We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Opatija

Trg V. Gortana 2/1, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Opatija
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Opatija
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    53
    58
    28
    18
See reviews for
36
68
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (171)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is well located... It's close to the maritime promenade and to the city center... even if there is not too much to see in this small touristic village, it has espectacular views in the sunset. Nevertheless, this hotel is not as good as we thought it was! The room was too smal, dirty and the beds were old.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear ABB1984, Thank you for investing your time and writing your impressions. We are glad that you enjoyed our enjoyed our central location. We would also like to inform you that the use of WiFi is accessible in hotel's lobby and it is free of charge for the hotel guests. Furthermore we offer different room types (such as a room... More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On my return from Porec to my hometown, our car broke down and we were stranded in Opatija for 2 days (lucky us). Searching for many private apartments, they were all too expensive, so we went to this hotel. It cost similar to the apartments, but worth it. They have a salt water swimming pool, a nice balkony, the view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Nikola1335, Thank you for investing your time for writing this review. We are pleased to hear we did met all your expectations regarding cleanliness, convenient location and affordable prices. We are also happy that our staff was able to help you and provide you with a useful informations in a proffesional way. We hope that we will have a... More 

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Despite the overall good selection for the breakfast buffet and the perfect location (right in the center of Opatija), I would not recommend staying here. At least not in the rooms situated at the last upper floor. They are dirty, hot, tiny, with old furniture and full of insects. Every morning the maid wants to burst in the room without... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Alina, Thank you for sharing your impressions regarding your stay at our hotel. We value each type of feedback from our guests which enables us to strive to be better and improve. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not completly satisfactory and apologise for the cleanliness issues. Our cleanliness aspect is usually high recommended and... More 

Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Located in the center of the town, right next to the coast, makes it a perfect place for any kind of trip to Opatija. The rooms are excellent, the staff is kind, and the view of the sea and its surroundings is simply breathtaking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Petrova, Thank you for investing your time in this review. We are glad that you enjoyed beautiful view from our hotel as well as our great central location which is in walking distance of all Opatija's attractions. We are also delighted that our proffesional staff met your expectations, which is one of our key strenghts. We would be... More 

Burgas, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

The hotel is good for short trip. Not for some kind of vacation. The location is good and the sea view is amazing. Be careful where you park your car. Near the hotel is dangerous. Use the parking of the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Yanko, Thank you for investing your time in this review. We are glad that you enjoyed beautiful view from our sea side oriented rooms as well as our great central location. Thank you once again for choosing Opatija Hotel Opatija. It would be a pleasure to welcome you once again. Best regards, Loredana Perčić General Manager More 

Rogaska Slatina, Slovenia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

A half board for two was a gift from my family to my parents. They just came back and they are thrilled. They said that the food was superb, a lot to choose from, the room was tidy, the hotel staff kind.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Tjasa, First of all we would like to thank you for investing your time and writing this kind review. It is a pleasure to hear that your parents were satisfied with our services and staff and that we managed to meet all their expectations. We hope that we will be able to welcome them again. Best regards, Loredana... More 

Gaeta, Italy
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
46 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

The price was quite good. Parking is available at a discounted rate. There is an indoor pool. For summer it is a short walk to the water front. Wifi is only available at reception. We stayed on one of the wings off the main hotel and everything was a bit worn out especially the carpet.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Todd, We would like to thank you for writing this review and sharing your comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel convenient and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again at our hotel. Best regards, Loredana Perčić General Manager More 

Belgrade
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel located in the main street of beautiful Opatija.One of the most beautiful towns in Croatian riviera.Nice breakfast and awesome view from large restaurant balcony.Rooms were large,clean and comfortable,but basic.Parking is also available.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting such a positive review following your recent stay. It is a pleasure to hear such a nice comments and to know that we met all your expectations during your stay. We hope that we will be able to welcome you once again. Kind regards, Loredana Perčić General Manager More 

Osnabruck, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

We had 3 rooms here and had a wonderful stay. Opatija and it's rocks by the sea is a magical place. Time was, we would call this Yugoslavia! This was my second time back in 30 years and our teenagers loved it too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for investing your time into this review regarding your recent stay in our hotel. We are more than glad that you loved the city of Opatija so you decided to visit it once again. We do hope to be able to welcome you once more in our hotel on your next trip... More 

Podgorica,Montenegro
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Except for the kind staff and old charm this, once amazing, hotel has nothing else to offer. To the main, historic hotel building there are two new wings attached which have nothing to do with the main one architecture wise. The internet is advertised in all the rooms but the connection is possible only at the reception. The rooms definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your impressions regarding your stay at our hotel. We value each type of feedback from our guests which enables us to strive to be better and improve. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not completly satisfactory. We also appreciate your comments regarding the hotels interior and we will certainly take that... More 

Travelers are raving about these Opatija hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
7:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay