We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Novo Horizonte

Area Branca, Meti-Aut East Timor, Dili 12345, East Timor (Formerly Dili 2001 Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dili
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hotel Novo Horizonte
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Novo was my first home back in 2012, i think that the Hotel is ok with the price, the rooms with private bathroom are a plus, AC works well and the beds are big and clean, the breakfast was good but the hotel was full of UN Staff, i dont know how could be now.

Helpful?
Thank Carlos M
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015 via mobile

Price is very attractive but do not expect cleanness. Refrigerator was horrible. But still affordable and friendly staff. Located little far from the center of the city, but if u have a car or motorbike, it doesn't matter. It's nearby the beach

Helpful?
Thank trueshr
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015 via mobile

The Horizonte has some definite benefits - it's laundry service was a god-send and it's proximity to a range of excellent restaurants was nice but the downsides are plentiful too: - the wifi signal was limited to about 15 metres from reception - shower water was freezing until about 11am - breakfast options included what appeared to either be stale... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas K

Travelers are raving about these Dili hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

Volunteers from our charity have stayed in Hotel Novo Horizonte twice a year since 2009. It is good value for money and the owner and staff are welcoming and friendly. It has become our Dili "home". Recently however, the new manager of the restaurant (which is leased) has treated us and his staff so poorly that we considered looking for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tamara H
australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel has new owners and is being updated. This is my 5th time at this hotel in East Timor and for the cost, I think is value for money in East Timor!! Clean, modern and new beds!! Freshly painted and everything is new!! Close to town, beach and resturants. Good aircon, bathrooms much improved. I had the superior updated... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank starstar13
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Rooms are basic (more than great having in mind you are in East-Timor) and the best is for sure the restaurant with great food and location which is half way city centre and half way to the best beach close to Dili Praia areia branca and portuguese on the way to the Cristo Rei! Would recommend. Even if you don't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MartaPimentel
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel does not match at all with the website... Friendly service. The 40 USD rooms are dark and poorly ventilated. The 60 USD ones are in the upper floor with the balcony, a little better. Breakfast just ok. Very nice fresh squeeze juices, not included... Terrible and extra loud karaoke at night, if you get one of these nights,... More 

Helpful?
Thank MatteBingo
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Last week, we had a reservation, 3 rooms for 2 nights. On arrival, they could only supply 2 rooms. Fortunately, the third person in our party was offered accommodation at a friend's home. Room was small, Light blocked by sheets hanging on a clothes line stretching across my window. Great view of hotel staff feet as they hung the laundry.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bessie291
Hotel N, Manager at Hotel Novo Horizonte, responded to this review

Replying to the last comments in this webpage, to start the reservation was made thru a travel agency, in fact it was booked only 2 rooms, not 3 as it was mentioned in the post; then it was given a standard room, which is the price that you were willing to pay, these rooms have almost no view at all,... More 

Tunis, Tunisia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The prices were pretty good for food and drinks (eg Australian wine $16 a bottle), but the food was average (the steak was terrible). The music was too loud, and kept being turned up after requests to turn it down. Service was ok, the usual in Dili: "hello, can you put your cell phone away/stop sparing into space and bring... More 

Helpful?
Thank MaliTaus
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I stayed in a double 'delux' room, which is a slightly larger room that includes a pleather love seat. The room also comes with a simple desk, wardrobe, tv and mini fridge. But it is all very basic and the sheets and towels - particularly the towels - seem very worn, if not downright dirty. The room does have many... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank zaratou9
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dili hotels
0.0 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#1 of 19 in Dili
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Esplanada
Hotel Esplanada
#2 of 19 in Dili
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arbiru Beach
Arbiru Beach
#5 of 19 in Dili
4.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Timor Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Ramelau
Hotel The Ramelau
#7 of 19 in Dili
3.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plaza Hotel
Plaza Hotel
#6 of 19 in Dili
4.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities