We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 90 Medellin hotels

InterContinental Medellin

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 16 No. 28-51 | Variante Las Palmas, Medellin C007-06, Colombia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
InterContinental Medellin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Medellin to your Saves list
Ranked #42 of 90 Hotels in Medellin
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
RHW1974 Zurich, Switzerland
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    105
    62
    27
    15
See reviews for
25
31
19
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (289)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (99)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arriving at the hotel after a late flight, check in was quick and professional. The room was a nice two room suite and attractively decorated. The only drawback to the room was most of the power receptacles did not work and was difficult to find an outlet to charge phones or plug in a laptop. Otherwise, the room was quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
114 hotel reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed there two nights for business in Feb 2015: Check-in slow as it appears they have to undergo lots of paperwork despite our assistant having provided all the details yet. Room was small and dated; carpets and curtains were dirty (probably needs replacement rather than only cleaning meanwhile). The alarm clock in my room went off at 6am as it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review

Dear RHW1974, I appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our hotel. It is nice to know that the breakfast selection is up to your par and found our gym and pool well to your liking. However, it is regrettable if room condition and amenities failed to meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For $140/night that I paid, this property is great value. Positives: Centrally located; large pool outside with a cabana bar and a kids play area; a gym with spinning equipment and classes; massage; steam room and jacuzzi. Negatives: The "spa" is a gym with the feel of a 24-hr fitness center. I was going to get a massage but after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review

Dear Spiraluxa, Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business. We always strive to provide great service to all of our guests, and it is nice to read that the location of our property and facilities are well to your liking... More 

Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I were in Medellin for a few days and stayed here on the recommendation of good friends. We are so happy! The rooms were nice and tidy, the staff was incredibly helpful. The food was perfect and the area it was super! Would recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys good food and nice people. A big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bergamo, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am here for business and the hotel has all someone can need... Large rooms, fast internet connection, every type of breakfast... Everything. The gin and the huge pool help you to be comfortable... Nice place really suggested. Competitive prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel is located in el poblado, the best neighborhood of Medellin, the hotel has two restaurants, tennis courts, a big pool and a gym. Is very beautiful inside and is close to everything. It is not an all inclusive hotel but despite that the hotel is comfortable, the spa is in excellent conditions and the employees are very kind,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

The Intercontinental exceeds expectations in most everything. The only thing it lacks is the closer proximity and walking distance to Medellin's more popular and worth visiting; however, after and day of enduring the city I found its distance and resort feel to outweigh convenience. Taxis are inexpensive and available on-site. I specifically chose to stay here because of the on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

The first issue i encountered on my trip to colombia was actually trying to get there. I had booked a hotel room while i was at the airport waiting to board my flight. The flight was delayed for a additional 3 hours. I called IHG to see if they could move my day back one since i knew that i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

I was looking forward to staying at the InterContinental. The check in was smooth and quick. However, heading towards my room, I noticed the weary corridors and the horrible and I mean horrible carpets. I opened my room with some anxiety - and my fears turned out to be true. How can they do this? How can they rent out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review

Dear RAJ_LAKH, Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. Rest assured that these room conditions and poor service aren't reflective of the high standards we usually pride... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

My partner and I spent three days at this Hotel. We applied, paid and were accepted for an upgrade to Executive Room and to the Executive Lounge. We ended up staying at a regular (small and dated) room and were rudely informed during the check in that the Hotel doesn't have an Executive Lounge due to renovations. I have stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review

Dear Chevalierlatin, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to InterContinental Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Medellin

Address: Calle 16 No. 28-51 | Variante Las Palmas, Medellin C007-06, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Medellin 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Medellin Hotel Medellin
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Medellin
#11 Spa Hotel in Medellin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Medellin
#18 Business Hotel in Medellin

209 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (108)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay