We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 88 Medellin hotels

InterContinental Medellin

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 16 No. 28-51 | Variante Las Palmas, Medellin C007-06, Colombia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
InterContinental Medellin
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Medellin to your Saves list
65%
Ranked #39 of 88 Hotels in Medellin
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
LaFleur1979 Washington DC, District of Columbia
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    92
    54
    20
    11
See reviews for
22
23
16
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (239)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I'll start on a positive note by saying that the staff here were all tremendously helpful and pleasant. The food was delicious - I ordered room service the night I arrived and it came promptly. (Tip: try the ajiaco, a traditional Colombian soup made of chicken and potato - yummy!) The breakfast buffet has a lot of options - try... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cupertino, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Mildly disappointed. Check-in experience was fine, but room was small and tired. Old-fashioned furniture, all power outlets difficult to access down on the walls behind furniture, slow and unreliable internet. Air conditioning was adequate, but controls were clunky. Bed was clean, slept fine, but overall not a good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lyon, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only positive side the rich breakfast. Rooms small and without "charme" at all. Overall old. I was invited by a company, it was very clear that I had to pay only minibar and other extras but the person at the reception asked me to pay three nights more (problem solved with a call at the company and the woman almost... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review

Dear Trippo70, Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I would like to offer a sincere apology. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your next stay as best as it can be. I have sent you... More

lisbon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a hotel desesperately needing for a full refurbishment. My room was in very poor conditions. the carpet was very dirty full of stains, it was not possible to adjust the air conditioning, just to option freeze to dead or nothing. everything is out of fashion.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review

Dear tozepinto, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We have taken note of... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Service at the hotel is great but this hotel keeps disappointing with its lack of maintenance especially in the rooms (service areas are ok). It's surprising that a chain like Intercontinental allows this filthy rooms to be part of its brand. Carpet is terribly stained, curtains are ripped and the A/C doesn't work. Seriously, the manager should get his/her teams... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review

Dear NatisSD, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We are truly sorry for the conditions you experienced during your stay. We have taken note of your comments regarding... More

Usingen, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014 via mobile

Nice check in, difficult porter service to my room, but great attention to a lamp not working. Curtains must be drwan by hand as devices are broken, wate taps in sink in bathroom leaking and the room in dire need of First of all CLEANING (vaccum, foam clean carpet) and second renovating. See pics attached. Only nice thing about the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review

Dear 2worldtravelers13, Thank you for writing a detailed review regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your breakfast experience and we thank you for the compliments. On the other hand, it seems that you were not able to fully enjoy your visit due to the level of cleanliness and and room amenities. Please... More

Miami Beach
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel many times, but this is my first time since the last renovation. The new pool is great with warm water. In the old times it was cold and dirty, but I noticed that it improved a lot. The same can be said of the spa area. Very cozy. The rooms are somewhat small, even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The golf pro working on premise ripped me off good! An agreed outing for $150 ended up costing me $250!!!! When u complained the manager gave me a $35 credit. The hotel is also very old and not near to anything and you have to pay extra to have a guest stay over!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review

Dear partydigest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your stay.... More

London, UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Medelllin is a stunning city and this hotel nestles on the mountainside on the main route to/from the airport, 45 minutes away. It's a standard Intercontinental with large clean rooms, good wifi, friendly staff, poolside restaurant and bar as well as a decent gym. There is very little by the way of Colombian culture - except for the occasional hummingbird... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Good hotel but disappointing. I've stayed at other Intercontinental Hotels and we were at the Medellin property for 2 nights starting Aug 10. Hungry and tired when we arrived. Told $179 a night for standard room. Went online and found same room for $120 a night. Slow checking us in even by colombian standards. 5 people there and several in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review

Dear dakota0000, Thank you for your review regarding your experience. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and we regret our hotel did not live up to... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to InterContinental Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Medellin

Address: Calle 16 No. 28-51 | Variante Las Palmas, Medellin C007-06, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Medellin 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Medellin Hotel Medellin

199 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (92)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (108)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay