We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

3.0 of 5 1401 Ocean Avenue, Asbury Park, NJ 07712
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    252
    226
    164
    168
See reviews for
246
338
41
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (943)
  • Mar-May only
    (154)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (474)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (211)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (104)
All months
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here for one night to attend the Light of Day main event. There are a number of basics that the hotel does not have - like breakfast and a bar open 7 nights a week but to be fair it was well out of season. The service was friendly and helpful and my room was clean and comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BerkeleyHotel, Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Hello "Simon P"! Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary coffee station we provided. The "Light of Day" is a great event for Asbury Park and is so meaningful. We are hoping in the near future we will have our restaurant available for our guests. We look... More 

Elizabeth, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Always wanted to stay here and finally did!! Gorgeous Hotel!! Was hoping to see some old time decor from the good old days of Asbury but all rooms and halls seemed to have been renovated with modern furniture and bathrooms. Being that it was January and they're were only a few guests, I walked around looking at the ballrooms which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BerkeleyHotel, Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Chetndeb! Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Ryan Furio, Management More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm going to keep this sort and sweet just like this hotel . I stayed here for a week and I got exactly what I paid for , Got A+ service Got amazing size quiet room Got great location Got massive comfortable bed, Got lovely powerful shower / bathroom Got value for money If you want a hotel with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BerkeleyHotel, Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Alex B! Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. We appreciate your short and sweet comments. Very happy that you enjoyed your stay and our staff took care of you. Please don't hestiate to contact us in the furture and we look forward to seeing you again! Sincerely, Ryan Furio, Management More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel ok if you are just passing through. Service leaves something to be desired, rooms are adequate but don't expect staff to go out of their way to improve your visit. Aasaaaaasaaaaaaasssaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
BerkeleyHotel, Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Tobias B! Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. We are sorry our staff didn't meet your expectations with regards to service. We take pride in our staff at the Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel and try to make our guest most comfortable and exceed thier expectations. We look forward to your return soon to... More 

Rutherford, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the worst experiences I have had with booking. TripAdvisor has a 7 day cancellation policy which is not disclosed until after you book. I ended up contracting the rotovirus the day before and tried canceling (obviously not wanting to get an entire hotel of people sick). I was told by the hotel they would waive the penalty fees... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BerkeleyHotel, Front Office Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Hello "della3385," thank you for your TripAdvisor review! We do apologize for the troubles you had while booking through TripAdvisor. It is unfortunate that they would not honor our decision to waive the cancellation fees if you re-booked as you did. For future reference, if you find a lower rate on a third party site we would be delighted to... More 

Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at this landmark hotel for over a decade and have watched the improvements over the years. We have been loyal guests as we have family close by and we love the historic feel. When you stay in the hotel you must look at the amazing ballrooms with their gorgeous chandeliers. This is not a stamped-out commercial hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BerkeleyHotel, Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Hello "Joan C"!, Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for being such loyal customers to the Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel. So glad we were able to accomodate your requests with regards to your reservation needs and changes. We appreciate your... More 

Philadelphia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

To repeat - TV reception very poor At least 2 electrical outlets did not work No coffee pot in room Somewhat drafty Very clean and great view Easily accessible Friendly and helpful personnel Tacky decor

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
BerkeleyHotel, Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Hello "Bonniep97", Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay with us at the Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel. We appologize for the quality of the TV reception and the outlets not working during your stay. Our professional engineers can fix almost any problem while your here at our hotel. Of course these problems should identified prior to arrival as we... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Since it was winter and the need for a coffee pot in the room. Not everyone is able to go to the lobby to get coffee in the morning. since the Restaurant was closed for the winter it would have been nice to have a coffee pot, microwave in the room. and a refrigerator.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
BerkeleyHotel, Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Tripadvisor Member! Thank you for sharing your feeback on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. We applogize for not having coffee pots in the rooms. I will share your feedback with ownership. We do have refrigerators upon request. Upon arrival or prior to arrival you may request a refrigerator be placed in the room for an additional fee. Please... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were there in mid December for a family wedding. Having never been in NJ before, I had no idea what to expect. I'm so glad our first trip was to Asbury Park and this hotel. We were cheerfully greeted at the front desk well past 9:00 p.m. with a grumpy kid in tow. Our check in was swift and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BerkeleyHotel, Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Hello "Jennifer P"! Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. We are excited for your enthusiasm about our hotel. Glad you had a warm welcome to New Jersey and in the city of Asbury Park. We are also extremely happy you enjoyed your time at the wedding hosted by our hotel. It is also... More 

Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The ambience, location and feel of this place is really ideal. All of the staff were very helpful. The elevators can be a bit slow at times but overall I just enjoy the service and experience at this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
BerkeleyHotel, Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Hello "U9461 KB Scottb"! Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. Glad to hear we were a fantastic spot. We appreciate your positive comments about the Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel. We look forward to your return soon! Respectfully, Ryan Furio, Management More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Very nice(5)
  • Front desk staff(4)
  • Saturday nights(3)
  • Stone Pony(3)
  • Ocean views(3)

Additional Information about Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1401 Ocean Avenue, Asbury Park, NJ 07712
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Asbury Park
Berkeley Carteret Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Asbury Park

159 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (129)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay