We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

1401 Ocean Avenue, Asbury Park, NJ 07712
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    237
    352
    302
    216
    210
See reviews for
352
470
59
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1317)
  • Mar-May only
    (242)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (735)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (216)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (124)
All months
South Amboy
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My review. For the price of this hotel it should be five stars. I feel it was more like a motel 6 when it comes to room. Very old and not updated. Need to reevaluate their pricing. Lobby is ok. Catering is nice

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Highlands, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I recently stayed at The Berkley Cceanfront . We had stayed there 3 or 4 times in the past and were always pretty much satisfied. The last trip was different. We were pretty surprised when we got to our roomand it smelled like pets even though we were not on the pet floor. We decided not to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

While we had a couple issues with our room, there was nothing serious that couldn't be easily handled. The Berkeley is in a perfect location to enjoy the beach and boardwalk of Asbury Park (look out for those waves - they're powerful). We booked at the Berkeley as we were attending a wedding and a block of rooms were reserved.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Congers, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Overall dissatisfied. Threw up both days and I ate lunch on Friday in hotel. Had reception on Sat. My car was going to be towed because I took to long to unload. We had to pay for parking. No room service at night. Bar closed early.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
BerkeleyHotel, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 241larrya, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am very sorry to hear about your recent experience. We are continually striving to exceed our guest's expectations, and it seems that we failed during your stay. Please except our sincerest apologies and be assured these concerns will be discussed with our dept. heads. We look forward to hearing... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We paid +$300 for a room for 1night it's not worth $35, I wanted to go into bed I noticed on my bed full of dead flies, the same was next to the bed the window seal was also full of dead flies, I lay down on the bed and the pillow had such a bad smell that I got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BerkeleyHotel, Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FredPaksher, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at the Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel. I am disappointed to see that we failed to exceed your expectations. I would like to sincerely apologize for any shortfall in our ability to provide you with the highest levels of service possible. Please contact... More 

Englewood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Location is great for access to Asbury Park. Hotel is well-designed with nice rooms and good up-keep. Staff needs more training if this is to be a true luxury hotel. Check-in took 10 minutes+, housekeeping staff was loud in halls in the evening (my 4 year-old was asleep) and rude when confronted. Continental breakfast doesn't start until 8am. I showed... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BerkeleyHotel, Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jasoncA7189ER, It's good to hear you found our location so convenient, although it's disappointing our facilities did not quite meet your needs. We'll be sure to speak with our management team about your concerns regarding the housekeeping and breakfast. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. Once more, thank you for the review. We hope to see you again... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have never felt less valued as a guest than my recent stay at the Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel. Upon arrival in the morning, we were informed that if we were not there for the wedding at the hotel, we would not be able to use the valet parking. I was informed just to find nearby street parking. Which I did.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BerkeleyHotel, Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike M, It's upsetting that you were not entirely satisfied with everything at The Berkeley Oceanfront. We're disappointed that we were unable to provide you with an exemplary hotel experience, and we want to apologize to you for the poor service and numerous inconveniences that you encountered, especially regarding parking. We are always striving for improvement, and your insight... More 

West Hollywood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Sad but true. I was better off sleeping on the beach! This hotel is lacking all the details that is needed to be met for $300 a night. Asbury park should not have NYC pricing when you do not get a luxury experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BerkeleyHotel, Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kimberly m, It is disappointing to hear about your experience here on your most recent visit. A guest should never feel unwelcome at The Berkeley. We will pass your comments along to members of the management team so we can make sure that these issues are resolved. We would love to have you for another stay to make it... More 

Hanover, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I tried calling throughout the morning of our arrival to request an early check-in, but no one picked up the phone until the fourth try, 2 hours later. They were accommodating though and did end up getting us in right away when we showed up at 2pm. In order for that to happen, we were placed on a pet-friendly floor,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BerkeleyHotel, Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PAtCBH315, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We're sorry to hear your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We work very hard to make sure everything is running smoothly and our guests are well cared for, although there can be intermittent phone delays during peak hours. It's unfortunate the large number of guests... More 

Bedford, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for one night recently, and reserved two rooms, however check in took a while, it was much after 4pm. The location is very nice, across the street from the boardwalk. The rooms are large, however need some updating and better maintenance. The bathroom in particular could use a facelift, there is also a lack of electrical outlets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BerkeleyHotel, Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dpeace1, It is unfortunate to hear about your experience with the lines at check-in. We will pass your comments along to members of the management team ASAP so that process can go smoother in the future. We have also gone ahead and reported your room concerns with our Director of Engineering and assure you they have been addressed. We... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very nice(4)
  • Front desk staff(3)
  • Stone Pony(3)
  • Saturday nights(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

192 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (162)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.5 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#1 of 5 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
10.4 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#7 of 15 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Asbury Park
Super 8 Asbury Park
#3 of 5 in Asbury Park
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Neptune
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay