We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 91 Medellin hotels

InterContinental Medellin

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 16 No. 28-51 | Variante Las Palmas, Medellin C007-06, Colombia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
InterContinental Medellin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Medellin to your Saves list
Ranked #43 of 91 Hotels in Medellin
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
LuluVoice Montevideo, Uruguay
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    102
    58
    24
    13
See reviews for
22
26
16
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (264)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (99)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Montevideo, Uruguay
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We chose to stay at this hotel for a week of conferences and a professional engineers event being held at Medellin. Impressive since arrival, chilled water on crystal, splendid room, so many great amenities products in a box, good size bathroom with excellent water pressure and temperature, super comfortable bed, delicious breakfast, security, smiles everywhere and the best service all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vilcabamba, Ecuador
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have traveled all over Latin America , this hotel has great staff, great service,!!!! We were upgraded to a FABULOUS suite by the gracious manager Diego Garcia , and I kept extending my stay ....They helped us with EVERYTHING we asked for: feather pillows, boxes and tape, like 5 star hotel service. I am impressed and I love this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I made the reservation, paid it, and when I areived they had no room for me. They got me another hotel that is terrible. I am a gold member with Intercontinental, if they treat me like that......Its horrible service and quality

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinentalM, Propietario at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado Jose, Agradecemos el valioso tiempo que tomas para escribirnos. Nos interesa investigar a fondo tu caso para tomar los... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
60 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am sure many a regional meeting of the Intercontinental leadership team has begun with the phrase above. The hotel seems sagging beneath the weight of things to fix. When this hotel was built in the 1970s, it must have been a marvellous place. An excellent position on the hillside, the city below sparkling, a large pool, etc. Now, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinentalM, Propietario at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Thank you for taking a few minutes of your busy schedule to review our hotel. Our team is working every day to improve our services and facilities. Right now the Hotel Intercontinental is going through a restyling process and this might be the reason why some of the areas are still not in the best conditions. About the... More 

São Paulo
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've stayed 4 nights for a banking conference in November 2014. The hotel must have been very nice 10 years ago, but definetly needs urgent renovation. The room is really run down. The carpet was so dirty that I had no courage to put my feet on it without wearing flip flops. The furniture is old and also full of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
InterContinentalM, Propietario at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review

Dear, Thanks for your comment. Are currently renovating the Hotel to offer a better experience to our guests. We hope to have him back in the city of Medellin and offer the best of our service. Regards More 

San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014 via mobile

I was giving Intercontinental another chance but Intercontinental Medellin was a terrible choice. I was upgraded as an Ambassador to a suite but the air conditioning was loud and I doubt it reached the desired temperature. To be fair, the hotel is under renovation but service was poor. The amenities weren't replenished although I stayed for five nights. The concierge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinentalM, Propietario at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review

Dear, Thanks for commenting. As you say, the hotel is being renovated to provide better service. your suggestions will be considered and will be applied in our daily operation. Regards! More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Stayed 4 nights for a conference. The hotel is very run down and the rooms do not befit Intercontinental brand. We were a group of 20 and every one complained about the room, dirty carpets, noisy equipment and staff who constantly remind you that tip is not included. Breakfast though plenty was average. Whilst checking out and I had 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review

Dear suparna g, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of product. It seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to... More 

Medellin, Colombia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014 via mobile

With all of the amenities you would expect from a five star hotel and a courteous and helpful staff to facilitate your needs, this hotel is prime for business meetings and special occasions. Several full service eateries are inside the hotel near the gym and pool areas that give you more time doing what you want and less time scouting.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinentalM, Propietario at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review

Dear Joseph, Thanks for you comment. For us it is important to provide all the amenities. We work every day to make our guests feel at home! We hope to have you back in the city, Best regards. More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights. In a country where not many people speak English, it was good to have a good helpful English speaking staff. Plus points: free shuttle to nearby restaurants and shopping, good size clean rooms, good breakfast, free wiifii, good restaurants and a good central location. Negative points: none

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salvador, BA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

I and my husband were at Intercontinental Medellin last week. It was a nice stay. Room was clean and comfortable. Although the nearest metro station was far from the hotel, cab rates are very cheap. So, we took a cab to reach the Exposiones station and then we went to our favorite places: Plaza Botero, Museo de Antioquia, Metrocable etc.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to InterContinental Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Medellin

Address: Calle 16 No. 28-51 | Variante Las Palmas, Medellin C007-06, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Medellin 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Medellin Hotel Medellin
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Medellin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Medellin
#22 Business Hotel in Medellin

204 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (97)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (108)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay