We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Opatija

Trg V. Gortana 2/1, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Opatija
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    17
    57
    65
    33
    22
See reviews for
39
79
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (194)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (92)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Prior to booking this hotel, I had read reviews on here (TripAdvisor) which indicated that it was not the best, but would suffice for one night... Boy was I wrong. The Positives: Shelter in a storm. The Negatives: Everything. Firstly, the service staff at this hotel think very highly of themselves. Yes, the hotel was built in 1888 (and is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear artraveler2406, Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your stay in our hotel with us. It makes me very sad to read that you felt so uncomfortable during your stay with us. Please kindly allow me to underline that Hotel Opatija is a two star hotel and does not have or advertise an aircondition in... More 

Pordenone, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have spent 2 days at this hotel in August 2015. The first feelings were bad, because the pictures you find online give you an impression of a very styled place, but the reality is quite different. The hotel has still the characteristics of a communism era hotel, with details that look like they have been revived from the 70's.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear sergiobuonanno, thank you for investing your time in writing this review, we appreciate all feedback as this enables us to find areas for improvement. We are sorry that we didn't meet all your expectations. But we would like to thank you for pointing out location, selection of food and especially proffesional staff which is always at guests disposal. We... More 

MIAMI, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lets start with the great customer service at the reception area. Rooms are not updated but big and very clean. Breakfast buffet is very satisfying. Location is perfect, near bus station, shops, restaurants and the promenade. I will stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear DORAMiami_Fl, thank you for leaving your kind comments. We very much appreciate highlighting some of our key features, such as breakfast and our central location. We are particularly grateful for your words regarding our proffesional staff as they are one of our key strenghts. We are looking forward to welcoming you once again during your next visit of Opatija.... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just checked-out of this "hotel," and could not be happier. We did not sleep at all. The room's temperature made it feel like a torture chamber. Lack of lighting made the room dungeon-esque. We laid in bed crying. This place is older than Noah's Arc, but had worse bedding. No A/C. Brutal. Terrible. Deathly. Do NOT stay here if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear james e, Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your feedback. We regret to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. As specified under the room description at our official website, our hotel has 200 rooms, of which 93 with A/C (available for an extra charge). Those preferences are presented while booking... More 

Travelers are raving about these Opatija hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

This hotel could be lovely and perhaps in its day it was. But it's in desperate need of an overhaul. The furniture is old and filthy. I was given a room at the back to start with, all these rooms (I checked out a few) are like prison cells - tiny, dark, squalid (the chair looked like it had been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Katherin12z, We would like to thank you for your feedback since guest opinion is very important for us. We are sorry to read that we did not meet all of your expectations. We will discuss mentioned points with responsible manager in order to prevent similar situations in the future and to keep high quality and standards. We hope we... More 

Paks, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

We spent here 3 nights. The room furniture and bathroom complies with the 2 stars hotel rating, but everything was clean, towel and blankets were snow white. Good value for money. From the friendly staff, the delicious dinner and the terrasse & bar is so good, that some of 4 stars hotels could learn from them! We travelled with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear zithea, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our our hotel as well as our terrace and it's beautiful view. We are also glad that you were satisfied with our food selection and that overall we succed to meet all your expectations. We are looking forward... More 

Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

The hotel is well located... It's close to the maritime promenade and to the city center... even if there is not too much to see in this small touristic village, it has espectacular views in the sunset. Nevertheless, this hotel is not as good as we thought it was! The room was too smal, dirty and the beds were old.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear ABB1984, Thank you for investing your time and writing your impressions. We are glad that you enjoyed our enjoyed our central location. We would also like to inform you that the use of WiFi is accessible in hotel's lobby and it is free of charge for the hotel guests. Furthermore we offer different room types (such as a room... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

On my return from Porec to my hometown, our car broke down and we were stranded in Opatija for 2 days (lucky us). Searching for many private apartments, they were all too expensive, so we went to this hotel. It cost similar to the apartments, but worth it. They have a salt water swimming pool, a nice balkony, the view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Nikola1335, Thank you for investing your time for writing this review. We are pleased to hear we did met all your expectations regarding cleanliness, convenient location and affordable prices. We are also happy that our staff was able to help you and provide you with a useful informations in a proffesional way. We hope that we will have a... More 

Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

Despite the overall good selection for the breakfast buffet and the perfect location (right in the center of Opatija), I would not recommend staying here. At least not in the rooms situated at the last upper floor. They are dirty, hot, tiny, with old furniture and full of insects. Every morning the maid wants to burst in the room without... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Alina, Thank you for sharing your impressions regarding your stay at our hotel. We value each type of feedback from our guests which enables us to strive to be better and improve. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not completly satisfactory and apologise for the cleanliness issues. Our cleanliness aspect is usually high recommended and... More 

Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Located in the center of the town, right next to the coast, makes it a perfect place for any kind of trip to Opatija. The rooms are excellent, the staff is kind, and the view of the sea and its surroundings is simply breathtaking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
managerOpatija, General Manager at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Petrova, Thank you for investing your time in this review. We are glad that you enjoyed beautiful view from our hotel as well as our great central location which is in walking distance of all Opatija's attractions. We are also delighted that our proffesional staff met your expectations, which is one of our key strenghts. We would be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
7:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.5 mi away
Smart Selection Hotel Istra
0.1 mi away
Smart Selection Hotel Palace Bellevue
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#15 of 31 in Opatija
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Adriatic
Grand Hotel Adriatic
#21 of 31 in Opatija
3.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
0.9 mi away
Smart Selection Hotel Belvedere
0.2 mi away
Smart Selection Hotel Imperial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay