We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Hotel

Travelers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Carretera Circunvalar Km. 13, San Andres Island, Colombia
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sunset Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    130
    37
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
67
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (180)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is the perfect hotel if you are traveling with special needs. Hotel has only 16 rooms and you can see the pool located at the center of the property. Lofty reviews set the bar high but the hotel found a way to surpassed them. Small boutique hotel that is simple and not luxurious by any means, if you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay M, Manager at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MEXUS, First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Sunset Hotel for your stay in San Andres and for your comprehensive review. It is encouraging to know that we were able to surpass the high bar placed by our previous guests. It was a great pleasure preparing your son’s meals and our team greatly appreciates your... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

So it was the start of our honeymoon and myself and my wife arrived at the beautiful San Andres. We were welcomed by the friendly hotel manager and her son who showed us to our room. The room had a large (and extremely comfy bed), a decent bathroom although could do with re-modernising. The room was decorated with rose petals... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay M, Manager at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jamesashleysmith, Absolutely, you can come back and visit us anytime. First of all, we would like to congratulate you again on your honeymoon and wish you much happiness. We are glad you enjoyed our room decoration and gift. Sorry on the misunderstanding regarding the pictures; which was probably due to a language barrier with the diving instructor. It is... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

We have been staying at this fabulous family hotel for over 4 times and there is not one negative remark I can say about this incredible hotel. Every moment was beyond our expectations, from the moment we checked in until the moment we left. Marly and her family make us feel like home every time. They give new definition to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lindsay M, Manager at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear josenamen, It is great to hear from you and to know that you have really enjoyed the time spent at our family hotel. Thanks for taking time to write this review on TripAdvisor and such positive comments encourage us to continue providing a personalized and friendly service. It is worth mentioning that we are looking forward to your 5th... More 

London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

We stayed at Sunset Hotel for three nights. It's a lovely hotel in a very peaceful location and absolute heaven if you like snorkeling (and beautiful sunsets!). We spent our time jumping in the crystal clear water across the road and snorkeling along the coastline. We also did a dive, organised through the hotel, which was absolutely fantastic. The instructor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lindsay M, Manager at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gazelle1, Thank your for choosing our hotel on your recent visit to our island and also, for writing about your experience with us. It is motivating to know you enjoyed our location for its tranquility, scenery and for being ideal for practicing underwater sports. We appreciate your suggestion on renovating the bathroom and we will keep it in mind... More 

Level Contributor
145 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

We stayed at the Sunset for three nights. As others have said it is toward the south western part of the island in a very nice setting. It certainly has the potential for beautiful sunsets. We did get to see one. Unfortunately a strong cold front moved in while we were there and we did not get to see any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lindsay m, Gerente at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mrsboll, First, we would like to thank you for writing a review of our hotel and are very happy to know you think we were the perfect place to start your holiday . Sorry to hear you were not able to completely enjoy our beautiful sunsets and the calm waters in front of the hotel because of the cold... More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

the owner and sons are great. they are very helpful and fluent in english. the hotel is nice with a great pool and dive capabilities. it is on the south end of the island so rent a 4x4 kawaski! not a normal lets go golfing golf cart (way to slow). to the center of the city will take you 20-30... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lindsay m, Gerente at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brody, First of all, we want to congratulate you on your engagement and we feel proud that you chose the hotel surroundings for this important occasion. It was a pleasure serving you and we are glad you liked our hotel and location. Thanks for taking time to your write your comments and we wish you the very best in... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

thank you x all special q are all the hotel and the site or say, q nice rooms,etc It is a magical site care is personalized it feels like home. They are all super attentive and earrings guest. Tranquility to infinity and beyond. Regards

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lindsay m, Gerente at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. gapllanos, Thanks for writing a review of our hotel. Great to hear you enjoyed our hotel and it services. Hope you can return to visit us. From the most beautiful sunsets, Sunset Family More 

Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

I recently stayed here for two weeks over the Christmas and New Year holiday break of 2014/15. That is a long time for something to potentially go wrong but nothing did. We loved staying here and the family and staff really looked after us. Not easy considering I am celiac, my wife vegetarian and my 5 year old daughter is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
lindsay m, Manager at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martie_Q, Thanks for your kind words and for writing such a comprehensive review of our hotel. We are glad nothing went wrong during your stay and you were able to enjoy our services and the attractions that San Andres offers. It was great to have met your wonderful family and we hope you can come back to visit us.... More 

Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014 via mobile

I was here in March 2014. As the name says, the Sunset Hotel is on the West coast and out of the city and the noise. With its house reef and the diving school, that is attached to the hotel, this is really the perfect place to relax and go diving or snorkeling. A special plus is the very nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lindsay m, Gerente at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HeikoBra, Thank you for your kind words and for recommending us. Great to know you were able to relax and enjoy diving and snorkeling. We are looking forward to your next visit. From the most beautiful sunsets, Sunset Family, More 

New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

This hotel is far from everything, have not beach access, when I cancel my reservation, the women in the from desk charge me for two when i only reserved ONE!. Im very dissapointed, this was a very bad experience, If you want a MOTEL, them this the perfect one, but never, never a 3 starts hotel! Maria C.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lindsay m, Gerente at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maria, Thank you for comments but we believe they are unfair because you just went to reception to cancel your booking and did not see our rooms nor the rest of our facilities. Regarding the beach, we are very clear in letting our potential guests know that in front of the hotel we have the sea but there is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

257 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (191)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (65)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (39)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay