco
Hotel Coral Blanco
#8 of 10 in Isabela
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#3 of 19 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Mangrove Cally Lodge
Red Mangrove Cally Lodge
#10 of 15 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Floreana Lava Lodge
Floreana Lava Lodge
#1 of 1 in Floreana
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge
Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay