We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Novo Horizonte

Area Branca, Meti-Aut East Timor, Dili 12345, East Timor (Formerly Dili 2001 Hotel)
Hotel Novo Horizonte
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (13)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel has new owners and is being updated. This is my 5th time at this hotel in East Timor and for the cost, I think is value for money in East Timor!! Clean, modern and new beds!! Freshly painted and everything is new!! Close to town, beach and resturants. Good aircon, bathrooms much improved. I had the superior updated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Rooms are basic (more than great having in mind you are in East-Timor) and the best is for sure the restaurant with great food and location which is half way city centre and half way to the best beach close to Dili Praia areia branca and portuguese on the way to the Cristo Rei! Would recommend. Even if you don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Casablanca, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel does not match at all with the website... Friendly service. The 40 USD rooms are dark and poorly ventilated. The 60 USD ones are in the upper floor with the balcony, a little better. Breakfast just ok. Very nice fresh squeeze juices, not included... Terrible and extra loud karaoke at night, if you get one of these nights,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Last week, we had a reservation, 3 rooms for 2 nights. On arrival, they could only supply 2 rooms. Fortunately, the third person in our party was offered accommodation at a friend's home. Room was small, Light blocked by sheets hanging on a clothes line stretching across my window. Great view of hotel staff feet as they hung the laundry.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel N, Manager at Hotel Novo Horizonte, responded to this review

Replying to the last comments in this webpage, to start the reservation was made thru a travel agency, in fact it was booked only 2 rooms, not 3 as it was mentioned in the post; then it was given a standard room, which is the price that you were willing to pay, these rooms have almost no view at all,... More 

Travelers are raving about these Dili hotels

Brindisi, Italy
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
47 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The prices were pretty good for food and drinks (eg Australian wine $16 a bottle), but the food was average (the steak was terrible). The music was too loud, and kept being turned up after requests to turn it down. Service was ok, the usual in Dili: "hello, can you put your cell phone away/stop sparing into space and bring... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I stayed in a double 'delux' room, which is a slightly larger room that includes a pleather love seat. The room also comes with a simple desk, wardrobe, tv and mini fridge. But it is all very basic and the sheets and towels - particularly the towels - seem very worn, if not downright dirty. The room does have many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Luzon, Philippines
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

For its rate, I cannot complain but the hotel is a like an army barracks and with the UN police staying in the hotel, it sure completes the ambiance, probably one of the safest place to stay in Dili.The hotel offers bed and breakfast, the breakfast is passable, provides you the energy you need to start the day, Nothing fancy,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

In comparison with other hotels at Dili, it is quite cheap (~65 dollars for 2 for "deluxe" rooms, much better looking than the standard superiors). The mattress was pretty good; the room adequately clean; the bathroom OK, although the shower had absolutely no pressure and the water was tepid at most. We did not feel like lounding even for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities