We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 87 Medellin hotels

InterContinental Medellin

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 16 No. 28-51 | Variante Las Palmas, Medellin C007-06, Colombia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Medellin to your Saves list
InterContinental Medellin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
65%
Ranked #34 of 87 hotels in Medellin
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Julio2509 Weston, Florida
  • Overview
  • Reviews (204)
  • Photos (183)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (28)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    76
    45
    19
    9
See reviews for
21
20
14
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel offers a very nice restaurant by the pool, the menu has a good variety and the food is very good. Breakfast buffet is also very good. Rooms are quiet and fairly new. I found the service to be good and the staff friendly. Value for price is good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is my second stay at this hotel. The first was in 2009. It is on the main road into town, about 30-40 minutes from the Intl airport. Upon entering the lot, you can tell it is dated. It looks tired. The lobby isn't so bad, but it is still dated. There is a restaurant on the main floor but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This hotel is not a tourist friendly hotel. I think it;s more for a business client. The hotel pool is locked with a fence and the hotel lobby bar is closed most of the time after 9pm. Don't expect English speaking front desk personal all the time. I was there for 1 week and had many problems.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review

Dear DanL249, Thank you for staying with us and for leaving us a review of our property. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I want to assure you that our hotel is proud of its level of service and quality. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and... More

İstanbul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I have been in several 5 stars hotel, however, Intercontinental Medellin is giving less than your expectations. The rooms are not new, the window of my my rooms was broken and it is not fixed although I called twice. The carpets were also looking old and dirty. You can not get that 5* quality feeling in this hotel. The breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review

Dear Baris U, Thank you for posting a review about our property. It is nice to read that you enjoyed our breakfast items. However, it seems that we failed to meet your expectations with regard to the overall condition of the room. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this has caused. Should you travel back to Medellin, we look... More

Managua, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel is nice but old. Service is great as you'd expect, but hall ways smelled of mold. The pictures of the ribs at the restaurant were nice ribs. What was served was the 1/2 inch on either side of the spinal cord so lots of grizzle and not much meat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review

Dear mike c, Thank you for your recent stay and for writing a review. We’re glad to know you enjoyed the service from our staff and we thank you for your kind words. On the other hand, we are very sorry you were not satisfied with one of the food selections from the restaurant. This and your concerns regarding the... More

All over Europe
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed 10 days with the Intercontinental for a conference and would compare this hotel to that old pet dog you have that is a little shaggy, a little haggard, but a good friend that you wouldn't want to part with. The rooms are dated, somewhat of a time machine taking you back to the days that pastels were considered good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review

Dear TripTestDummy, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to post a review of our property. It is good to know that you found your room clean and comfortable. We are also pleased to know that you found our staff polite and very helpful. We strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time and... More

Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The common areas are updated and clean including a large outdoor eating area that overlooks the pool and landscaped grounds. The guest rooms are in need of a facelift, particularly the carpet in the two guest rooms I utilized. My room was clean and a good size, just worn out. The staff was helpful and courteous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review

Dear Amy A, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you found our hotel staff to be very helpful and accommodating. I hope your stay was enjoyable and comfortable for us to have the chance to welcome you back in the future. I am sorry to hear though... More

London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

At The price I was charged this was exceptional value. The hotel is looking a bit tired and the rooms could do with some refurbishment. Having said that there was no mold growing in the bathroom! The staff are extremely friendly as most people in Medellin are. The grounds of the hotel are very nice and it has a very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIAMI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This has been a flagship hotel in Medellin which is now falling apart "fast". The good parts include the resort like feel with a massive pool and good gym. Location is OK but there are no malls etc nearby. Rooms are dirty, internet never works and plumbing is all blocked. Hold the flush button and watch it clear if you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucas M, Training Coordinator at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review

Dear First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at the Intercontinental Medellin Hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again... More

Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
80 hotel reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

If this hotel is refurbished, it will be a splendid place. From the outside, it tells its age, yet the lobby is great, and then again, the rooms much less so. 1980´s -style aircon controls, cramped bathroom, no coffee... However two great aspects made up for this: first, the breakfast with an array of local options; and second, the spa... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage InterContinental Medellin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to InterContinental Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Medellin

Address: Calle 16 No. 28-51 | Variante Las Palmas, Medellin C007-06, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Medellin 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Medellin Hotel Medellin

183 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (104)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#9 Luxury Hotel in Medellin #9 Spa Hotel in Medellin #21 Business Hotel in Medellin
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
InterContinental Medellin is a resort-like setting just minutes from the bustle of downtown. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, you won t want to miss the Museum of Antioquia, The Medellin Interactive Museum and the Medellin Botanical Garden. El Parque de los Deseos and El Tesoro Shopping Mall both offer a range of entertainment options. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
294

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer